Pepper - Fighting for Time In This Thing We Call Life

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Pepper's Story Continues ..

With TERRIBLE news. To tell you the absolute truth, I don't feel like writing anything. I don't feel like posting anything. I don't feel like doing much of anything at all. After a phone call from the critical care vet hospital tonight, I retreated to my home studio.

IMG_7050.JPG

I sit here in the quiet, away from any distractions, reflecting on the last 14.4 years of my time with him. All sorts of things are going through my mind. Memories of all of the good times. I sit and stare at his little bunk bed and at my feet (where he would be found if he were home). I need the solitude to process my thoughts and determine what life will be like without my little buddy around. I begin to cry as the thoughts flood my head. I need to do it. I need an emotional release and desperately need the relief from these thoughts, that only a good set of tears helps bring about. Sometimes I try to be too strong and have a hard time bringing them about. My head is sore, I have a knot in my throat, and my eyes are burning something terrible. I cry it out and it's over for now.

IMG_7082.JPG

I took that moment for myself and my head feels better. I reorganized my thoughts to tolerable ones and know I need to speak to my wife about what I fear most.. Pepper not returning home. If anyone feels the same way, it is her. If anything, we want him here at home to live out what time he has left. We want him to die in our arms and not on some cold steel table around people, sounds, and smells he is unfamiliar with. I want him to die around those who love him most; My wife, Molly and myself. That's what I want for Pepper. A proper ending to a GREAT life.

Back Tracking ..

Pepper was not feeling well for a few days. He became lethargic, wobbly on his feet, stopped eating, and became depressed. We took him to our regular veterinarian for a check-up and blood work. The results of the blood work came back and things were not looking good for the poor guy. They suggested that we get him to an emergency care facility as soon as possible. He needed fluids and 24 hour care. We immediately took him on a 45 minute drive to a local 24hr care facility, where we had a grueling and emotional filled 4 hour wait to be seen. After he was finally admitted, we were told that due to his critical condition and blood work results, expect he will be in there care for several days.

1599756278.jpg

His Prognosis ..

As of tonight is uncertain. The emergency care doctor explained to my wife and I that he has advanced stages of Chronic Kidney Disease, and that it can not be reversed. We have to painfully wait and see what happens next. We are waiting on test results for various things, for his blood numbers to improve, for him to respond to the IV treatments, and for him to eat. There are a lot of uncertainty's and a lot of waiting to come. If he responds to the treatments and his blood work improves, then there stands a chance that he make make it back home to Molly, my wife and I. This is exactly what we are praying for.

IMG_7075.JPG

If you could here me now Pepper.. We know you have the STRENGTH to fight this and get HOME to us. We LOVE you and miss you so very, very much. It's not the same happy home without you here.

Thank You For Letting Me Vent ..

I didn't want to write anything, this depression is killer, but I am glad I took a few minutes to do it. I feel much better now that I got that all off my mind into words. I apologize for the depressing rant. Thank you for the support and for the thoughts and prayers, if you can spare them. I will try to post an update once we get any news otherwise.

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

IMG_E1717.JPG

“The worst type of crying wasn't the kind everyone could see--the wailing on street corners, the tearing at clothes. No, the worst kind happened when your soul wept and no matter what you did, there was no way to comfort it. A section withered and became a scar on the part of your soul that survived.”

― Katie McGarry, Pushing the Limits

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Oh .... what a pity!
I cry with you and it's true!
I understand you!
Once upon a time, my boy named Terry also died from the same disease.
He was almost 17 years old ... and he died in the clinic under an IV drip when I took him to the next procedures, and the next day I had to pick him up ...
We bought him when he was only a month and a half ...
I still miss him, although more than 10 years have passed ...
And every time I said to myself: if only I knew that this was his last night. I could not take another puppy after him.

With this disease, you can only prolong life for a while, but not cure.
And, unfortunately, this disease is detected only when it is almost late.

And on March 1 of this year, my cat Slavik died, again from kidney failure, at the age of almost 11 ...
But this time I felt that this was his last night.
And so I told the vet that after the dropper I would pick him up.
He died in a few hours in my arms.
But he died at home, in an embrace, in love, and he is now next to Terry.

I prayed for Pepper. At this time, you direct all your thoughts to ensure that he returns home.
God grant that it was so, and when Pepper returns home, then pray for an extension of his life.
You did the right thing in writing about it.
I also shared my grief in my posts. After all, it is such a pain that it is difficult for her to fit inside ...
People who sympathize with you and understand, who love animals, they will wish your beautiful and very sweet boy a return and prolongation of life.
Come back home Pepper, where you are very much loved and expected!
Strength to you!

With this disease, you can only prolong life for a while, but not cure.
And, unfortunately, this disease is detected only when it is almost late.

I am so sorry to hear about your loss of Terry and Slavik. Unfortunately Pepper's life did end in the same way. Thank you so much for the support and the strengthening comment 😌

!ENGAGE

Strength to you!
I felt your pain, I am very sorry for you, I was very sorry for Pepper!
I like animals a lot.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Saying prayers & sending positive energies for your precious Pepper's strength and his recovery even if it is only to come home where he needs to be with his beloved "pack" for the rest of his life.🙏🐶🐾

I had a similar kidney diagnosis with my sweet Sasha back on June 23, 2018, and my family decided it was not time to put her down. After extensive research I found several proactive things to incorporate into Sasha's twilight days. She lived until January 22, every day after June 23, 2018 day a blessing - especially that one last Christmas.

