AFTER BUYING SOME GROCERIES

in Untalentedlast year

Today, early in the morning, I walked to a small grocery store, the nearest one to the house in which I live. I had to walk 300 or 400 meters to get there.

In this post, I'll show you some stuff I photographed along the way. You can see the front of the store I mentioned before in this opening picture.

I found these bottlecaps near the entrance of the store.

Not far from the bottlecaps, I photographed a bunch of empty bottles that once contained a local, Croatian brand of beer, and a pack of Red Marlboro with no cigarettes in it. Quite a few people from the town and surroundings avoid cafes & bars and prefer to drink their beer here, in front of the store. Is less expensive and the place offers a nice relaxed atmosphere. No intrusive, often stupid, irritating pop music. No gambling machines or other noisy stuff. When I was younger, more prone to drinking, and much more social than now, I also liked to get a beer or a small bottle of something stronger in front of grocery stores from time to time.
Nowadays, you can see the workers from the construction sites in the area. They always come around noon and stay for half an hour or less. You can also see some retired people. They like to come in the late afternoon if the weather is good. Unemployed people come and go in relatively unpredictable patterns.

Sometimes you can find the remains of kids' drinks on the stairs in front of the store. Kids from the neighborhood also can be seen hanging here for half an hour or so, before returning home from elementary school.

(Enlargeable)

I photographed these apartment buildings nearby, less than fifty meters from the store. Most buildings of this type and style were made to be rented in summer, during the tourist season, when Medulin, my hometown, becomes a very crowded place.

(Enlargeable)

A bit further along the road, I photographed this line of older, family homes.

The terrace of one of those houses is constantly guarded by a bunch of lions.

From a distance, they can pass as menacing wild cats, but if you zoom in on the scene, and take a good up-close look at the statues, the lions are a bit weird. I don't know, there is something monkey-like or humanoid in those roaring faces.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see another larger building. This one is situated on the main road that leads from the old, compact town on the hill to the harbor and the beaches. It was built in the early eighties and was a small hotel until a decade or so ago. Its rooms and apartments are still rented to tourists but it hasn't any additional hotel services to offer.

A dolphin was frozen in jump a bit further. The cetacean is here to advertise the restaurant called " The Blue Dolphin". The place is open only in summer.

I was walking uphill, toward my neighborhood, when this and the previous photograph were taken. The hill isn't steep, so the picture doesn't give a strong "uphill" feel.

Here you can see the bay, a fisherman, and some houses of Medulin ...

... painted on the lower part of the "Blue Dolphin" front facade.

Some work was still in progress on the neighboring wall. Some kind of repair work or some construction activity that has something to do with installations. I don't know, not an expert in that stuff. But I know a thing or two about visual arts, that's my field professionally, and I can tell you that someone created a nice piece of abstract artwork here, knowingly or not. 😆

(Enlargeable)

A bit further up that road, I photographed a line of copy-paste apartment buildings.

These were built five or six years ago, if I remember well, which is possible but far from being guaranteed.

(Enlargeable)

Another fifty or so meters further, I came across this lovely old car parked on the porch of one of the houses on that street. A beetle, I think, is the name of this little machine.

(Enlargeable)

An old Mercedes was displayed in the yard of the same property.

This was once a small grocery store situated considerably closer to my house. It was closed for good a couple of years ago.

This is just another house along the road. The house is at least fifteen years old, but its color is brand new. It was changed a month or two ago.

Here you can see the road and a friend that was there with me.

(Enlargeable)

In this photograph, I zoomed in on some houses in that area.

(Enlargeable)

Here you can see some big flower pots and a sculpture on the little square.

(Enlargeable)

At this point ...

(Enlargeable)

... I almost reached my destination.

(Enlargeable)

A few minutes later, I was back home.

AND THAT'S IT. HOPE YOU ENJOYED THIS MORNING'S TOUR THROUGH THE SMALL, SEASIDE TOWN IN WHICH I LIVE. AS ALWAYS HERE ON HIVE, THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE MY WORK.

One of the things I enjoy here on HIVE is discovering new people and communities. Although I discovered @surpassinggoogle in my first crypto-social days in 2019, this community is new to me. I noticed it a couple of weeks ago and decided that I'll surely publish something there one day. The name intrigued me. The name and the fact that there is still nothing published in the untalented hub.
The word "untalented" can sound like a taboo perhaps. A hard word. Like, who wanna look at talentless stuff? I don't read it as "talentless" or "untalented", actually. I kinda feel that this is a good place for ordinary, real-life experiences, no matter the amount of talent or hidden talent, or the opposite of talent involved, and I decided to publish this report of an ordinary morning walk here.
I saw quite a few old @surpassinggoogle videos, and I like some of his ideas about ordinary life and authentic human experiences.

That's something I needed to make clear. Hope that the post has found a good place in this community. Have a great day, or night, wherever on the planet you are.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lileisabel ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Congratulations @borjan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 320000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 330000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Felt like I was with you this whole time. Amazing place btw 😄

Those bottle caps took me to my child hood memeries, when we use to play with them .

Source

It was like walking with you! Really enjoyed this!

quite an interesting location for walking it seems Mr. @borjan

Very strange looking lion "stone statues" on that old building, kind of spooky in a way! !LOL !PIMP 🦁🦁🦁


You must be killin' it out here!
@fun.farms just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @borjan.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

Autocorrect
Can't live with it can't live meow it.

Credit: reddit
@borjan, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @fun.farms

(2/10)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

It seems common for people to leave trash anywhere, which is also common in our place.

You are absolutely right because in such places there is a lot of peace, one sits on and thinks about one's life. As much as the human being considers children to be a violation, they eat whatever they eat and then throw it there. All these old buildings looks so beautiful and amazing. I really like old artitecture. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You have captured very amazing pictures and the art of buildings and painting is superb.