Passing of time

I looked up from my bed of lush grass to a clear blue sky, partially hidden by the canopy of leaves, above. They swayed in the breeze shifting the light and shadows on my body, warming here, cooling there. The only sound was the leaves caressing one another, their closeness to each other mirrored by my own with my man far below them; the summer breeze compelled their closeness and love compelled my own with my guy. I closed my eyes and let the moment seep in, the leafy music settle upon me, and I was lulled into a content sleep.

df.1.jpg

I took this image


We'd come here to talk, for the peace and quiet of this far-away place...and for reflection; a year was ending and another beginning in barely a few days.

We eaten a simple picnic lunch and talked about things large and small, the moments that were 2022 and how they impacted upon our lives. We thought about good and bad times, we'd had both, and talked them through, sought to learn from the bad and extend the value of the good. Life had been cruel and kind for us over the year and we knew, looking forward, it would be so again...but life was like that.

We chatted about hopes and fears, confirmed our goals for the coming year and made a vow to reach for them together, as always...then we fell silent, content to being in one another's arms, to caress, kiss and relinquish one to the other and to have the dappled sunlight warm on our bare skin as we found togetherness in our intimate embrace.


Before I fell into that contented and satisfied sleep, head resting on his chest rising and falling slowly as he slept, I looked up to the sky and watched the passing of time, the sun move so slowly above, allowed the rustling leaves to soothe me further, and I wondered what the year ahead may bring. Would we fulfil our goals, will fate play its hand once again and surprise us? Will it be good or bad? I didn't have the answers, only time would tell, but one thing was certain, we would do it together, as always, and face the good or bad moments side by side.

That was the last thought I had before I drifted into a sleep, that and the rhythmic beating of his heart that meant so much to me.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

Have a great end to the year and hopefully 2023 is going to be far more awesome.

Hey there, thanks for replying.

I think it should be a nice end to the year, relaxing. We don't have much planned for new year's eve, just some food, family and friends. Let's hope 2023 is better for everyone!

Becca 💗

Such a beautiful day you had there. I hope that your man will always be on your side through all the ups and downs. The greatest approach for both parties to return home is to stay together and face everything together. God bless you and your sweetheart as you cherish every moment, @becca-mac. 😍🙏❤️

Togetherness is a wonderful thing and is something we strive for - We have our differences, but we do those together too, always with the right thoughts and emotions behind them.

Becca 🌷

That's true, my friend.😊
May your day will be flourish with all the love in the world.
🌹🌹🌹