Orchid Update! Dendrobium Looking Good!

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

AnotherDayIn Orchidville.jpg

Just Another Day In Orchidville ..

Now that I look back on this photo of Pepper with a new grocery store Orchid, I think that he doesn't look entirely pleased with me. Maybe even a "Come on Dad" sort of look. Well, all good memories for me either way. I miss having him around. He was ALWAYS such a good sport about taking these sort of photos. I would say "Stay", and he would. Molly, on the other hand, runs or turns around. Can't blame her much though.

But.. Let's get to todays Orchid Update!


Our Dendrobium Orchid..

IMG_E7130.JPG

She Is Doing Quite Fine ..

When we brought her home, roughly 9 or 10 months ago, I repotted her into a larger terracotta pot. It originally came in a plastic pot and was falling over every other day. The Orchid farm where we purchased her recommended we stick to a tight terracotta pot. So that's what I did.

It has really grown nicely into it's new pot and it's location in our home.

IMG_7132.JPG

Her she is and all of her stems! I put my arm into the picture for some size reference. The one I am pointing to is the newest stem. Since we have owned this Dendrobium, there have been 3 new stems.

In this picture, you'll see all of the roots beginning to circle around the inside of the pot. I'll have to take this Orchid out, at some point, and clean it up so that it doesn't become root bound.

IMG_7146.JPG

Well, Well, Well... What do we have here???

Another New Stem!!!

IMG_7135.JPG

IMG_7137.JPG

This new stem will grow fairly rapidly. It only took about 45 days for that last stem to grow to the length it now is.

Stems don't last forever ..

Eventually, and after the stem buds, fully grows, leaves out, leaves fall, blooms appear, blooms drop off.. the stem will remain green for a long while then turns yellow and dies off. Wow. Sounds sort of bleak now that I write that all out. Sadly it is the truth.

Below is a stem that has already flowered (right) and a stem that is on it's death bed (left).

IMG_7145.JPG

This is a stem that has flowered and then the flowers were cut off after they wilted away. Each bloom only flowers once, but at least they last a looooong time.

IMG_7144.JPG

Now For The Good News!

Eventually the stems grow to maturity and leaf out like this one..

IMG_E7133.JPG

Those leaves will nourish the plant, then eventually turn brown and have to be cut off (they are very hard to just pull off and may never really just fall off). But then the exciting part arrives! (that was sarcasm) We wait.

We will wait ..

For the next flower bud to form and hopefully give us some amazing, beautiful flowers! The Dendrobium Orchid is not what I would consider a prolific bloomer. In fact she will only produce blooms twice per year, if I am lucky. That's it. Maybe twice. but when she does bloom, they hang around for an awful long time. Months!

This is a photo of an up and coming flower bud. If you look close (I marked it with a black arrow) you'll see a tiny bud forming at the tip of that stem.

IMG_7143.JPG

Only a handful of flowers will appear for this particular Dendrobium Orchid. Their awesome though. It's been a while since it bloomed last, but I found a few pictures of them with Molly. Obviously she was NOT happy with me. We had just brought this home and I wanted to share in my excitement.. She had other thoughts. Like "Get that dang thing away from me!!"

0-98798767657.png

Okay, so Molly doesn't give a hoot, but that doesn't mean my wife and I are not excited for the possibility of new flowers. Yes we are, and we can't wait. If you refer back to the photo at the beginning of this post, you'll see that there are roughly 6 to 8 stems with foliage. This is exciting because that means we have about 6 to 8 chances of seeing some blooms in the future.

Come on Dendrobium..

Show me some Love!

Hive text divider.png

makephotogallery.net_1616850740894.png

“Patience, grasshopper," said Maia. "Good things come to those who wait."
"I always thought that was 'Good things come to those who do the wave,'" said Simon. "No wonder I've been so confused all my life.”

― Cassandra Clare, City of Glass

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Hive text divider.png

My NFT Art Pieces Can Be Found on NFT Showroom


1-0982136.JPG

Sort:  

Beautiful bloom!

My dendrobiums are dead :-(

Oh nooooooooo... that's 😞 sad.

Yes... ☹️

Wow, look at you go! Just something about those classic Terracotta pots huh? I will have to keep that in mind. They might not be as pretty as some of the others but if they work that is all that matter. Especially for people like me who struggle to keep plants alive!

They do suck moisture out of the soil.. as clay does.. but the weight of them works. Plus they told me to use terracotta for this particular one. Who knows. I didn't want to question the experts. hehe.😆😁

I can understand that!

Ohh what beautiful photos, very enjoyable your posting all those thoughts of orchid plants and your little dog is very funny. I didn't know there was a community for orchids, here on hive there is everything. @bdmillergallery

Yup, there IS an Orchid Community. Feel free to cross post any post that may be relate to Orchids. On Hive the is almost everything one could wish for. 😁

Thank you for the visit and Molly (my doggie) says hello!😊

untitled.gif

How cute is that!!! 😍

Beautiful plantations, added to the beautiful photographic shots, give the garden great beauty. I wish you great success @bdmillergallery to your publication which is very beautiful.

Thank you! I appreciate the comment and am happy you enjoyed the post 😊

This is a very nice post. From Venezuela, I greet you @bdmillergallery . Thank you. Successes

Your photos are impressive. I like it😮

Thank you!

I am just amazed by how beautiful this pictures are...

They are just so beautiful

Thanks.. Not that Beautiful, but okay for a quick shot here and there.

Well, beauty is relative.

For me, they are beautiful..

Maybe I might see better ones from you in the future

Very true

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Why thank you! Thanks for the support @ackhoo 😁

Dear @bdmillergallery,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

No problem. All set.. my support has been given 😁

Thank you for your support @bdmillergallery, really appreciate it! 👍

My pleasure ☺️

I was just going to ask what the little dog in your profile picture was called, I love the expression he makes when he gets his picture taken it's so adorable.

I like how you talk about plants and explain about them, you reminded me of my mother, she is a fan of all kinds of them, the garden is full of flowers and exotic plants, she takes care of them and spoils them a lot.

Sorry for the late reply. I sent you a little gift 😊

Yes.. That was Pepper. We lost him a few years ago. He was such a light in our lives and his facial expressions were always priceless. Thank you for stopping by and passing along such a nice comment.

Wow! I am amaze by their beautiful flowers. Yes @bdmillergallery flowers will grow, give us flowers, its bloom, it becomes old and died but atleast they served their purpose which is to give us a simple happiness as they gave us their blooming flowers. Upon leaving a new stem will grow and the cycle will continue.

Yes is will.. The cycle continues as life goes on. Thank you so much for stopping by and leave a meaningful comment. I have been quite busy lately and did not see your comment till today. Sorry that voting is over for it, but I sent you a small HIVE gift to make up for it! Have a beautiful day and hopefully I see you again soon 😊

Thank you so much for the gift @bdmillergallery. Nice to meet you here and looking forward for more quality content.

You are very welcome 😊

Dear, @bdmillergallery

May we ask you to review and support our @cryptobrewmaster GameFi proposal on DHF? It can be found here

If you havent tried playing CryptoBrewMaster you can give it a shot. Our @hivefest presentation available here on the YouTube with a pitchdeck of what we building in general

Vote with Peakd.com, Ecency.com, Hivesigner

Thank you!

Love your Dendrobium journey! These don't grow too well for me, except for two Berry Oda varieties that grow like weeds 😁 One thing I can tell for sure is that I never cut off any leaves, as I never got to them on time. Once they're completely drained of nutrients they just fall off :)