Thoughts on AI, posting, oh, and did you miss me?

in ThoughtfulDailyPostlast year (edited)

Hubby did. I'm certain of it. Why? I was traveling for business, went to our US headquarters on the outskirts of Chicago and I was busy, tied up in meetings morning to night - not joking. When I returned home and the Uber driver dropped me off hubby awaited, kissed, and hugged me out on the porch. Also, there were flowers everywhere in the house waiting for me. Dark pink roses by the entrance. Some lovely mixed flowers on my creative desk and more roses on my nightstand. High five for my hubby (and flowers)!

Hubby is a keeper and I'm lucky to have him

IMG_4915.jpg

IMG_4874.jpg

IMG_4914.jpg


I'm also lucky to have all of you who have not given up on me yet despite my stretches of breaks between posts. Earlier in January I really thought I had it down and was back to a consistent two maybe three posts a week but for the past two weeks, I haven't posted and only commented very little. As mentioned I was traveling and after my return, I needed some serious relaxation and time away from monitors (*the computer kind, not my little pet monitor*), so I started digging out my acrylic paints again. That was actually triggered by a series of posts by @ erikah about her endeavors in *pouring acrylics*. I will have to try this soon as well, I like the abstracts you can create with this technique. For now, I simply painted this (*a how-to post will be coming soon*)

IMG_4855.jpg


Coincidentally, this was also the time AI-everything really hit me. For a few months, I read about AI-generated images with Midjourney and Stablediffusion and all the others. At that time I was very curious about it, new technology is fascinating, and now with going mainstream and all of its possibilities. But as an artist, I was also somewhat annoyed that artworks of real artists were being used to generate new works of art and that some AI-generated art is not labeled as such but being presented as, hmm, real (for lack of a better word) art.

Around that time I was invited to a new Hive game's Discord server to possibly help with their art. While I was in their artist/writer channel the game's creator entered and proclaimed how within a few minutes he had created images with an AI art generator and how everyone could use those images for their posts or whatever they wanted. The writers in the channel were cheering upon this news which on the one hand I get but on the other hand - I don't. I basically went MIA in that channel.


Only a week or two later, the next AI-driven tech hit the news. Now ChatGPT, AI-written content, blogs, articles, and even whole books are the next big thing - or maybe they're already old and there's something else new(er)? This again hit home, because I'm a blogger, not a writer but how much easier would it be to let the content be written by AI instead of ourselves finding the right words for our ideas? Fascinating, yes, but also

In my mind, cheating. And cheating irritates me, a lot.

This is my long-winded way of saying that I didn't blog because I was mulling over the dilemma of why should I bother making an effort to create content?

Somewhere I read that there's hope that if AI can do things better and faster than humans, humans will have more time for things they really care about like family, hobbies, etc. That would be great but - what if art/writing is their hobby? And how are humans going to make money to live that life if AI is doing the work they used to do? Aren't we AI-ing us out of business? It reminds me a lot of the industrial and digital revolutions. Humanity survived and humans thrived after or during those. So maybe the times we're living in now will someday be called the AI revolution. Who knows...

For now, even though AI can paint and write better and definitely a lot faster than I can - should I really bother painting and writing? My answer to that is: YES. For one I enjoy the art of creating art. The result may not be as beautiful and appealing as AI art but it is mine. Same with my writing. I enjoy sharing my creations and thoughts in my personal way and therefore I think

This blog will continue to exist with the same flawed writing and painting

(And possible breaks here and there.) How about you? What are your thoughts about AI-everything? Really, AI already is all around us. Just google 'best AI apps 2023' and you'll be amazed to see that you're probably already using AI. Siri, Cortana, Alexa, etc. they're AI-driven as well as translators, Pandora, Spotify, and Netflix all use some sort of AI and there are so much more.

And that's it for my ramble of the day thoughtful daily post.

I hope you're having a great weekend!

Cheers,
(Ocean)Bee

p.s. Sharing a picture/joke by my hubby:

image.png


divider.png


Unless otherwise noted, copyright for all photos, dividers and gifs ©Oceanbee|ImagesByCW

divider.png

Sort:  

Fascinating, yes, but also In my mind, cheating.