Please keep us updated! @bdmillergallery

even if it is only to come home where he needs to be with his beloved "pack" for the rest of his life.

It's very comforting to think of it in this way. Thank you for the support and I am so sorry for your loss of Sasha. 😥

I didn't want to write anything, this depression is killer, but I am glad I took a few minutes to do it.

I hope he is able to make it home one more time. I am glad you were able to write something. I will miss him and hearing about a little bit of his day. I do not think I will ever forget that picture of him looking out the screened window and how much it looked like a TV screen he was watching.

I am happy to know I got to meet him and that you took the time to share him and Molly with us. Even though I have pets of my own, it has been fun seeing and reading about Pepper and Molly and their life.

I do not think I will ever forget that picture of him looking out the screened window and how much it looked like a TV screen he was watching.

How about it. I never would have thought about it that way and you opened my mind to it. Makes me smile thinking of him sitting there enjoying whatever was happening on "TV". We are happy he DID make it home, even only if it was for a few hours. Thank you for always being so supportive and taking an interest in them. 😊

awww man, this is so tragic. Makes me sad even though I don't know Pepper. I hope he gets to come home, even if it is just for a little while. :(

He did get home, as you already know, and we were glad it happened that way. Man how 14.5 years go bye in a blink of time. 😌 Thank you for the support buddy.

I only hope and pray Pepper to re-join your family soon. Hang in there guys and keep your faith strong.

Thank you for those kind and supportive words. Much appreciated 😌

Hi Brad, losing a loved one, especially a 'fur baby' is always painful, and there is no help for that but to endure.
It may not be what you want to hear, but if he is truly as bad off as it sounds, you might consider getting the sedation shot, bring him home one last time, and let him die peacefully in your arms, in no pain.
Many vets will do that now, show you how/where to administer the injection.
Like I said, you probably didn't like hearing that.
I wish you and your family comfort and solace during this time.
Be well @bdmillergallery 💔😥

Thank you for the support, advice and well wishes Jerry. It is nice to have support from friends like you.

I'm so sorry. It sucks to lose a beloved pet, really sucks.
I hope he makes it home to you.

It does "Suck" .. amen to that. Thank you for being here in our time of need 😌

My thoughts are with you guys and Pepper. We had a cat who had kidney failure and she responded to medication and iv. We injected her subcutaneously with saline 2 to 3 times a week for about 6 months. She recovered and lived another 3 years. Don't give up hope. ❤️

Posted using Dapplr

Wow.. 3 years is awesome! We are sad that that wasn't the case for Pepper.. Just too far gone by the time he showed any symptoms. Hope is still a vital thing in the recovery process though. Thank you for being here for us and the kind words 😌

So sorry... .I know it's painful.

{{{ hugs }}}

It is.. and Thank You for the kindness.

I'm sorry. Prayers for your little buddy 🙏💗🙏

Awe.. thank you for the hugs, prayers and support 😌

I pray for the sweet and cute pepper!

Thank you for those prayers 😌

I'm really sorry for this situation. My prayers for Pepper.

Thank you for the concern and the prayers. I appreciate the support.

Ohhh Pepper! This is trully sad, I will pray for him, I surely hope he will get through this. It must be hard for you, 14 years is a lifetime..... All of my support for your during this difficult time, I wish him to be better and be back home with you! Try to stay positive, I know it must be hard. A big virtual hug! 🤗

Thank you for that hug and the prayers. It was and is a very sad time. I want to thank you for the support and kind words 😌

For nothing! I trully wish you all the strenght in the world, you need it! You're not alone in this and you'll always have the support of us, the virtual Hive friends, in rough times! 🙏

That is comfort all in itself. 😊

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 39000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports meetups of the Hive UK Community

Thank you! I'll be there soon I think 😉

You're welcome @bdmillergallery👍🙂

Not what we were hoping to hear. Very hard news. So sorry.

Not at all. Thank you for the support 😌

Oh, Brad! I was hoping you were going to have better news about Pepper. Just know that he is in my thoughts and prayers, along with you.

xo

Thanks Denise. We appreciate the thoughtfulness, prayers and the support your giving. I wish I had a fun post and not a sad one to write. 😌

Awesome article.
What's your opinion about the fact that we have to wear protective masks to enter stores?

I think that this comment is spam and is NOT relative to the content of my post. If you had actually read my post then you wouldn't have been so disrespectful toward me and those who care. I think your tasteless, and pathetic comment, in my families time of extreme sadness deserves my down vote. I would actually read the post next time and before you bother writing a comment.

i don't know why you assumed that my intention was to be disrespectful toward you. i asked that question because i care about people. i found that masks also have side effects. i'm curious to know what people think about masks, since they are a reality that also has negative effects for everybody' health.

The comment was in poor taste my friend.. Try logging on to a discord server and chat with people about it. If it's not relative to the content, then I would suggest not leaving a comment. I lost someone special to me, and you ask me about a damn mask! I'll be muting you now. Thank you.