Teddy

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

P7300019.JPG

I've been around a while - twenty seven million twenty eight thousand eight hundred minutes, give or take a few. That's 18,770 days to this very day and over that time life has ebbed and flowed back and forth between good and bad, with everything in between. I can't won't complain about any aspect of it as the moments between my arrival and today are the sum and total of my life; complaining about any of it won't make the bad good and the good better; It's there to be lived as the alternative isn't very palatable.

People

Since the very beginning I've been surrounded by people; I came out of one in fact, my mum. There's been others though: Family, friends, teachers, colleagues, lovers, haters, rivals, compatriots, strangers. People, everywhere and all around me. A few I cared about and some not, some brought value and some not.

I had a few challenges as a kid, particularly when I went to school where I learned quickly that people can be hurtful and hateful; it tainted my view on people, helped me build character, emotional endurance, inner strength and a whole raft of other things that have stuck with me for life. It made me quite shy, socially-reserved and initially distrustful of others, even to this day. It also made me fiercely loyal, protective of those I value or of those who cannot protect themselves and a pretty stellar friend, to those I call friend.

I don't dislike people generally; I simply approach them with caution and hold to the ethos that they need to earn what I give them: Respect, trust, love and so on.

Things

Just like people many things have drifted into and out of my life. There was a time when I didn't need much: Mothers milk, nappies, a blanket and a few cuddles here and there. However as I got older I needed more and as I got older again I wanted more. I suppose that ramped up to a crescendo and there was a time when I literally got what I wanted when I wanted; I worked hard for that ability of course, but looking back I regret being that guy who thought about a thing and got it; It feels very wasteful in hindsight.

Fortunately I had an epiphany and shed that egotistical and materialistic nature and put in place a new reality where experiences and feelings became more important. Over the space of a few months a hike in the wilderness became more important than wearing a Rolex, sharing words and emotions with a beautiful soul more desirable than prestige cars. It was a life-defining moment for me and my life opened up and became wondrous.

Growing up I didn't have much, maybe that's responsible for the materialistic nature later in life as above, but felt like I had everything I needed. There wasn't much to go around after the important things were taken care of and that was ok; I made my own fun, was happy with second-hand things and came to greatly value the things I was fortunate enough to have that were bought new. I respected things greatly knowing it would be unlikely I'd get another and to this day do the same I; I have a need over want ethos which serves me well enough.

Over the years I've kept various things that have meant a lot to me, are cherished or simply too sentimental to let go of. I have done the same with many things on behalf of my brothers and sister also; I get great enjoyment from handing them to their young children. My stuff is treasured, all of it. I don't play with the toys or read the books but knowing I have them makes me happy.

One such thing is the fellow you see in the photograph. I never named him, but there was a time when he was my only friend; at times when I felt alone, ostracised and hated he was there to be my friend. If I could only have one thing it was this little fellow...A thing, but more a person to me in truth, or so he felt; that's how important he was to me.

Teddy

I can't recall when I first got my teddy bear; I can't remember a time when he wasn't there. I can't even ask my parents because they are both gone but what I know for sure is that he was a huge part of my life for many years.

Teddy would sit beside me when I played Lego's, or read my books; no matter what I was doing if it was inside he was with me. When I came home from school he was sitting on my bed waiting for me and when I got into bed each night he'd come too. A constant companion, a friend and confidant who never once betrayed my trust, treated me poorly or judged me. These days I'd say he had my six - A military term referring to a person who is there for another, watching their back.

If teddy could speak he'd be able to tell you my childhood secrets: The victimisation and vilification, the brutal beatings, my desires, thoughts of the present and future, fears, loves and hates. He'd make you laugh with stories of my boyish-antics most of which ended painfully and with failure; some successfully though. He would tell you about laughter and tears, pain and suffering, good and bad times. He saw it all and shared it all with me. A cherished friend. Teddy.

I can't recall when I put teddy away; maybe I was eleven or twelve.

One moment he was there and the next life started accelerating in other directions and he took a more passive role. I began working when I was still thirteen years old and things got more and more complicated from there...I grew up I guess. Maybe I just felt too old and mature for teddy.

It's sad now to think I put him aside so easily but as the true friend he was he understood I think. It was time for me to chase new horizons, to take what I'd learned and deploy the best I could, design and create my life. He was happy to take a passive role...But I never forgot him.

I was thirteen a long time ago, thirty eight years in fact, and you know what? Yes I still have teddy. He doesn't sit in a musty box either. No, he deserves better than that.

Teddy sits on my home-office disk; he stands actually because he has no hips or knees. He stands beside one of my other most treasured items from my childhood - A John Player Special Lotus Formula One car I got when I was a very young little kid.

Not a day goes by in which I don't see teddy standing there, ever-vigilant, as he always used to in my bedroom back when I was small. I don't talk to him much at all these days. I don't ask his advice, confide in him my fears, hopes or thoughts but for me it's kind of nice to have him there, a reminder of days past and good and bad times, my formative years, in which I began the journey of me culminating in what I am and who I am, today.


This post has been entered in the Silver Bloggers Community - blog of the week contest. If you would like to join in click here for the topic and entry conditions.

The topic is: "Memories of things dear to the heart."


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind...To your teddy bear.

Discord: galenkp#9209

Hey @bulldog-joy, I told you weeks ago I'd do a post about my teddy - This gave me a chance.

