LIVING ALONE MADE THINGS DIFFERENT

in Hive Naija13 days ago (edited)

Red Abstract Income Money YouTube Thumbnail_20240422_232314_0000.png

Image source

When I got into the university in 2017/2018, I kind of felt independent, you know, being away from home under the roof of my parents and all. However, the truth still remained that it wasn't the true definition of independence. Obviously, my parents were still very much involved in so many things concerning me. I had to depend on them to get food, money, payment of fees and other things. Even when I started business during my first year at the university in pursuit of independence, I still let my parents be in charge of some things because I didn't want to drain myself. I started my business then with a loan and I couldn't afford to mix my business money with my personal money so I couldn't really depend on my profits to take care of myself. Also, I started my business with a loan back then so I couldn't afford to mix my profits with my personal money. Moreover, it was more than okay to still depend on my parents then; I was still a small girl, a baby girl in fact.

I didn't really get to live on my own until I got to 400 level and then some parts of my final year. In my first year, I stayed in the school hostel and in 200 level, I lived off-campus and I had one roomate. In 300 level, I had another roomate and we stayed together all through that year and some parts of my fourth year in the university. Although, I had been doing some things on my own without involving my parents before then. My business was doing better then and I was already getting making some decisions about a lot of things. I didn't fully depend on my parents as well, I even paid my school fees on my own once.

Getting to finally live alone actually felt very different but in a very good way. I felt like an actual adult or like a working class infact, lol. I was doing things on my terms and I did most things without involving anyone else. My business was doing a lot better at this time too and I had some side hustles, so I didn't really bother my parents before paying most of my bills. I felt fully in charge of everything in my environment, including my personal space, and it was quite a defining moment for me.

I made decisons that I trusted and was ready to face the consequences that came with it, because I knew it was my personal decison and not one influenced by another person's opinion. I had less distractions, I was more organized and I was growing gradually. I think I really love the idea of staying alone, you just automatically and unavoidably have to take care of and handle many things on your own. This was a time I felt really independent and in full control of what goes on around me.

Thank you for reading

Sort:  

Oh wow, I admire this about you because even as at the time I started staying alone, I really couldn’t do things on my own
I would always just find ways to involve my mom in all my decision making

#dreemerforlife

That is totally okay too, it's a gradual process actually.

Thank you so much for stopping by

You’re welcome

Being in school doesn't mean that one is fully independent as you will still need your parents' full support to sort out your bills.

Not until you're through with school and start living alone your own either in an apartment or self- com. That is when you get a taste of what it means to shoulder some responsibilities, just like in your case. You begin to think out of the box and practice some life-coping skills while thriving hard to survive.

Exactly ma, being independent puts a lot of responsibility in one's hand.

When you feel that independence stage, you won't have to rely on your parents to do things for you but taking the decisions on your own, making things happen by yourself. That is when I see people growing into their self.

Yess, it is quite an empowering stage in a person's life.

One needs that lone time to truely discover hidden potentials

Yeah, actually.

 12 days ago (edited) 

Living on your own has many advantages, truly. And I love being on my own. The down side to it for me, however, us fending for myself most of the time or even cooking for myself. Omo. Anyway, I have been entirely on my own since my final year now. The best thing about that is that my parents don't have to worry about me much.

By the way, I am curious. Is there a reason you don't use InLeo? I see you use the leofinance tag, which tells me you don't mind some Leo curation. For now, curation mainly goes to those that use the InLeo UI. If getting around it is the issue, there's a guide made for you.

So, I just went through the guide now and it was very detailed, thank you so much. I will be using the inLeo frontend now, I think I can find my way around now. Thank you so much for that guide once again,

 7 days ago  

You're welcome. I see you're using it a lot more now. That's excellent.

That's nice, your journey to independence shows you are a good planner especially the business acumen you used while still in first year.
Bosslady🥂

Aww, you flatter me. Thank you so much for your comment.

Living alone for the very first time is sure a defining moment, it comes with taking full responsibility for yourself and a lot of personal space.
I wish you well in your business, endeavor, and hope that it even grow bigger.

From a #dreemerforlife

Amen, thank you so much.

I remember wanting to leave my parents house when I was in secondary school. I just couldn't wait to get into the university. Guess who's been craving holidays every now and then to come back? Mee😂
Being independent is a nice feeling but for people like me, we always end up falling back on our parents to make some decisions 😂
#dreemerforlife

I totally understand that😂 and it's entirely normal in fact.

Living alone did help you work more on yourself. It's also good you are business oriented and I pray it gets bigger and better.

Came in from dreemport.