Sort:  

I am not an expert on AI. So I don't know if AI starts with a blank canvas as artists do or if it starts with an existing picture and only then adds parts from thousands or millions of other artworks to create a new picture. I don't know.

But, afaik, the current AI art generators definitely need and use other artists' works to create their pictures.

Yes, this was my impression, so it isn't creating anything new necessarily and I do wonder if this is questionable regarding copyright ownership too.

In the longer run, I see the demand and value of real work increasing.

Copyright is already being questioned. I'm on newsletters from some attorneys through work and this is definitely a topic that is being discussed. We'll see where it goes.

In the longer run, I see the demand and value of real work increasing.

That's quite possible. But I'm also thinking of those artists whose work is being used and they're a) not getting credit / money for it and b) most artists' minds are quite sensitive and seeing their artwork 'stolen' with no power to do anything about it might prove very debilitating...

For me it seems very clear if an input is taken from another artist without credit, it is stolen.

It should be as simple as that but as I understand it there are no regulations around this when it comes to AI art. But I don't need that regulation to stay away from it...