Sort:  

It’s amazing, what forms us! My mom would mix powdered milk when we were little and magazines were a luxury. But I have seen how diligence and wise decisions can form a whole different future. Today I get to stand on my parents shoulders because of the good foundations they laid. And they get to retire in comfort, still enjoying a walk on the beach over a lavish meal. Stories are the only things that reveal the simpler (as in less extravagant) times of the past. Most people just see what is and don’t understand the hard work that went before.

Nice words indeed Zoe.

Most people just see what is and don’t understand the hard work that went before.

I'm nothing special, just a regular and average knucklehead...But I've worked hard and stood more times than I've been knocked down though it's happened with regularity.

Thank you for your comment, I appreciate you dropping in every now and then.

Wow! I did not expect to see you writing about your childhood teddy bear :) that's pretty cool!! I look forward to reading this all the way through!

I'm multi-faceted. Teddy bears today, guns tomorrow. 😁

Awesome man!! Every post you make is really great! I need to make some time in the future so I can read some of your posts all the way through!

Thanks for your nice comment. I know it's difficult for people to find time to read everything they come across, and also that I write a lot of words. It's a nice though to have people take a look and take the time to comment. ☺️

Hermoso texto, hombre fuerte, en las publicaciones que he leído de ti, he podido notar que eres muy disciplinado y ordenado, diría que muy pulcro también, lo deduzco por el buen cuidado de tu oso Teddy a pesar de los años se ve muy conservado, me ha fascinado este texto en particular porque a pesar de que reflejas dolor, especialmente manifiestas mucha ternura, saudos.

Thanks for your comment, I appreciate the nice words.

On this occasion I translated it into English so I could read it however mostly I do not have the time to do so as I get so many comments and also have a life in the real world. It would help you engage and build better relationships if you respond to posts that are written in English, a translation, although you don't have to. It's your choice I suppose. Mostly I do not translate comments into English for lack of time but I wanted to on this occasion so i had the chance to suggest that you translate to English when you comment.

thanks for the recommendation, sorry I am new to the platform.

No apology is necessary at all, I merely wanted to offer the suggestion so that you'd be in a position for people to engage much better with you.

@galenkp. I also had a doll that I adored, one day she occupied that passive place, she had already grown up and was lost with time, but I never forgot her until today I remember her name was Fany.

 3 years ago  

I would like to have you as a friend as I know you will be a very loyal friend. Luckily Teddy can't kiss and tell.

I believe I'm a good friend, loyal and supportive. I keep my friends group small so that I can give a lot rather than be spread too thinly.

Thanks for your comment.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 72000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 74000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

You are an amazingly strong man @galenkp, I admire that you went through so much yet it brought out the best in you! No wonder that you still are a tad distrustful of people though, but Teddy stood by you through thick and thin. We all need that one thing to hold on to, and I don't mean literally, but sentimental objects often bring comfort to me.
I grew up in a big loving family and was shocked when I got to high school and one of the girls for no rhyme or reason said some real nasty things to me! Fortunately that did not stick as I'd had a good grounding with my parents making us believe in ourselves and that we could do anything we set our hearts on, even though we did not have it broadly back then.
Your Teddy still looks so gorgeous, you really looked after him as much as he took care of you. Thank you for an awesome #bow once again!
Silver-Blond Lizzie :)

Thanks Lizzie, your words are meaningful and much appreciated.

I can't define exactly what makes me up and why I feel and do as I do, but past experiences are one aspect of it of course. Parents and my own self I guess also. Oh, and teddy as well!

I can be incredibly strong yes, but I'm also as flawed and broken as the next person, maybe more. It's as much a part of me as the strength, perseverance and endurance I can display; one leads to the other. We're complicated animals I guess.

Like you I've seen the worst in people and I've been the worst in people also...That's the dichotomy of human beings at work; good do bad and bad do good. It's weird but true.

Life is a journey...I'm glad I had teddy along for the early part of mine; a valuable friend. :)

@galenkp. I also had a doll that I adored, one day she occupied that passive place, she had already grown up and was lost with time, but I never forgot her until today I remember her name was Fany.

So many of us have had treasured friends like this in our childhoods. I wonder, do you still have your doll?

No, I lost it, and while cleaning the yard I saw that it had been burned when the
I cried a lot, I don't understand how it ended up there, it was a trauma for me... telling you about it makes my eyes water, because it really hurt me.

I'm not surprised you had that reaction, these special childhood things, friends, come to mean a great deal. I'm glad teddy survived.

Yes... it's good that you keep it... I never forget it...

Awww the teddy! It looks so clean, in pristine condition! I believe that this is like a true friend to you, to have a comforting thing as a child is so vital, especially if you have faced adversities like you did G. I really admire that you kept it for so long in such a good condition. I wish I had a teddy when I was a kid...

I wish I had a teddy when I was a kid...

Sometimes I wish I was a teddy...Now I mean. Lol.

Haha you would be hugged and squeezed all day lol

Lucky my hug-power is strong and I can facilitate all day hugging.

G. Force Teddy. Limited edition. I would so get one of that haha I love to be hugged, who doesn't?

The factory wouldn't be able to keep up with demand for G-teddy bears I think!

Oh I guarantee you that, I am a big kid inside so I would definetely get me 2 of those hahah