Strolling with a Heron.

in Feathered Friends2 years ago (edited)

I just had to stop when I saw this on a piece of land next to our house.
027.jpg

This guy sat on a heap of weeds that the farmer cleared from the land.

I think that they are clearing the land so that they can plant just before the new Spring season that will start in September. We have many farms in the surrounding area and also several plots of land in the town. Some even have the original houses on the plots and they were declared as heritage houses. So no alterations may be done to the historic houses and one gets transferred to the days of old whenever one looks at the old majestic building style of the old houses.
The heron also seems to like it:)

It is Black-headed Heron (Ardea melanocephala) and so great to see one right here in the town.
028.JPG

031.JPG

So I decided to walk with him while my wife waited in the car.
075.JPG

076.JPG

Now I wonder what the heron said to this Guinea fowl couple as he passed ?
Maybe the entrants in the @featheredfriends contest by @wrestlingdesires could tell us ?
096.JPG

On his way and I knew that he was going to take off, but he went behind a tree.
He did circle over however and they are very neat flyers.
099.JPG

On his way and I knew that he was going to take off, but he went behind a tree.
He did circle over however and they are very neat flyers.
042.JPG

Like I said, I have never seen a heron in town, and it was a delight to take a walk with this one. The great thing is, that we often drive past this plot of land on our way down to the ocean, and I saw him again today.
But I didn't stop to take photos of him, as I have many herons in my files.
It is great to live so near nature and to see all of its wonders.
We also have the benefit of the ocean close by, so I basically live between two wonderworlds. Nature and the mountains close by, and the ocean on the other side. Both within very easy reach.
I hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and the story.

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 2500 posts.
Your next target is to reach 2600 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

NFT for peace - Thank you for your continuous support

So cool it was in your town. Of course you had to stop, capture this beautiful creature. And show us 🤣🤩🤩😎
Beautiful photographs @papilloncharity 😁 happy Monday!

My wife calls it my rock and roll driving style as one minute we are driving, then I suddenly stop and get out with the camera. So she has to pull the emergency brake up to prevent the car from rolling 🤣 !LOLZ

A happy week also for you madam and congrats in being number 1 in the engagement project of Asher.

The other day I snuck into the local zoo and spotted an albino Cheetah
It was the least I could do for him.

Credit: reddit
@littlebee4, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(3/8)

Hahaha I tend to do that with hubby, when he is driving and I see something… I say stop… and he knows by now I saw something amazing and need to capture it hahaha lol 😂 funny funny funny…

Thank you so much @papilloncharity 😁💃🏻🥳 much appreciated!
Enjoy your week and may it be amazing!

!LOL

Did you hear about the cheese factory that exploded in France?
There was nothing left but de Brie.

Credit: reddit
@papilloncharity, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @littlebee4
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(2/2)

Great that your hubby understand you and my wife is also never a problem, unless when I put the hazard lights on suddenly in dense traffic and I pull off to get a photo of a bird !LOL

Hope that your week also started well.

Why was an insomniac shot by the police?
He was resisting a rest.

Credit: reddit
@littlebee4, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity
Have you tried the !gif !lolz !meme combo? It is a wall of fun!
(4/8)


Credit: aichanbot
Earn Crypto for your Memes @ hiveme.me!

It is great to have understanding other halves 😁😎 what would we be without them hahaha it does make life interesting and exciting sometimes… for reasons you just mentioned hahaha 🤣 😂 lol
I so know…

It has @papilloncharity , hope yours too 🤩
!LOL

Oh yes, we grow together as one and we even start to say the same words. It is almost like I am talking and answering myself when I talk to her. We are together 24/7 so you can imagine how identical in thought we have become. Humor is my part and moaning is her part 😉

Yep, mine not so well with all of the new power cuts that were now added to the old power cuts.
Soon we will sit no power for 8 hours of every day.

Have fun !LOL

Some people say that I never got over my obsession with Phil Collins.
But take a look at me now.

Credit: reddit
@littlebee4, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @papilloncharity
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(3/8)

Yes… a marriage can do that. It is wonderful 😁😎
Hahaha don’t let her hear that 😉😎

Oh no, sorry to hear that @papilloncharity more power cuts. Crazy…
Is it a long term thing?
That makes things rather hard 8 hours…

Enjoy your evening!
!LOL

such long neck. awesome bird

Many of our houses here are declared as heritage houses, and if you own one you usually have a thick wallet and bank account, because you have to keep the house in it's original state. If you change the windows or when it needs a paint you have to let make the same looking windows and paint it in the colour that it had before. Especially windows and doors will be custom made and therefore very expensive.

Beautiful shots of the Heron, Zac, I love the last photo most 😊


!WINE makes a delicious dinner with !PIZZA :)
!invest_vote

A fat wallet indeed and I agree that maintenance can cost a fortune. The window frames were all made so many years ago that their manufacture don't exist anymore. The wood of the window frames are all special hardwood types and just to get for replacement can cost a bomb. So to replace only one window can cost the price of a new car. Consider what it would cost to replace all of the window frames on a big heritage house? Something like 30 or more window frames?

Thank you Hannes and yes you have just confirmed my suspicion that you would like the bird and the mountain photo the most 🤣 !LOLZ

Cheers and thanks.

Many of these houses here are owned by the state or the city and most of the other owners are quite wealthy people.

You know me very well by now, my friend, you're most welcome 😊


Maybe you like a !PIZZA fresh from the Oven 😋
!invest_vote

I think it is the same here, as the heritage houses are very expensive only the rich can afford them.
But then again there are some that are rented out by the government and they are falling apart. So sad to see a colonial house in ruins.

We are family in blood, or is it in hearts methinks 😉

Cheers and thanks.

👉😊


Have a !PIZZA from me, served with !LUV
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

PIZZA! PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@johannpiber(11/15) tipped @papilloncharity (x3)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Nice heron. I have no photo from South Africa. hmm strange.

Thank you and how do you mean "no photo from South Africa"?

!BEER

I have looked at my iNaturalist and I have no photo of this species. I have been to Kruger, Santa Lucia an a few other norhern locations cca 4x


Hey @birdwatcher, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.