A beautiful Friday variety.

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

Some beautiful Southern African birds that I snapped today on a farm.
057.jpg

I have a few shots of one of my favorites, the Malachite Sunbird, a Jackal Buzzard and a King of sixes. Oh, and a v-formation of high flying Sacred Ibis birds.

We had a clear day with some sunshine for a change and I had 1 hour to take photos in between the meetings. So we popped in on a local wine farm and I got lucky.
This is a special variety of birds that are local residents in our country. There are many others, but I have posted many bird posts and I am sure that I have posted many species.

By now you know the Jackal Buzzard (Buteo rufofuscus) and this brown color means that he might be a juvenile.
012.jpg

Here is the famous "King of Sixes", so called for his many wives by the locals, official name is Pin-Tailed Whydah (Vidua macroura)
028.jpg

The following 2 photos are of the Malachite Sunbird (Nectarinia famosa)
040.jpg

049.jpg

Finally we had a V-formation of the Sacred Ibis family (Threskiornis aethiopicus)
068.jpg

All of these birds do not migrate to warmer countries during the winter, as they are endemic to South Africa. The Aussies also have these Sacred Ibis birds, but there is an argument at present about the identity of the two species.
Nature is my sanity haven and I pull at the tethers every day to go and meet with mother nature, even if it is just a short visit.
Such is my life.

And That's All Friends!

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reseved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX60HS Bridge camera.

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post by @papilloncharity.

Sort:  

"Pin-Tailed Whydah" What a long tail! Incredible!
Malachite Sunbird very beautiful color, just lovely.😀

Thank you and yes the Pin-tailed has a lovely tail in mating season. It attracts all of his wives.
The Malachite is an artwork.

!BEER


Hey @ratel, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for the kind support @ewkaw and @qurator

That little green whistling bird looks like it is calling its partner.

Still a youngster and yes, he is certainly looking for a girlfriend 😉

Have a !BEER

Ahahahaha🤣🤣


Hey @maxwellmarcusart, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The bird is looking lovely and beautiful,


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Thank you and yes he is a lovely bird.

I am a little bit offline these days, but my favourite, the Malachite Sunbird, needs one more compliment 😁
Great captures of this green beauty as always, Zac, but I like the other photos also, if course 😊


!BEER and !WINE and !PIZZA - perfect 😃
!invest_vote

Good evening Hannes,

We are both in love with the Malachite my friend.

So I sat sipping on my coffee and I hear the Malachite in the tree right above me.
Guess what happened?
I sneezed right into my cup and the coffee splashed up into my face and out all over my shirt and pants.
The Malachite got such a fright that he disappeared.

Now don't you also laugh as Marian giggled and handed me a pack of tissues to clean the mess.
I could hear the angels laughing in heaven and mother nature was also rolling around with laughter.

Marian said that I made 3 noises, a sneeze, a cough and a fart. All at the same time 🤣
A Guinness record methinks 🤣

So yeah, the excitement of that Malachite was not very kind to me.

Cheers and thanks.

Haha, I would have loved to see that scene, and I would have thought you would say that the Malachite laughed so intense about you that he fell from the tree right into your coffee and Marian had to clean you both 🤣🤣🤣


!ENGAGE 30
Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Good evening Hannes,

You are so funny my man.
I bet that Malachite flew laughingly away to tell his wife that he got me back for all of the photos that I took of him and I never paid him with any insects 🤣

Cheers and thanks.

Good evening Zac,

haha, now I know why all the birds are posing so nicely for you all the time, because you have a big bag with insects to pay them with you 🤣


!PIZZA and !BEER - sounds like a nice dinner :)
!invest_vote

Good almost evening Hannes,

So now you are accusing me of bribing the birds with insects 🤣🤣🤣
I think that you will also now go out with a bag of insects and good luck my friend 🤣

Cheers and thanks.

Hahaha, if I had insects my cats would not let me go with the bag. They have so much fun with just a fly, what do you think they would do with a bag full of different insects? 🤣 LOL


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Hahaha, if I had insects my cats would not let me go with the bag. They have so much fun with just a fly, what do you think they would do with a bag full of different insects? 🤣 LOL


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@papilloncharity! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (19/20)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that you can use BEER at dCity game to **buy dCity NFT cards** to rule the world.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINE With @papilloncharity.
You Earned 0.300 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINE Token Discord Channel
WINE Current Market Price : 0.270

Connect

Trade


@papilloncharity! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @johannpiber.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (7/20)

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Opening up a box of tricks with sun and clear skies to enjoy the birds today, any/all birds are exciting to watch coming and going around the farm. Lucky you being in farmlands again even if only a day!

!LUV

LUV

Connect

Trade


@papilloncharity, you've been given LUV from @joanstewart.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/10)

Thank you Lady Joan and sadly it was only for an hour. I would simply love to spend a whole day there, but life always gets in the way.

!LUV

LUV

Connect

Trade


@joanstewart, you've been given LUV from @papilloncharity.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (2/10)

Find a farm and live there permanently would be the answer, pity no money or security to keep one grounded in places we truly love.

Too dangerous to live on a farm Lady Joan.
But then again, living in a security complex also has it's hassles. The free standing houses are also way too expensive for us. Maybe we will find the ideal place one day.

!BEER

Farms are no longer what we remember, small towns also in disarray, have been looking for some time to make a possible move off this noisy road outside out door weighing up many factors.

Expense of moving another problem even if you find the right place.

!ENGAGE 20

Oh, that noise is never a good thing and the guys now fit the loud baffles to their exhaust pipes. One can hear them coming from a mile away. Then there's the sirens of ambulances, police vans and security cars, not to speak of the big noisy diesel trucks. Sheer madness to live near a busy road.

We luckily don't have much furniture, so a 3 tonner is enough for only one move.

!ENGAGE 25


Hey @joanstewart, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The bird is beautiful 🌺💐

Thank you kindly.