NEW GEAR FOR THE NEW YEAR --- I've ALWAYS WANTED A NEW BIKE FOR CHRISTMAS!

in Silver Bloggerslast year

New Year's Resolutions are made but very seldom realized. My view about modifying something in your life that you feel needs changing, should not wait until one particular day of the year. Why delay, unless procrastination is your way?

After 12 months of limited exercise, almost 20 pounds have found their way to my frame. 12 months of limited physical activity has me feeling tired after just a few hours of exertion. This time of year, with freezing temps and the ground always blanked in snow, getting outside to hobbitize is almost impossible.

Our new bike will give me the opportunity to exercise while indoors. This bike is not the type you ride around the neighborhood on. It's also not a mountain bike like the one @dandays cruises around on as he tries to avoid immovable objects while racing around without trepidation.

The only place I'll be going on our new bike is nowhere.

IMG_9562.JPG

From the look of the box, it looked like the forklift driver had pierced it with one of the forks.
Upon opening the box I was delighted to see that it was not damaged.
IMG_9565.JPG

After unpackaging all of the pieces, I realized that putting the bike together may take longer than I had anticipated.

IMG_9566.JPG

I also concluded that reading the directions may be a good idea.

The console was a little tricky to install and it has way too many options to choose from. After learning what every option was for, I won't be using any of them except for the start button.
Pressing start will give me all of the stats I need, distance, time, speed, and calories.

mans worst enemy.png

The construction of this bike is heavy-duty. As I was putting it together it was easier to assemble than I had previously thought.

IMG_9568.JPG

@farm-mom was concerned about where we would put the bike. With a little rearranging of the bedroom, the location couldn't have worked out any better. The adjustments for the height of the seat and distance from the handlebars to the seat are easy to adjust, making it easy to accommodate both Robin and me.

IMG_9573.JPG

With the stationary bike at the ready and my motivation to ride on through to the other side at a peak, getting back into shape is a priority if not a NEW YEAR'S RESOLUTION.

thanks santa stage right.png

IMG_9583.JPG

Happy New Year

Sort:  

I won't be using any of them except for the start button.

haha brilliant!

That looks cool though!

Happy New Year😃

I like to keep things simple. I did my first ride yesterday. 15 minutes, 3.7 miles,62 calories. I didn't want to over do it on my first ride, slow and steady wins the race. Most bicycle seats are very narrow and some how the find a way to give me a wedgie. This seat is extremely comfortable, no untitled.gif

Happy New Year's day.

Wow that looks amazing, is that a fan to rotate air as you peddle?

Had one for years, eventually gave up the ghost with the family enjoying. Being a warmer climate we had it mounted in an enclosed verandah enjoying the scenery outdoors and fresh air.

Now you got the gear, enjoy the privacy of exercising and Happy New Year to both yourself and @farm-mom

!LUV

@thebigsweed, @joanstewart(2/10) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily


Made with by crrdlx

That is a fan and that is what causes the resistance. The faster you peddle the more air resistance.
The bike has wheels on the front of it, and I was surprised how easy it is to move. I like the idea of having it outside. We have a covered porch right of of the bedroom and when the weather gets warmer I think I'll move it outdoors.
Privacy, I never liked going to a gym because of the lack of it, too many muscle heads looking at themselves in a mirror, impressed with their own physique.

Nothing like starting out the New Year with a little love. Thanks again, my friend.

Ingenious way to move air by man power, ability to be close to a door or window during winter and outdoors in summer with your cold winters.

Went to a gym once to use their swimming pool, all the cycling machines looked straight down into the pool, not my idea of fun either!

Happy New Year to you and Robin. 🎉 Enjoy the new bike. It looked complicated to put together but you got it.

 last year  

That's a lot of work for a hat rack.


My man. What's up sir? Happy New Year and all that. The way you described me was so action figure cool I'm not gonna crack a joke or be condescending or anything. Just thank you.

Good for you recognizing those pounds. I just deleted a whole buncha stuff right here. Basically: Let me know if you need ideas.

