Skincare Mini-Haul: Trying Out Chemical Exfoliants For The First Time

20220906_145009.jpg

Chemical exfoliants have been all the rave in the last few years but I've been too scared to try them out. It didn't help that they had 'acids' in their names and I read about the harmful effects of over-exfoliating. I've stuck to my good 'ol physical exfoliants that have served me quite well but I decided to be brave and try the chemical route for the first time.

I chose to get Beta Hydroxy Acid (BHA) for exfoliation and to help unclog my pores from deep inside as I have oily, acne-prone skin. It was interesting to find out that salicylic acid is also a BHA because I have used a face cream containing salicylic acid before and it was just awesome.

20220906_145208.jpg

I got shopping and I chose The Inkey List BHA. It contains 2% Salicylic acid for gentle exfoliation and unclogging of pores, and 1% hyaluronic acid for hydration. It's said to be best for blemish prone skin and that it reduces blackheads and breakouts.

Since I was in the shopping mode, I decided to get other products I since wanted so I added a serum - Good Molecules Niacinamide Serum. I've used two types of serums in the past that were effective in toning my skin and clearing hyperpigmentation, so I was willing to give this a try with all the good reviews I saw.

20220906_145147.jpg

I also added Simple Purifying Facial Wash for acne-prone skin and Simple Hydrating Light Moisturiser because I was almost running out of face moisturiser.

This haul was so exciting because they were all brands I had never tried before and there were two new products that were entirely new to me - the niacinamide serum and the BHA. I had read that both are a great combo for clearer skin so I'm really curious to see its effect on my hyperpigmentation.

20220906_144828.jpg

I used them yesterday and they felt so good, my face immediately felt supple which I totally loved, and they were both so lightweight. I'll use the niacinamide daily and the BHA 2-3 times a week and watch out for changes.

I like how they feel already but let's see how much difference a bottle can make. Another exfoliant I'm considering is the mandelic acid, I also want to get Corsx Snail Mucin essence but I'm holding off on both for now.

Do you use chemical exfoliants?



Discord - wolfofnostreet#4939

Twitter - wolfofnostreet_

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @wolfofnostreet ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I like physical exfoliants but it's not something I use on a daily basis, the simple products are very good, I used a gel cleanser but it's hard to find in stores these days, I also had acne problems and the cerave cleanser helped me a lot and use sunscreen to prevent the marks from being deeper, the combo looks great I hope you soon have the results you are looking for

I've heard a lot about Cerave cleansers. I'm considering getting one that isn't drying at all. This Simple purifying one I got is mainly for acne and I don't currently have any acne so using it every time is not necessary as it's slightly drying.

Sunscreen is really the OG of them all 🙃

the combo looks great I hope you soon have the results you are looking for

Yeah, they all work well together currently.

Thanks for reading 😊

the cerave sparkling wine is great, I bought mine several months ago and it's still half full, another very good thing is that you don't need as much product, although compared to other brands it's a bit expensive, but it's really worth the investment.

That Simple cream I have already tried and I liked it a lot, however, it doesn't do anything extra, it moisturizes very well, but only that and in the end it gave me pimples so I stopped using it, then I tried the "rich" version and I liked it much better, even though I have oily skin. I hope your experience is better than mine.

Regards ✌️

Oh wow...sorry about the pimples. I quite like it but so far, I prefer it for night time use. Using it during the day together with my sunscreen makes me oily. I use my nivea face cream instead during the day time.

Maybe that way it would have work better, it's a great idea. Thanks a lot 😍✌️

Congratulations @wolfofnostreet! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 8000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 8250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day

Chemical exfoliants are great!! I’ve tried those facial scrubs before, it turned out “good” on the first try until I realize it was irritating my skin and well, scrubbing the most sensitive part of the body is actually a bad idea. I recently just started doing skin care and wow it really made my skin look really healthy and hydrated. What you have is what I will say complete set (unless you have some other problems to solve) and they all have done really good on my face. I like the glycolic and mandelic acid for exfoliation and I have yet to see the effects of my cleanser with salicylic acid. I hope your skin will become a lot better after a few weeks!

Physical exfoliants can be harsh. This chemical one feels so good, I'm not sure I want to go back to scrubs ever 😅

I hope your skin will become a lot better after a few weeks!

I hope so too! I got some hard spots.

I think it (physical) can also destroy the skin barrier or something like that and I’ve read chemical exfoliants are always the best. :D

I'm loving it already