"There's gold in them thar hills". (Mark Twain)

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago

Okay not gold, but strawberries and art is our gold.
622.jpg

Ploughing a land with horses. This painting was done long ago before the advent of tractors and modern farming equipment.

In a time long ago the farmers were hardy folks that did most things by hand. Master craftsmen that had no Ferraris or Lamborghinis for long distance traveling, but only hand built ox-wagons.
I am taking you back to this lovely 1692 period today.

But where did I find the painting?

Here's a clue of where we made the art discovery. Looks like a lovely pumpkin doesn't it?
688.jpg

In fact I said to the lady at the "Kiosk" (Farm shop), "thank you for the lovely pumpkins" and she burst out with laughter.
I think that you might also know that they are big strawberries.
685.jpg

As the landscape looked in 1629, it still looks the same in our modern day.
571.jpg

So here times haven't changed as the strawberries are still picked by hand. Each of the pickers are expertly skilled in their tasks of identifying the exact time for a strawberry to be picked. Too green will be no good and too ripe will result in pulp.
789.jpg

Now for the treasure find!

This is a photo of the entrance to the Kiosk and they have all kinds of bottled cherry jams and other farm produce inside. They also serve coffee and sandwiches and one can relax at tables in their garden.

There is a door at the left of the kiosk that was always locked when we went there and lo and behold, today they were cleaning and the door was open. I peeped inside and was pleasantly surprised at what I saw.
So I asked permission to go in with my camera.
580.jpg

But I am getting ahead of myself and let me first show you the garden where we sat to enjoy a flask of old style grinded bean coffee.
That metal table at the far left of the picture is where we sat to enjoy the coffee and I also had a perfect view of the blue sky.
579.jpg

The sun interfered a bit, but I get shots like this of the sky with my coffee in the one hand and the camera in the other hand. A lovely Jackal Buzzard (Buteo rufofuscus)
642.jpg

Right, now let's enter behind that door to see what I found.

Ah it is a neat little restaurant that smelled of the past and I felt that I was in a cloud of witnesses.
610.jpg

Filled with simple but very effective treasures that transfers one to the past.
I will let each of these pictures speak for themselves.
611.jpg

612.jpg

613.jpg

614.jpg

615.jpg

616.jpg

617.jpg

618.jpg

Just a view of a beautiful cactus on the way out of the farm.
767.jpg

Finally we were on our way back home.
791.jpg

Not often that I place a long post like this, but it was very special to me as I also lived on a farm in my early years.
The simplicity of the early days just shows us how we have complicated our lives in our strive after comfort. "Quick quick" is the motto of our current days. And quality of life was put on the back shelf. Money and riches reign, and in our chase after it we have cast aside many important items such as love, respect, happiness and peace.
Maybe we should all consider our ways, and place simplicity at the forefront.

That's All Friends!

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

mmmhhh strawberries... :)

@tipu curate

 2 years ago  

Thank you kindly and sorry, I will reply later as we have another power black out in 15 minutes from now.

oh wow, at least you know when they hit :/ why the outages?

 2 years ago  

Greetings, we know only the scheduled ones, but they keep on chopping and changing the schedules at short notice.
Our power generation system is very old and due to a lack of maintenance and other reasons we have many breakdowns that affect the power supply.

!BEER


Hey @tobetada, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

 2 years ago  

Now you see, if you were hare we could give you many strawberries for free.

Thank you kindly for the tip.

I don't have @tipu but can give you !BEER and !PIZZA

At least she got it! Imagine she had thought you were an idiot and didn't know the difference between a fruit and a vegetable. What a lovely little kiosk! So unusual to your usual wild life posts Zac. I hope the coffee was yummy! It's wonderful that there is still art that has survived to tell of the history

 2 years ago  

Hahaha, she most like told her husband at home how stupid the foreigner was.
Thank you and yes, at times I like to break out of the nature cycle to present something different.
The coffee is great as it is the original stuff and it's a sin to put milk in it.
There are many such places here, but the trick is to find them, as most of the big farms have the latest modern stuff. But there are always the odd ones out and the problem is that they are so rooted in their ways, that they don't have to advertise, as they have established clientele.
So it is a game of exploration, or hide and seek, but we love the search.

!PIZZA

And searching is half the adventure! I remember when I first moved to the Cape - on the couple trips back and forth - when I crossed the border from KZN, I found many of this type of cute little coffeeshop. Only to discover that their coffee was instant with long life sweetened milk (I do without milk and sugar too). I was totally disgusted

 2 years ago  

Oh yes, we enjoy exploring the different areas and it's always an adventure.
I am very fussy when it come to coffee and if it's not the genuine thing, then I rather order water. Bottled water that is.
Fortunately the real old quality venues are still hidden around here, but we will continue to find them.

!PIZZA

The photo reminds me of the scene of the villages in my country about 50-60 years ago. It is also interesting that the landscape looks almost the same after 392 years.

 2 years ago  

That scene appeared in many countries all over the world in those years my friend.
Food was still healthy and organic.

Yes, there are some of the oldest mountains in the world here in South Africa, like Table Bay Mountain and they all have remained the same over thousands of years.

!BEER


Hey @videoaddiction, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Those photography are looking wonderful. Special cactus looking so beautiful. Nice photography

 2 years ago  

Thank you and I love the cactus and succulent families of plants. They are hardy and can withstand the hot African sun. The leaves hold water and animals and even mankind drink water from them in the dry areas.

!BEER


Hey @kawsar8035, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I have to ask, in what part of the US are you? The combination of sort of latino small town vibes with US/Canada mountains behind, but the language of the magazines is english, yet the roads don't seem from the US

 2 years ago (edited) 

Oh no Eric, we are in South Africa that is many miles away, exactly 15183.27 kilometers from the Canada mountains.
Just shows how similar things can be across the world.

I thought that you knew, as you supported us when you were still a Mod on Hive.
Have a look at the first pinned post on my blog, as maybe it will remind you.

Zac.

Strawberries in the size of pumpkins would be great - you'd need to pick only one to have enough for the whole family 😀

The restaurant looks really as if you had stepped some decades back in time - lovely.

I saw the painting and thought that this painting could also have been painted here in Austria or another European country. There are images and paintings from here which look exactly like this.


!BEER and !WINE - both make a nice dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hahaha, Marian has given some of the strwaberries to the elderly residents here and they are over the moon with it.

Oh yes, that empty restaurant had that reversal of time effect on me. Everything in it is genuine and that enamel jug and cups must have slaked the thirst of thousands of souls in the past. A real spooky, but peaceful silence soothed my soul.

Yes, I know that it was a worldwide scene at the time as people from many European countries settled here in South Africa. Our neighboring countries such as Namibia for instance, that was called South West Africa at the time was swamped by German residents.

Cheers and thanks.

Ps. For some reason my second post yesterday and today has dropped alarmingly in value and I cannot find the reason.

My pleasure Zac 😀

I like this old restaurant somehow, it's so much different from nowadays and these things have certainly seen a lot. The only thing that doesn't suit in this room is the smartphone on the table 😄


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

 2 years ago  

Yes it is very different and anchored in the long ago past.

Hahaha, now I don't know if you are going to believe me, but it's the truth Hannes.
Until you mentioned it I didn't even see that phone on the table. My attention was more on the things on the walls. It must belong to the lady that was cleaning there.

The dining room is below an upper room, as in the old days they built all of the barns with upper floors and windows in the roofs, so I only wonder what views a person could have through the windows up there.

Cheers and thanks.

This happens often to me, Zac, when I come home I see things in my photos which I didn't recognize when I took them. Just like the green aphid im my last post, although it was quite big. Maybe I have thought it's just a leaf ;)
2021_11_06_mushroom_8551_3000px.jpg

Trees and fields, hills, mountains - the views must have been or still be beautiful, I can imagine.


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

 2 years ago  

Ouch, I almost missed this one.

Oh yes, it's always nice to make a discovery like that. It also often happens to me, but I don't right now have an example to show you.

To me it just shows how small and insignificant we are as human beings. Those mountains have stood for thousands of years and we cannot even make 100 years, then we are gone like we never existed.

Cheers and thanks.

We are only humans, and for the mountain 10,000 years might be as long as 100 years for us 😄


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @papilloncharity.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.380

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@johannpiber(20/20) tipped @papilloncharity (x3)
papilloncharity tipped buckaroobaby (x2)
papilloncharity tipped tobetada (x1)

Join us in Discord!

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !