Nature photography is my hobby,

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

Here is something very special today.
077.jpg

A dragonfly with it's prey. Not everyday that one can see this, but Mother nature was very happy to see us on this lovely Sunday. So she decided to show me this rare event.
I had to be very careful with this one as the slightest movement and he would be gone. Even your shadow movement over them scares them away.
So come and have a look at how he eats.

This was when I first saw him and you can see that he has a bug in his mouth.
He is a male "Elusive Skimmer" (Orhetrum rubens).
075.JPG

Now I had to ghost around to get him from the front without disturbing his Sunday lunch feast.
076.JPG

Sadly I could see the eyes of the bug that he was eating, but the sun was too sharp to identify it.
079.JPG

And then he was done and it also looked like he was looking up at me, so as if to say, how was that mate?
081.JPG

Just a tiny little butterfly here to end the post.
085.JPG

Do you also find that things have become more hectic lately? Constant business with minimal results and at times we are running around like headless chickens. Every here and there something good occurs, but then it's just back to the slog again.
That's why we have the gift of nature. It waits for us and as soon as we step into it, then the magic starts to happen.

Without realizing it, our thought patterns automatically change and all of our struggles and strivings are temporarily changed to wonderment. A place where truth and the beauty of life invades our minds and bonds with our souls.
As I write this, I can again feel that excitement that I felt when I got this dragonfly with his lunch.
Nature looks after her own, just as this world is looking after it's own and I am happy that I am just journeying through it all.

I hope that you have enjoyed the post.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

 3 years ago  

Thank you kindly @steemflow and @indiaunited

Stealth mode to capture photographs, nervous little guys no wonder with those enormous eyes!

Well done with this fleeting meal capture!

!LUV - photography!

 3 years ago  

Have to and one has to keep the sun's position in mind. Then the wind can also become a problem by whipping the stems around and if one lifts the camera too quickly then it's also a gonner.
So all gets done in silent slowmo.

!LUV to you guys.

Getting photography one is often let down, perfect timing, wind and light, many times hit and miss....

 3 years ago  

I can only laugh lately when Mother nature plays her tricks on me.
Late yesterday afternoon we were stopped at a traffic light and a big shadow flew over our car.
I pulled off when the light changed and pulled into a taxi bay. Jumped out with my camera and sure enough there in the distance was a gymnogene flying encircled by a group of small bird attacking it.

Happily I clicked away and in my mind it was great photos that I was taking.
At home when I plugged into the PC for the download, for some reason the camera setting was on "Macro". So all of my mental great pictures turned out blank.

Ditto had a doff moment a day ago thinking I captured some great shots of the yellow-billed kite hovering above me, alas none! Well wait and see might hit a luck again!

 3 years ago  

Hahaha, all that I can say to this is shame I am sorry, oh and also hahahaha.

He who laughs last laughs best, sure the kite looked down doing just that!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Another wow post, Zac, I haven't seen many dragonflies in my life, but never I have seen one eating 👍 Mother Nature loves you, my friend 😊


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

 3 years ago  

Thank you kindly and I was just at the right place at the right time my friend 😊
As you know, luck doesn't feature in my life and I am just thankful that I could see it.
I love Mother nature just as much and now you have seen how they eat 😊😊😊

Cheers and thanks.

You are often at the right place at the right time, my friend, and that means to me that Mother Nature loves you 😊


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

 3 years ago  

Maybe my camera and Mother nature are close, as she undresses herself for him, to show him her treasures 🤣 !LOLZ

Cheers and thanks.

LOL but they both know that the camera needs you to make the click at the right time 😉


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

 3 years ago  

They call it synchrony and I am only the match maker 🤣

Cheers and thanks.

👍👏😁


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hi @johannpiber, You Do Not Have Enough WINEX Tokens To Make Another Successful Call.
Please Stake More WINEX Tokens.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.334


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
joanstewart tipped papilloncharity (x1)
@papilloncharity(3/5) tipped @joanstewart (x1)
johannpiber tipped papilloncharity (x1)
papilloncharity tipped curatorcat.pal (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Not only your hobby, but you are also extremely good at it!

Specifically, your wildlife captures... whether tiny like these, or birds... shows you have great stealth and patience. Most people lack the patience to sit still and wait for the potential image to come into being.

=^..^=

 3 years ago  

Well thank you for this inspiring message and I am sure that I am only doing my best like everyone else here on hive are doing in their own ways. And that includes you.

The animals and the birds teach me many things about life and how to get them on camera, and all that it takes is to study their habits. Patience is one of Mother nature's secrets and the other one is that one has to blend into one's surroundings.
Practice always pays.

!PIZZA

those shots are amazing... and thanks for sharing as we never see dragonflies in the city anymore.

 3 years ago  

Thank you and it's a pity that you don't see them anymore.

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 17

Nature is simply the best Zac, and your photographs do it justice.
I can imagine you being in stealth mode.
Wedon't really get dragon flies, so I love to see you showing us nature from your side of the world.

 3 years ago  

Thank you my friend.
I call it blending in, as that can spot the slightest abnormal movement and then it's game over. So many here complain that can never get the dragonflies because they fly away.
But when you and I see a person storming at us with a camera we will also fly away 😉

You don't get dragonflies? I can never live in a place with no dragonflies.
My pleasure to share our nature with you.

!BEER

Yes we would storm off lol that is a given.
You know, I will be on a dragon fly hunt now 🤣

 3 years ago  

For sure!
Like I said, a pity that there are none.


Hey @tengolotodo, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.