Our wild, Red Collared Songbird couple!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

034.JPG

This is the male sunbird inspecting a flower for some nectar!

We have no hummingbirds here in the Cape, but instead we have the small sunbirds and they are a treat to watch in action. Our garden is slowly being transformed into a bird haven and Spring will bring many delightful birds here again.
Come have a look at the sunbirds!

142.JPG

You wanted to see the female and here she is!
Much smaller than the male and she doesn't sing, but she doesn't have to, as she is just a tiny cutie!

025.JPG

One thing about this little guy, he loves to sing all day long.
Short bursts of tinkling sounds!

090.JPG

At times they also do some sky gazing for little flying insects!

100.JPG

Here we have the cute little lady also searching for a meal.
Their old nest was blown out by a gale force wind, but the good news is that they are building a new nest!

034.JPG

The Syringa tree singer between the yellow berries!

218.JPG

As night was approaching it was time for the birds to go home!

274.JPG

Finally, here's our little songbird with his Good Night song!

The red-collared sunbirds have only 3 enemies, cats, cuckoos and of course man.
Cats can catch and eat them, in fact a neighbor has seen one of the house cats here taking a sunbird. Cuckoos lay their eggs in the sunbirds nests and mankind catch and cage them for sales.
My blood boils when I see ads about sunbirds for sale.

I have even stopped to place posts about our dwarf chameleons, as people keep asking me where exactly they are. They sell for an expensive price and nobody is going to sell our wild animals.
The little sunbirds are safe here as long as we are around and we intend to keep it that way!

And That's All Folks!

Note: All photos are my own, unedited and cropped for uploading.
Camera used: Canon Powershot SX60HS.

We hope that you have enjoyed the photos and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The first Response!
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Thank you for the kind notice!

You said the male would look much more beautiful than the female Sunbird, and you were very right - this bird looks great and the colors shine amazing metallic 😃

I hope your garden will be a secure haven for these and many other birds.


Cheers and !BEER
!tip
!invest_vote

Thank you Hannes.

I was thinking about placing them as a couple to show the differences.We also have other mettalic colored sunbirds such as the famous Malachite and the Amathyst, I have posted both before, but this little guy in my post is our favorite, as he sings the best.

Thank you and yes, I am also going to secure the boundary walls with 2 meter high cane panels, so that only the front entrance will be open. The cats never come in at the front as they know that either I, or our little dog will be there.

Thank you also for visiting my post.

Blessings and thanks!

You're very welcome Zac 😁
I'm expecting very cool photos of beautiful birds then 😄


Cheers and !BEER

Hahaha, I think that I will post some cool flyers from the ocean's garden/beach tomorrow Hannes.
It's goin to take a while before the new plants flower, as I didn't take big cuttings.
But in time, yes, it will draw the birds.

Cheers and thanks!

Fine, I will wait for it 😊
As you said before, your garden will become a little paradise for you and for the little birds 😁

I am working in the other office today and also over night. So I don't know how much I will be able to go online, but I also want to make a post for tonight and hope I have enough time for all 😉


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Ah! So at the other office again. I hope that they pay you a night shift allowance Hannes?
Hope that you can get it all done my friend.

Cheers and thanks!

Oh, they pay me even while I sleep 😁 lol

I had and still have a busy day, but I had time inbetween and could begin my #thriveonhive post and I have tagged you there if you don't mind ;)
But since I have been working on it besides my regular work I don't even know what I have written. I still have 2 hours left until I want to post it at 7 - plenty of time to look through and edit it.


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you kindly Sir @johannpiber


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Cheating The O - Alphabethunt Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Thank you kindly Sir @johannpiber!

So beautiful and colorful songbirds 🥰

Thank you kindly!

I know you will always do everything you can to keep our lovely wild creatures safe.
That is one of the many things I love about you!
Wonderful photos of those marvelous little sunbirds! Glad to hear they are rebuilding after the storm.
Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!
!tip

Thank you for the kind words milady!

A lesson for us in life after our our own storms.
I didn't have the heart to post the photo of the destroyed nest as the dead little baby got stuck at the entrance.

But, yes they are building again and their little lives go on.
So happy for them.

Blessings and thank you for the tip!

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: 2020 Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you kindly Lady @melinda010100

Oh the colors of the male are so beautiful.

Thank you kindly and he is indeed a beautiful litte guy!

Very good

Thank you kindly!