Dig my Funky hairstyle?...: My DAILY wildlife photo, species info and musings

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

"When life does not allow you to change anything, change your hairstyle! - Courtesy Sassycaptions.com

This seems to be the philosophy of the Brahminy Starling (Sturnia pagodarum). That funky hair-do must be on purpose!
It must be bored of the 'eat-sleep-$hit-repeat' routine of life and must have adopted this 'wet gelled, wind swept' hairstyle!


ABlog-titleR.gif
Just look at the funky hair-do!

This bird is very very common and is found even around cities. Therefore, there is no fancy 'How I spent 2 nights to get this picture/ story associated with this picture. However, I decided to share it because it brings a smile to my lips every time I see it because of it's hairstyle 😀

The hairstyle reminds me of Clark Gable in 'Gone with the wind' with his jet black hair, swept back and gelled down. That is pretty much the look this starling is going for - don't you think?

The younger generation on HIVE of course, will not remember Gone with the wind or Clark Gable. So, here is another example for the young Millennial HIVE members. Doesn't it look like a 'Hair dryer malfunction' caused hairstyle like in the picture below?


image.png
This was NOT the look I was going for!

In any case, the bird, hopping around with it's jet black WIG like look and garrulously fighting with it's own kind or with other species, entertains me practically every day. Take a look around you to find it somewhere near you and I guarantee that it will make you smile.

Have a smiley day everyone.

Here is the photograph in original size and form:


FBL-_DSC1749_DxO-sharpen-stabilizeFB 2048 (FILEminimizer).jpg


Information about the bird

  • Name: Brahminy Starling

  • Scientific name: Sturnia pagodarum

  • Size: Around 20-25 cm (10 inches)

  • Conservation status: Least concern (IUCN 3.1)

  • Description (based on e-bird, Wikipedia and my observations): This is a member of the Starling family of birds. It is found mostly in Asia, especially the Indian subcontinent. It is an omnivorous bird which eats fruits and insects. It is usually found in small flocks and sometimes in pairs. They usually roost along with parakeets and other mynahs in large communes. It is a very vocal bird and is mostly chattering.


Information about photograph

  • Aperture: F5.6
  • ISO: 400
  • Shutter: 1/1600
  • Support: Handheld shot
  • Camera: Nikon D500
  • Lens: Nikkor 200-500mm
  • Image format: Photo clicked in RAW and edited for presentation sizing

A big thank you for support

Thanks to c/hive-106444 (Feathered friends community) for providing this wonderful opportunity to present my experience and photographs. Thanks to @barbara-orenya and @melinda010100 for all the support and encouragement to this community. Special thanks to @nelinoeva also for starting the Species hunt initiative. My posts are not exactly in that format but have all the necessary info and Good original Photos. Further guidance will be very much welcome.

Thanks to HIVE for this wonderful platform. I am using the Hive logo in the collage for showing that the image and post is a dedicated HIVE post. Hope that is OK. The HIVE animation is a graphic created by @doze and free to use as per his post. Many thanks to @doze.


Note: All images and collages in this blog are created by me, based on photos clicked by me personally and/or free vector images from Pixabay
Quotes used, if not credited, are either from unknown authors or are proverbial old sayings.


2bottom header image vm2904 (FILEminimizer).png

Y2iXpRRkNSnseh3NuL6KUBitJTXrc5Jz3moTQfEFut2A2.png

ecotrain.png

the alliance logo.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @vm2904! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 200 posts.
Your next target is to reach 250 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you. Much appreciated

You're welcome @vm2904.

BTW, it would be much appreciated if you support our proposal on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner so we can continue our work!
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199
Thank you!

@hivebuzz Supported the proposal. I am new to HIVE (migrated from the old platform automatically while I was away for 3 years from all social media due to a personal tragedy). Therefore, I do not even know if my support to the proposal mean anything at all. My posts hardly have any visibility though they are with good original content and I do not think I have much influence but for what it is worth, I have supported the proposal because I believe that @hivebuzz activity like tracking progress and badges etc. encourages people with at least moral support.

Regards,
singature small avatar.png
@vm2904
Wild Spirit

That's great, keep going like this 😊👍 Thank you for your unfailing support @vm2904, much appreciated!

he has a very sympathetic look, his name may be the son of the wind, as a matter of fact😊😊

@nlcsmt LOL. Very droll

singature small avatar.png