Tattoo journeys ep.7. Swallows and documenting my journey

in ThoughtfulDailyPostlast year (edited)

Happy 2023! Here it is. The first day of the year. The day when so many people think of the changes they have to make, to the new goals they have to achieve. I would approach it differently though. Rather than looking at an entire year, feeling the pressure of the 365 days that demand progress, I would take it day by day. Make this day a bit better than yesterday and seek to adjust gradually. I believe more in the consistency of change than in the speed with which is happening.

All of this being said, I continue my posting series connected to my tattoo journey.

This is a swallow that I have made on fakeskin with really fine needles. 3RL and 1RL. This means 3 round liner and 1 round liner, the numbers indicating the amount of needles.

8E5A910A-00F4-4464-A4EC-4C2418AF7DD0.jpeg

I admit that I love working on details yet I am aware that transferring this design on the skin would mean some adjusting. The stippling technique takes less time when done with a tattoo machine, making my rotring pen look obsolete.

45BA2AC6-4A3B-4F30-861A-FC75204055CE.jpeg

569C0B1E-2FDF-475C-B318-C9A58364E138.jpeg

6984711F-DE86-41D5-81D7-B89851980F1B.jpeg

I have been quite busy in the pre-holidays season. I enjoyed it as working extra made my mind forget about certain things and focus on the task at hand. I can see why so many people seek refuge in work, as it can help with avoiding things. Temporarily at least.

52502B8A-2F6F-41E4-8ECE-B8B09C055E47.jpeg

38CDC7BF-0115-43A2-9B1A-AA152F65878A.jpeg

E7A1B737-7199-4685-8C23-F19C50B414F7.jpeg

59CA6872-7666-4C1C-94EE-D0E7CF03A56B.jpeg

I decided I would like to document my journey here in Denmark. Not for popularity or followers. Just for me. Like keeping an oracle. So I have made the courage and made a clip, telling the long story short. I did it today, as I wanted to start a 2023 in a brave manner. Still sleepy, I have made some mistakes in the clip but I decided to not edit and to post the entire thing because I want to look at it 10 or 20 years from now and smile .

I also realize how time consuming self-promoting can be in a new country. To make a page, to post the tattoos, to make and edit clips and photos. I often have moments when I detach and somehow feel that I do not want to be consumed by the race towards "to be known" trap. Because using too much social media can and will consume anybody. I also realize that I mostly enjoy the journey as it is, without being attached to a country or to a place. It is relaxing as I am no longer worried if this works out on the long term or not. I am mostly focused on being better in tattoing today than I was yesterday. I compete with myself, not with anybody else.

I consider to buy a higher quality tattoo machine and to invest in myself more this year. I noticed that as I am healing I love to spend more time by myself. I can be one happy hermit. I am even more selective now and I learned to say no to people that I feel I do not want to spend time with. I believe that this is important in any career: time management. To learn whom and to what you give time to. To be with people who make your soul feel good.

I hope you had a wonderful New Year and may this year bring you to a better version of yourself!

Sort:  

Hi Mary, I recently across your posts and I just have to say that you have an incredible body of work across multiple different media. You're very talented and the years of practice and creativity shine through. Thanks for continuously sharing your work with us. 😊


If you’ve enjoyed the content of this comment, the compliment, are feeling down and need a shoulder to lean on, or would like to make someone’s day a bit better, please join the FreeCompliments community. We welcome everyone with open arms. :)

Thank you so much for the kind words🤗

Congratulations @creativemary! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain And you have been rewarded with the following badge

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the first Hive Power Up Month of the year 2023!
Update For Regular Content Creators - New Yearly Author Badge
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about Power Up!
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I never thought about getting a tattoo until I read your article.
What a fascinating picture of a swallow, I love it.
It is clear from your expression that you love your work, congratulations.🌸

Thank you so much, I truly enjoy tattoing as I still feel like I am painting. The canvas is alive and the brush is different. That is it haha. Have a great 2023🤗

Wow that's amazing for just a few months in on the new journey.. I'm sure you will do great, good luck!

Thanks so much, yup 2 months. I guess that my painting skills definetely helped me in my journey for sure.

Have a splendid 2023🤗

Wow, that's amazing! Keep it going and I'm curious to see more of your work..

Have a great 2023 yourself :)

🤗

Oh yes, lots of chances, hugs🤗

Good looking work! Hopefully you'll be able to get some self promotion in without it consuming all your time. You do good work!

Thank you very much, I am working on being efficient with it aka spend very little time to do that self promotion. I must be more focused on the creative process rather than consuming time to be on those platforms. Ideally when you get known enough you pay someone to do this work. That is the goal on the long term.
Have a great 2023🤗

Wow....just wow
That is really an amazing work friend.

It looks so so amazing

Thanks a lot, I wish you a great 2023🤗

You too... Thanks a lot

Right on Mary, & those creations are so coo.

Thank you, have a lovely 2023🤗

Wow. It's been two months you have started tattooing. Your drawings are really attractive. I must say and I love the way you were smiling and blushing in a way in the video.

This post has been selected to be curated by @lazy-panda of the Hive Learners Community.

Hey! Thank you very much🤗 Yes I smile and laugh quite a lot in the video, I do that mostly when I am nervous hahaha.

Have an awesome 2023🤗