You tell 'em! :D

I still find it interesting to see how the images and text and generated even with all the flaws ( like hands with 8 fingers), but it it will not replace a real human take. Not soon I hope...

That's exactly my dilemma. I find new tech fascinating and it interests me but I also feel that there is a certain 'wrongness' about it with respect to art.

LOL - yes, hands and eyes - they are proving to be hard even for AI - hahaha - which reminds me that I forgot to add this photo/joke by my hubby, may have to edit the post:
image.png

Hahahha :D

Am I right in saying that AI can't create an image from scratch? It needs to use the work of others to make it?

I am not an expert on AI. So I don't know if AI starts with a blank canvas as artists do or if it starts with an existing picture and only then adds parts from thousands or millions of other artworks to create a new picture. I don't know.

But, afaik, the current AI art generators definitely need and use other artists' works to create their pictures.

Yes, this was my impression, so it isn't creating anything new necessarily and I do wonder if this is questionable regarding copyright ownership too.

In the longer run, I see the demand and value of real work increasing.

Copyright is already being questioned. I'm on newsletters from some attorneys through work and this is definitely a topic that is being discussed. We'll see where it goes.

In the longer run, I see the demand and value of real work increasing.

That's quite possible. But I'm also thinking of those artists whose work is being used and they're a) not getting credit / money for it and b) most artists' minds are quite sensitive and seeing their artwork 'stolen' with no power to do anything about it might prove very debilitating...

For me it seems very clear if an input is taken from another artist without credit, it is stolen.

It should be as simple as that but as I understand it there are no regulations around this when it comes to AI art. But I don't need that regulation to stay away from it...

I don't like AI art or writing. It's lazy in my opinion and I don't get how a person can stand back and go, hey, look what I did, and be proud if it. Pressing a few buttons on a computer doesn't make one an artist or writer.

I wonder if humans will be happy when they have made themselves redundant and their brains obsolete. The sad thing is, the answer is probably yes

AI is dumbing down humans, and yet some who do it think they're clever.

Nutbags.

I recently downvoted a Nigerian user as he was using AI (admitted it) and was presenting himself as an expert on everything. He even came back at me with the quality content argument. I removed the rewards from his whole week at that point.

Nutbag. (Him, not you.)

Bring on your flawed and infrequent posting I say! Well done for that.

100 % agree. This running with the herd, getting on every new trend, and in the process and long-run quite possibly hurting ourselves scares me and is making me sad and furious at the same time. But that's what humans do.

That Nigerian user admitted it and then probably got mad for being downvoted, right? Nutbags will be nutbags and money rules it all... Sad...

I'll stick to being my highly flawed nutbag-self.

Did you see that matrixology comment on my post here? Seems to be a new bot trained on the AI tag? There are lots of AI lovers here and I'm sure there are good uses but...

It's a problem, not just the AI, but the way humanity are so willing to degrade themselves, render themselves obsolete...there's many examples of it. Sad and scary.

That Nigerian user admitted it and then probably got mad for being downvoted, right? Nutbags will be nutbags and money rules it all...

You got it in one...Give the girl a donut! They ignore me for a while, just in case the annoying Australian doesn't have fortitude and will go away...He does though, and doesn't go away. That's when I zero out a week of rewards and then, surprise, they take note. Idiots.

Yeah, I saw that. A lot of AI afficionados here...It'll ruin the place even more than it is already.

Ignore you?! How can they, if they follow you which I assume they do, they'll see you every day and should know that you're active all over Hive. Seems real stupid.

Yeah, I wonder what will become of blogging, guess we'll see as long as we stick around.

Sometimes some good old fashioned downvoting is required to get people's attention. I don't mind.

The only ones I ever downvoted were those a-holes that were cheating in photography contests last year. But they moved out their money and left.

If everyone exercised their downvote, there'd be far less scammer here...but it seems to get left to only a few.

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much, @ewkaw and @qurator Team!!

Congratulations @oceanbee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 40000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 45000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


I appreciate you taking the time, to either use my TAG, or post in my Community. There are plenty of them to choose from. So...

Thank you!!


Wes...

You're welcome and thank YOU for giving us this space and prompt 😊

You are right