Musical Time Travel

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago (edited)

When I was just a little girl with a very vivid imagination, I used to sing the Doris Day song Que sera sera, without realizing what it meant.

I've always loved music, coming from a musical family, and being exposed to many genres, I learned to love just as many.

I did not like real dolls because of a horror story on Radio Theatre, so paper dolls became my favourite; I could dress them up in beautiful outfits, and imagine that it was me, all grown-up.

20220813_165426 s.jpg

Painting by my uncle Cornel from one of my school photos

I wanted to know what the future had in store for me; believing at that young age that my life was in the hands of fate, just what the song title is saying, and I went through a phase of singing it over and over!

When I was just a little girl
I asked my mother, what will I be
Will I be pretty? Will I be rich?
Here's what she said to me
Qué será, será
Whatever will be, will be
The future's not ours to see
Qué será, será
What will be, will be

Composer - Jay Livingston

I learned much later on that fate does play a big part, but that it was up to me to bring about changes where possible!

That was the Golden Era of the Fifties.

Heart page break.png

I was just entering my tweens in the mid 60s, the era that the pop-rock scene exploded with many artists like The Beatles, and The Rolling Stones. Folk music was big with artists like Joan Baez and Bob Dylan; the era ended on a high note with the Woodstock Festival where an estimated 400 000 attended. Naturally, I would have loved to be there, but the movie had to suffice.

Folk music is just one of the many genres that I love. The House of the Rising Sun is one of my favourites, and is said to be the first folk song performed by an electric rock band, The Animals.

Simon & Garfunkel's classic, The Sound of Silence has a message about how people do not communicate; so true especially in the world we live in today.

Local bands at 'sessions' in our civic halls did their utmost to play like the original artists, and when I entered my teens I was allowed to attend with my friends. We'd get dressed up in mini skirts, midi skirts, bell-bottoms, and tie-dyed outfits, with our hearts skipping a beat when the boy we've been eyeing asked us for a dance!
Oh, it was a load of fun being young and carefree and loving and living the music of that era!

Still in the 60s, yep sorry, it was difficult choosing the most loved song from that era, but one that really resonates with me is 'Turn! Turn! Turn!' by the Byrds.

To everything (turn, turn, turn)
There is a season (turn, turn, turn)
And a time to every purpose, under heaven

A time to be born, a time to die
A time to plant, a time to reap
A time to kill, a time to heal
A time to laugh, a time to weep

Refrain

A time to dance, a time to mourn
A time to cast away stones,
A time to gather stones together

Refrain

A time of love, a time of hate
A time of war, a time of peace
A time you may embrace, a time to refrain from embracing

Refrain

A time to gain, a time to lose
A time to rend, a time to sew
A time for love, a time for hate
A time for peace, I swear it's not too late

Songwriter: Pete Seeger

That was the Swinging Sixties.

Heart page break.png

Along came the 70s - I completed high school and entered the working world as an apprentice draughtswoman in a land surveying office. This was when I met my forever man through a work buddy, got engaged, married, and had 2 sons just before the next decade.
It was a busy, exciting time and a time of many changes.

The Beatles were still alive and well in the 70s, and the song 'Don't let me Down' was kind of a sad song, apparently written for John Lennon's son following the break-up with his wife and the beginning of his relationship with Yoko Ono, which finally led to the break-up of the band.
.

The Seventies was known as the ME decade

Heart page break.png

The 80s was a blur and not a happy time. My brother took his own life, an event that was to literally taint my rose-coloured spectacles.
These should have been the happiest years of my life, and there admittedly were happy times, but that tragic loss sent me into a spiral of depression, which took years to recover from. I tried to hide it from the cruel world that still does not understand mental health issues, and tried to make a happy home for hubby and our two sons while feeling like I was drowning. I became an expert at hiding what was going on inside!
Having a good support system and medication helped, but proper healing only started a couple of years ago with the help of meditation.

I've always loved the music of Queen, and 1985 was the year that Freddie Mercury reunited with the band to perform at Wembley Stadium for Live Aid where they stole the show!

That was the Eighties - my very Blue decade

Heart page break.png

I'm going to skip over the next couple of decades or we'd be here all night!
My kids are adults now and have left home, I've retired from the corporate world, but still work, running our BnB from home, and I wake up every day expecting only the best.

I never tire of listening to Leonard Cohen, and his Concert in London still is the very best!

