Let's scrap off cake presentation from wedding ceremony

in Hive Naija18 days ago (edited)

Greetings everyone!

I've attended many wedding functions, both in my neighborhood and outside it. Most of them have been cool and entertaining, but some have been less enjoyable, leaving me hissing all through the event.

If I had my way, one function in a wedding ceremony that I would like to permanently ban is the cake presentation. Oh my God! Whenever it reaches that part, I always plug my headphone and increase the volume to avoid hearings all the fake show, yeah, I mean the fake, crammed and well rehearsed speeches and singing.

I used to think I was the only one who found it uninteresting, until I posted about it on my WhatsApp status. A lady commented, applauding my suggestion to scrap it from wedding ceremonies. I was surprised to see a lady displeased with it because I thought it was something women liked. However, she said the whole drama is unnecessary and time-consuming, that she would prefer to use the time to dance and get sprayed than putting up the fake lovey-dovey show. Lol😅

In case the cake presentation is different in your city, let me describe how it's done in the weddings I've attended.

When it's time for cake presentation and cutting, the cake designer comes out, grabs the microphone, and starts singing a well-rehearsed song, which is probably the same song used in all the cake presentations for the particular person.
The singing is often off-key and irritating, lasting for minutes, and even when the performance is subpar, people still clap.
After the song, the cake designer turns prophetic, offering prayers. While praying isn't bad, it becomes problematic when they start praying strange prayers that people cheer for, such as;

  • "All those gathered in the coven to cause trouble in this marriage... Holy Ghooooooost Fireeeeeeee!"
  • "May anyone planning evil against this couple not see the day they give birth, let the fire fire from the middle of heaven fall down and consume them"

The crowd responds with enthusiastic amens (Ameeeeeeeeeeeeeen!) louder than you'd hear in a large church auditorium.

Next comes the feeding ritual, where the couples feed each other amidst comments like, "Let's see how he's going to feed her when they get home." This part is not just talk; under the instruction of the cake designer, the couples go through the feeding process, which can be time-consuming. The man sits while the woman cuts the cake, gets a drink, and then feeds him, followed by the reverse.
This whole process of cake presentation can take up to an hour, sometimes even two if the cake presenter is very lousy with too many unnecessary talks.

When it's my turn to get married, I'm going to bribe my wife to skip the cake saga altogether. Let's just cut the cake, spell out "Jesus" or "Love," and get back to our seats so the party can continue.

For the married people that passed through this stage, did you like it or or you frowned at it and just did it because it's a normal ritual on wedding ground? Tell me, I'd like to know.

Thanks for reading.


This is my entry to Hivenaija prompt of the week

Image 1

Image 1

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

😂😂😂😂😂 that fire from middle heaven got me cracking up Sha.

But it is what it is bro, another part you skipped is where the designer would start to explain the significance of each cake ingredient, as if we are dummies.

I think most couples like the hypocrisy if not while would I show the world that I'm kneeling to serve him cake and wine when I know that I won't continue that trend at home. It baffles me but when you have yours, you can opt it out.

think most couples like the hypocrisy if not while would I show the world that I'm kneeling to serve him cake and wine when I know that I won't continue that trend at home.

Jesus!
I think I need to edit and shake this table very well. This stage sucks!😅

Thank you for stopping by
!BBH

@beckyroyal! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (1/20)

😂😂 please do o

😂😂😂😂😂
Before reading, I started laughing. You fit a comedian, I guess that's why you made you April fool post on first April and making this one again on first May. That woman that would love to dance and get sprayed, what if the people in that were supposed to spray the money wanted the scraping scene first. She would have dance and not be sprayed.
Nice story bro. Thanks for sharing.

Hahahahah!
Either ways, doing another thing is far better to that cake cutting stuff.

Thank you for stopping by bro
!BBH

@captainman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (2/20)

To think that it's your topic that dragged me here
Na now your wife go drag you for wedding ground beat you....

How you you talk say make we scrap wedding cake out... Something were the beautify the marriage....

Infact I d come your wedding, don't forget to invite me oOoOO my guy...
You're going to start from your wedding day and scrap the cake... Make sure there's no cake oOoOO...

Wait for me
I'm coming

Hahahahah😅
I know ladies like it.
I know they like it because it's just so an unnecessary talk with time wasting tactics just the same way they waste time while dressing up for parties 😅.

You said you want to come for my marriage? What if it's you I'm gathering dowry money for?😎

!BBH

@mmenyene! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @kingsleyy. (3/20)

🤣😂😄😅🤪😜😛🤣😂😅
Lwkmd 🤣
Gathering Wetin?
For who?

It's you ooo!
Or they've collected you too?
They've done small thing on your head??

Even though them never do anything....

Both of us never even do talking stage
What If I be winch

Oh,
Let's start talking stage right away.
I'm knocking the door to your DM already, go and check.

Winch? Recruit me to your kingdom please

I won't
I need someone that will value wedding cake

Congratulations @kingsleyy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024
 17 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif