Hi From Hive - All the way from Durban South Africa

in Hi From Hive4 years ago (edited)

I was inspired to share what Hive means to me personally after reading the post by @livinguktaiwan, Introducing the Hi From Hive Community where she spoke of her vision to get every Hiver to talk about their own Hive experience and share it with the world. This would be pinned on Pinmapple and who knows, one may just discover someone living just down the road who also is an active Hiver, how exciting would that be!
Even better, this may just inspire a new blogger to join the world of Hive, the how-to is at the end of my post.

HiFromHive.gif

DISCOVERING HIVE IN MY AUTUMN YEARS

Feeling quite dejected after being discarded by the corporate world, I was introduced to the exciting blockchain world by my son back in 2017.
My hair may be tinged with silver and some bodily parts in need of an overhaul, but my spirit is still young and I most definitely am not ready for chairobics just yet!

Hive certainly rescued this old gal from landing on the scrap heap in more ways than one; I started making new friends who filled the gap of not seeing my work buddies daily!

WHAT IS HIVE?

To describe Hive in a nutshell – it is a blockchain-based blogging and social media online platform which rewards its users with the cryptocurrency HIVE when they publish and curate content.

FINDING MY NICHE

I quickly found my niche in food blogging and sharing my love of cooking and baking through the various foodie communities from whom I have in turn learned a whole lot as well!
Qurator currently run the Hive Top Chef! Contest as well as many other regular challenges covering various topics so really cater for one and all.

Blogging about travelling to show off the natural beauty of my country South Africa is something else I enjoy sharing with the happy wanderers on Hive’s active Travel communities like Travelfeed, Haveyoubeenhere plus being able to have one’s post pinned on a map called Pinmapple is the cherry on top!

I have a passion to bring about awareness of mental health issues and dealing with it the natural way and there is a community where one finds a wealth of information and that is the Natural Medicine community.

Sharing good stuff from lessons I’ve learned along the road called Life which can be smooth but at times perilous with twisting, narrow and very steep hills; just like the crypto world which has shown me that patience, perseverance and hard work pays off as it does in our daily lives as well.

Herbal tea1.jpg

COMMUNITIES

Becoming part of a community is vital and I’ve shared a couple of my favourites with you already; it’s not a good idea trying to fly solo just like in life where a support system is vital for success.

One of the most innovative communities on Hive certainly is OCD who also is one of the most active in curating and supporting various smaller communities.

PowerHouseCreatives is another community I belong to and if you’re looking for innovation and diversity, this is the place to visit as there’s a large group of awesome talented people encouraging and supporting one and all.

Communication is vital for Hive; posting good content, commenting on and upvoting posts is what keeps the blockchain alive.

I found many mentors along the way, and that is the wonder of Hive; that people are genuinely keen to help one grow!

ENTER CORONAVIRUS

Following gross mishandling of the Coronavirus pandemic by governments all over the world, many are faced with job losses, and now is the perfect time to join Hive as the world is changing at a pace never seen before!

We now need to create our own new normal by thinking outside the box and start creating our own income in ways we have never done before.

When I arrived here all starry-eyed, I knew I was earning this Crypto Currency called Hive, but to me it was just a figure sitting somewhere on the world-wide-web, and that’s where it would stay.

However, our country’s economy was brought to a dead halt for around 3 months; killing many industries, especially the tourism sector under which our little business falls.

Our BnB had to close down for thirteen weeks which meant zero income from that source!

20190709_080312.jpg

HIVE TO THE RESCUE

My Hive Crypto earnings came to the rescue during that hard lockdown, and with the help of my new Hive friends I quickly learned how to move this Cryptocurrency that I thought would forever sit somewhere in the World-Wide-Web and convert it into rands and cents.

It certainly filled a good couple of gaps even though I was sad that I had to start powering down; but the penny had finally dropped:

Cryptocurrency is very real and certainly is the way forward!

Hive animated divider 1.gif

FINAL THOUGHTS

As said, I arrived all starry eyed and still am bedazzled by all the exciting developments taking place here on Hive; this has certainly filled a huge void and broadened my horizons.

Why not try it for yourself RIGHT HERE
Join Hive and come Alive!

Hive animated divider 1.gif

HiFromHive1.png

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions


Banner created by @zord189

Sort:  

I just wanna enjoy a cup of coffee with you dammit!

That would be such a treat! But be warned, I have verbal diarrhea like you've never experienced;)
Thank you for stopping by, you always bring a warm fuzzy feeling young man!

You know the best thing about Hive is the endless opportunities, and how it gives a new lease of life to people. We're all young here, and we're all growing together, isn't that great!!

Thanks for sharing your experience @lizelle

That's the best part of it all, being part of this exciting community and seeing the growth in others and in oneself! I'm super thankful for this, my escape from the troubles of the world! So worth it and so much better than falling asleep in front of the telly or getting upset about the mess the politicians are making!
Thank you so much for the inspiration you've given with Hi from Hive @livinguktaiwan!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you so much dear mr @pinmapple!

What a great post, you really covered the bases then hit a grand slam, a little baseball talk here, the NY YANKEES are playing tonight.🤗
But honestly, you are a good writer, always enjoy your posts.

Awe my friend @farm-mom, what a lovely comment, thank you so much!
You're not shabby with those words either, I always enjoy reading about the goings-on in your world;)

What a beautiful post Lizelle! It is just a wonderful tribute to the place we belong, you and me.

I'm sure happy that you found the chain. Hive is a better place for your being part of it!

Thank you @bigtom13, I'm ever so happy that I found my way here through my son who left a long while ago to get into other crypto projects. Happy that I bumped into you as well, you certainly make this an even better place!

Ah theres plenty of life in ya yet!!!

Always so nice seeing you @riverflows, this old gal certainly still has a lot to do, just not enough hours in the day;)

@riverflows!!!!! Still waiting for you to write your Hi From Hive post!!!!!

I know but I'm so boring!!!!! I just wrote a Ladies of Hive post and that was navel gazing enough. Seriously I will do but I have to be in the mood. I promised, and I absolutely will!!!

🙃

Patience, young lady, patience!

what zat 🤓

| good day @lizelle nice to see you again ..!

Thank you very much @article.collector, really appreciate your support!

my support is always with you miss BEAUTY

You are never too old to make new friends and enjoy life @lizelle :))
Your story is motivating!

And also so good to read that Hive earnings was of help in the times of needs 😊