An event that shook the world, was 9/11, and another favourite group, The Eagles, composed the song Hole in the World.

Life still did not taint my spectacles altogether and I'd like to share one last song that you simply have to listen to; Ed Sheeran and Andrea Bocelli's duet Perfect Symphony, simply stunning!

Seasons come, and seasons go, and as someone said -

The older one gets, the older old becomes.

As with music, the show must go on!


SBC Banner hive.png

This has been my ineligible entry to the Silver Bloggers Blog of the Month Contest - Musical Memories, the contest that offers really good prizes, so why not head on over there, subscribe and share your memories with us :)


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved

JOIN Hive using my referral LINK


Come and join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lizelle ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Goosebumps! Listening to your last song choice. How exquisitely beautiful! Reading your choices and listening. Listening fully. What a delight!

I'm sorry about the 80s. I have been touched in the same way. My best friend left me in 2017. 💛

My apologies for only responding now @juliamulcahy!
Thank you for your kind words, I am so very sorry to hear about your friend but glad that you enjoyed the music.

No need to apologise. I realise there's a life outside Hive too! Lol! 🤗

Hahaha, your music journey from a child to later on as an adult is very much mine @lizelle. I confess that Doris Day's Que Sera Sera was also a favourite in my house too. I say along as well. not understanding the full meaning until much later on. How same same we all are regardless of where we live. It is really a very small world.
Thank you for the lovely reminiscing 🧡

LOL, I've found myself humming that old song every so often ever since writing this blog!
Music certainly is a universal language, glad you enjoyed it and that it brought back memories for you as well Angie!

Hi Lizzie, how many memories!
Listening to Doris Day reminded me that in my house when I was a child there was a Betamax tape with the movie The Thrill of It All with Doris Day, and I used to watch it over and over again.
Queen is perhaps my favorite rock band of all time. Freddy Mercury's voice was out of this world.
I can't imagine how hard it must have been to lose your brother like that, I know you've mentioned it other times.🤗
And Perfect has always seemed to me a Perfect song and with Andrea Bocelli, you are right is stunning.

 2 years ago  

I just love the music of Queen and you're so right, Freddie Mercury has a stunning voice indeed. Another favourite and beautiful song is Love of my Life. Perfect Symphony is simply sublime and truly perfect!
Glad you enjoyed the music Eli😍

🤗😊🌸

 2 years ago (edited) 

Such good memories my friend. Music always brings peace to the soul, so many good musician's back then, I remember all of them. Life has its ups and downs, depression and mental health is so real, people just don't understand until it happens to them personally.
Lovely post @lizelle, I can relate to it so well. Go well my friend and have a great day.

 2 years ago  

Thank you my friend, yes, those were the days indeed, some really awesome artists over the years but the ones from our teen years were especially good!
Yep, that nasty thing called depression really hurts like no other!

I enjoyed your musical time travel. I love many genres of music as well.

I know it was long ago, but I am sorry about your brother taking his life. I can only try to imagine how terribly that would affect you. I'm glad you have found something that has helped you into a better place with it.

I had never heard that version by Ed and Andrea. That is SO beautiful !

 2 years ago  

Thank you for the kind words Jacey, it was an awful time & affected many lives; his 2 daughters were very young at the time.
I'm so glad you enjoyed the music, I never tire of Perfect Symphony, it really is beautiful!

The sounds of silence is a song that was definitely made with the heart, it is a song that does not go out of fashion and that transmits a message to humanity. When I was studying English I liked to practice with it and it was one of the first songs in English that I learned. I love the phrase "I saw ten thousand people... maybe more, who spoke without speaking and listened without hearing", if this happened in the 60's today is worse with all the technology that exists, something completely incomprehensible.

 2 years ago  

Hi Carolina, great seeing you here, and how very true, we listen and hear even less with our minds fixed on technology not so, so sad!
Thank you for popping in:)

Wow, this is a beautiful music travel. I like all the artists you shared!
Music helped me a lot in the worst days of my life and made me happier in the bests.
Thank you for sharing this with us. 🤗

 2 years ago  

Music helped me a lot in the worst days of my life and made me happier in the best

So very true @palomap3, music uplifts the spirit during happy and sad times.
I'm glad you also like these artists!
Have a great week ;)

Your uncle is great artist

 2 years ago  

He certainly was, thank you @lsdmercyy