Sort:  

We have the Eurasian Curlews here at Langebaan in the Cape. They migrate to South Africa from Europe and return every year.

That is awesome! I have not been to Langebaan in ages. I think I was there in 2012 last. Way before my birding years! I should make a trip there.

Ha, never been there myself and we will also will make a plan to go there sometime.
I have the information about the Curlews in my bird book.

Cheers and !BEER

What bird book do you have/use?

I have a few books, but the one that I use most is the latest "Sasol Birds of Southern Africa"
The 5th revised edition and the main author is Ian Sinclair.

ISBN 978-1-77584-668-0

It has a new free bird-call app and you can listen to the sound of each featured bird by scanning the barcodes.
It also has 800 new illustrations.

I think I have the older version one. It has helped me identify so many birds. And thanks for the mentioning of the bird-call app! I will look into that one. I guess it comes with the new book? the barcodes at least.

Oh yeah, you simply scan the barcodes with your phone, then you can hear the bird singing.


Hey @fermentedphil, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.