Stay warm Jurg's. That Zero the other day was a bit much. I don't know how the hell you guys do it up there. Takes big huge balls to call Upstate home. Snowballs, of course, big huge snowballs.

No jokes, what the heck, you're not feeling well.
Ideally I like to step on the scale and have the display come in at 215. 235 lbs., 20 more than I try to keep myself at is not to hard to recognize.

Staying warm is fun, depending on how you go about it.
You guys had a day with the temp dropping to zero, that must of had you itching to hit a tropical island.

Happy New Year buddy and thanks for sending your address again!

Congrats man. I’ve been looking at getting more into doing more cardio. Consistency is key to getting that weight off. Good luck with this next year’s journey to getting your health back.

After laying low for the past 11 months, 2 knee and1 hip replacement later I'm raring to go. As you say consistency is key.

 last year  

Looking good and yes, that bike to no man's land is just the trick to get you going again.
I also had this idea many years ago after my motorbike accident and so I bought a used one, but it was of no use, as the accident left my one leg shorter after all of the operations. So it was difficult to peddle the bike.

I hope that you will be super fit once again very soon, as when spring arrives lady Robin is going to need a fit gardener :)

!PIZZA and !LUV

@thebigsweed, @papilloncharity(2/10) sent you LUV. | tools | discord | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily


Made with by crrdlx

I also had one many years ago, I got it for free. It made a very good place to drape my cloths over.

A fit gardener, that will be extra special.

Pizza and Luv to start the New Year, thank you very much.

 last year  

Hahaha, I know exactly what you mean as my rowing machine became a handy workbench.

I think that you will reach your fitness targets soon enough.

And !PIZZA and !LUV also to help you with your bicycle trips around the room !LOLZ

Doctors tell us there are over seven million people who are overweight.
Of course, those are only round figures.

Credit: reddit
@thebigsweed, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(2/8)

Happy new year to you and your family. The biggest advantage of this type of bike is that you can exercise comfortably at home. If we want to stay healthy, we have to exercise daily. Exercise improves both our health and our body. You look so cute in this cap.

When you are young you think you're invincible, but as the years pass by staying fit becomes a priority.
I've never been called cute before, but there's a first time for everything. 😁

Happy New Year to you and your loved ones.

My sister is working on getting a bike too. Hope the 20# comes right off by spring! Happy New Year!

My hope is that once I lose the 20 I can keep it off. The way @farm-mom cooks it could be hard. Now there's an idea, blame it on her!😁

 last year  

That's a snazzy exercise bike Father Christmas/ @farm-mom brought you, no excuses now! Whatever the weather, you can hop on and take a ride to nowhere while losing those extra pounds!
Happy New Year to you and your Robin :)

Yay!!!! What a great resolution—and present for yourself, and Mrs @thebigsweed!
I wish you a joyful 2023. May the blessings of God always remain with you throughout the year!

Only time will tell if the investment was a smart move. For me it's just about developing a routine and have it become a habit.
Boy is the seat comfortable, which was one of my biggest concerns. 1st workout yesterday for the both of us and I couldn't be any more impressed with the bike.

Thanks for stopping by and may 2023 be good to you.

You can better control your weight, strengthen your immune system, and lower your risk of chronic disease by engaging in regular physical activity. You can carry out this advice and get the full range of health advantages. On a stationary bike, both you and Mrs @thebigsweed can easily handle moderate activity while varying the intensity to get a good workout. Good luck on your routine, while I get back to mine, hehehe!

That's our goal long term.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@papilloncharity(2/10) tipped @thebigsweed (x2)

Join us in Discord!

Great last photo! ❤️

Good luck with your rides, hope they take you where you want to go 😍

Happy new year!

Thanks for stopping by. Usually by this time of year I'm sporting a full beard that somehow turned totally white over the years. My wife tells me that I look like Santa, but in order to really look like the guy in red I'd need to put on another 50 pounds when I'm looking to lose 20 pounds.

Happy New Year to you as well.

We need to reclaim Santa as a skinny guy!

!CTP

Congratulations @thebigsweed! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 7000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 8000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-12 - Winners List
Be ready for the first Hive Power Up Month of the year 2023!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal