Eagle And His Dinner

in Feathered Friends4 years ago (edited)

My entry this morning is the eagle flying above my head as a friend and I walked the Confederation Trail in Montague, PEI.


5C47EA920BE84ECD9900C244E9CD2A24.jpeg

There are no poisonous snakes on the Island but it doesn’t matter. If I see one, the devil himself might as well be there as I will take off screaming..

Gaylene and I saw the eagle coming towards us with a snake or eel in it’s claws. We were both screaming now!

I wanted to take a photo but we were afraid the eagle might let the snake slip and drop it on our heads.


5D25306BEE7D4CC696F49245A79D7D79.jpeg


The eagle has finished the dinner and rests by the shallow water on one side of the trail.


738CBDCB5D5F4CEB8367890C695431BC.jpeg


After the meal, the eagle is peacefully flying around.


C43B5FC24D4C4DDDA396C59D6BDF9816.jpeg


A huge wing span on the eagle.


40970008A56240A18737E438BA3AF305.jpeg


The eagle’s reflection as it flies above the water.


35EC934D20374F19BAC62B26AE8EFC64.jpeg


Scenes from the walk on the Confederation Trail.

The Montague River flows on one side of the trail


22EEDF86E2B046D0B84C985A2B7379D4.jpeg


Cormorants can always be seen swimming and diving into the Montague River.


DC6599B76CEA4E60BA84AB10844AFBBA.jpeg


My friend waves as we rested on a bench by the bridge.

Folks with dogs and others on bikes enjoy the trail which used to be a railway bed.


EA670EFC276646E8A876D3D69A637078.jpeg


I’ll leave you with a beautiful bush loaded with pink blossoms I saw at the start of the trail.


EAC39BC016FE47C48E70E63A65D166AF.jpeg


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

#featheredfriends hosted by @melinda010100

#amazingnature hosted by @adalger

#alwaysaflower hosted by @dswigle





hive-114105
Animated Banner Created By @zord189



Courtesy of @derangedvisions


821EB7845D174DB5BFCF3A513915D69B.jpeg

Sort:  

Oh my! A lovely walk, but I would have been hoping that eagle was holding on tightly to his lunch as he flew over, too! That is pretty amazing that you got that shot!
Eeek! !tip

Thanks Melinda! @melinda010100. It was wild there for a few minutes until the Eagle passed. It was almost like he was showing off his catch.😄

How amazing to spot an eagle carrying a snake! That would have made my day for sure.

It certainly make that walk exciting, Keith. 😊

I'm sure it did!

I was just sent this by a friend and I enjoyed it and it made me think of you

A great video Melinda.Thanks for thinking of me. I do love seeing the blue jays. Some of them must be getting up in age that frequent my backyard.

Fantastic catch of the eagle and his dinner. You have more green grass it seems than us, but the trees seem to be about the same level of green. One more good rain for us and we should be all greened up. I don't think our wildflowers have started up yet, but it has been a few days since a walk.

Thanks @bashadow. The tree seem to be slow getting their foliage. I’m happy to finally enjoy some warm weather. :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 7 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks @pinmapple!

You're welcome @redheadpei🙂👍
liz

Eagles are some of the most fascinating birds you could see! Loving them!

They are beautiful majestic birds. Thanks for stopping by. 😊

That is just an amazing photograph. Seriously. I love the rest of your walk too, but that snake....

I don't much have an argument with snakes in general until social distancing isn't practiced. In this case makes me really fond of the Eagle.

Thank you!

Thanks so much @bigtom13. I’m happy you enjoyed the walk...the snake was something else.😄

OMG! I would have freaked out at the sight of the snake. I am glad the eagle enjoyed his dinner! This is an once in a lifetime event. So great you managed to take that snapshot!

Thanks @lymepoet. I was excited and waving the camera around like mad trying to catch a photo of the eagle and his dinner. On the other hand I was wary the eagle would lose his grip and drop it on my head.

I was laughing as I was reading this but had I been there then I would've screaming right along side of you..lol. That is not something you see every day and I'm glad you got some photos to share with us! 💕 🙄

Haha Dee, it was something seeing that Eagle with the snake hanging down, He was close and I just snapped fast to get some kind of a shot of it before maybe being hit in the head with a snake. I would have surely passed out it that happened.😀 ❤️

Congratulations @redheadpei! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 12000 replies. Your next target is to reach 12500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks @hivebuzzfor your accounting. 😊

You're welcome @redheadpei ❤️🙂
cheers, liz

Loading...

My first thought was that it is an eel and not a snake because it looks like an eel head and I think I can see some fins, so screaming was only neccessary because of this super cool sighting 😉
The photo looks great, Jo, you were really lucky to see something like that, and also fast enough to take that shot. The other photos are very cool too.

A few days ago I have seen a few swans flying over the lake like your eagle did, and their reflections were also nice to see in the water, but all I could do was to look and smile. I had the macro lens on the camera and was in manual mode, so I didn't even have a chance to take a photo within the five seconds they were to see.

Our eagles are all in the mountains and very seldom to see - I haven't seen any in many years.

Thanks for sharing these amazing photos, Jo, have a great afternoon 😊


Cheers and !BEER
!tip
!invest_vote

It was a scary looking thing the eagle was clutching. I wasn’t able to focus quick enough to get the shot with more definition on it.

The swans would have been a great photo. Those moments are rare and happen so quickly there is no time to change the lens.

I can’t log into peakD or engage at the moment . I hope it’s a temporary glitch.

Have a pleasant evening Johann and thanks always. :)

You did a great job - it is as you say, such moments are rare and you reacted very well. I wonder how many others would have been quick enough to even think to take a photo ;)

PeadD and Engage work fine for me, but I don't want to log out and try to log in, because I shut down the computer in a few minutes anyway.

Have a very nice rest of the day too 🙂


Cheers and !BEER

Don’t sign out Johann if you use hivesigner. Arcange said the hivesigner site was down and may take awhile.What happened was I cleared my history on engage and then couldn’t sign in again. I can still go in on Hive.

Thanks for your kind comments.

Have a good day :) I’m off to bed.
!tip

Good morning Jo,

I didn't sign out, because I went to bed 😉 but I use Hive Keychain anyway.
It happened a few times before that Engage didn't work. In such cases I was really lost, because I love this App and I wouldn't know what to do without it.

Have a wonderful Sunday Jo 🙂


Ceers and !BEER

The hivesigner is working this morning Johann. I am using an iPad and can’t use the keychain with it for some reason.

In order to keep engage working, I have to clear the history every once in awhile and then have to sign in again.

Have a great day. 😊 It looks like it might be a sunny one here.

It's windy here and although the sun shines most of the times it is a bit cold outside, but never mind, I'm at work and won't go outside anyway ;)

That's strange that keychain does not work for you, but I have no idea of iPads or other Apple products. But as long as you know what to do when it does not work, it's good, unless the problem is on the side of Hivesigner, but then nobody will be able to use it ;)

Have a wonderful day too Jo.


Cheers and !BEER


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Signs Of Summer Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: A Mix Of Blue (Photo 52 Week #20 Blue) Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness

Maybe he caught an eel? Are they any freshwater eels there?

Perhaps it is an eel but it was snakelike.

The body of water was across the road from the Montague River which is salt water.

Once in Arizona I saw a golden eagle with eating a snake near the Grand Canyon. Quite a site to see. The bald eagles only come down to Illinois during the winter to catch fish in the unfrozen rivers.

I’ve heard of people eating cooked snake or eel but I couldn’t even look at it.😱