Musing Moments

This is just liable to be pretty jumbled. I have a few things I’m thinking of, and they are all over the place. My mind can be a dangerous and confounding place.


Source

I’m just really glad to see Major League Baseball back in the public eye. The world seems better off when there are box scores to check every morning. The smell of fresh cut grass is such a strong memory with me that I swear I can smell it watching TV.

That said, I wonder if I am deluding myself in thinking that the 2020 baseball season is a good thing. In the case of professional athletes the circles of contact and contagion can get really large really fast.

I’m wondering if a little ‘harmless’ national delusion in a time of pandemic is a good or bad thing, and how far we can carry our delusions.


Source

A couple of years ago I conscientiously made time for me to be able to read every day. I’ve read a lot of fluff and a fair amount of ‘higher class’ stuff. I really think reading is good for me mentally and improves my writing at the same time.

I made a pledge to ‘re read’ John Steinbeck. I finished his whole catalog by the time I graduated High School in 1969. What started as an experiment to see what his impact on the older me might be is looking to be a full time obsession.

OMG. I had forgotten (or never realized) how terrific his writing really is. The prose is just magnificent and the choice of words is exquisite. I started with Tortilla Flat and I am completely in love with reading for pleasure. Again.


photograph courtesy of the author

The bread machine isn’t anywhere near mankind’s great inventions. We have an elaborate mission to Mars leaving this week for God’s sake. But for a casual bumpkin like me, it’s pretty darn cool.

I throw some miscellaneous stuff in the thingy, plug it in and hit the button. Two and a half hours later my house smells terrific and in half an hour I can have a nice thick slice of fresh bread slathered in butter. Life is truly good.


photo courtesy of the author

Our minimum temperatures are completely out of control this year. We’ve had something like 17 days in July over 90f (32.22C). What does that have to do with a ‘65 Thunderbird?

I had to postpone a chance to get my hands and a screwdriver on my friend’s Bird. The brake lights aren’t working on anything like a regular basis. It’s a safety issue so I get to find and fix the problem. But it’s just too hot to work on a car even before the sun is up. Uggh

23 and Me not only found my birth family this year, they put out a study on the genetic consequences of the slave trade in the Americas. It’s not pretty, but probably worth reading, the article is here.

Here’s my feeling on wearing a mask during the CV19 pandemic: It’s simple courtesy for my fellow humans. Wear the damn mask in public, it works. And thank you from another traveller on this journey.

Want to do something fun on Hive? Take a swing at@galenkp ‘s Friday Engagement Party or whatever he calls it. It’s a chance to be totally silly and engage with a whole bunch of equally silly hivers. All in good fun with a chance to win some Hive.

Well, I’m not empty, but that is representative of what’s stirring around in my brain today. Thanks for reading it through.

You want some really cool stuff? Check these authors, they will not disappoint.

@morkrock Music Games Stinging Politics. Don't go here with thin skin.

@soyrosa Great Photographs and Insights for us All.

@sultnpapper Truth Teller and Poker Player.

@jangle Because Jangle A great writer and serious hustler.

@tarazkp Great writing and lots of it!

Power_House_Creatives__night_mode.png

Sort:  

Smell of baking bread makes one wait in anticipation to lather that butter on and enjoy a cup of coffee!

Your heat just sounds yuck! I am not looking forward to summer here either, yes wearing a mask going out is needed, another thing not to look forward to during summer...

Cars brakes will have to wait for cooler months, was it going anywhere in a hurry? Of late rambling through ones brain, old stories, memories, books has been an adventure hasn't it!

Have an awesome day!

!BEER

Really the only disadvantage to baking bread is the smell the last half hour :) I am like Pavlov's dog.

The mask in summer is not so bad. No fogging of my glasses from it now!

Yeah. Erv and I postponed again tomorrow. Sigh. It's not so much the car (though I love working on it) as the time I'd have gotten to spend with my friend. It's the down side of the precautions we both take....

Thanks for stopping by Joan. Always appreciated.

Worked at a bakery, smell drives you mad, then end of day a fresh loaf to take home. Train travel those days, reading a book and nibbling the crust... well enough said!

Fogging up is a permanent feature here, staying away from family and friends is what is getting most down over here as well.

Quite the mix today, and post like these are really needed from the "author " stand point to "clean up" as I like to call it. Little things that wouldn't merit a dedicated story but are just quick little things worth mentioning. I enjoy these both as a reader and when I write them.
Nicely done Tom.
Sult

Thank you. I just couldn't get started this morning. I'd be thinking of one thing and another would pop up. Not a single thing of consequence, just random thoughts.

A friend sent me that article on slavery this morning. As bad as it was here in the US the article REALLY points out some bad spots in the rest of the hemisphere.

I am going to take a gander at that in a little while, right now though I have some work I need to tend too. Just been killing a little time right now at lunch.

Nice post to air the brains as it were. I don't know how you can stay awake through a baseball game though.

The very best thing about baseball on TV is there is no special requirement that you stay awake for the whole thing 😂

Thanks for stopping by. Always appreciated!

In the case of professional athletes the circles of contact and contagion can get really large really fast.

off-field antics? ;D

The 23andme article might be a good read, thanks!

Huh. Off-field antics is part of it. But there are always people around that want to take just a little of the 'shine' from top athletes. Their circle is just bigger than normal folks for the most part.

I found the article very interesting. Some conclusions that I would not have suspected-and I've studied it some.

But there are always people around that want to take just a little of the 'shine' from top athletes.

I have a few friends who back in the day were pro hockey players. There are some very creepy "fans" around.

Humans are able to justify all kinds of cruelty against each other if it will earn them a buck. These days, we don't even nee the dollar, just a digital like or a star.

Humans are able to justify all kinds of cruelty against each other if it will earn them a buck. These days, we don't even nee the dollar, just a digital like or a star.

Damn. That is so correct and so sad at the very same time. Sigh.

Hi friend, good reading, be happy, we are expecting wonderful times.

Thank you! I'm at least hoping for wonderful times.

We can not lose hopes, keep going.

Baseball. Oh, baseball. It just continues to break our hearts year after year no matter what. But I still love it. And you.

I know. This year might be really heart breaking for more than the normal 'another year without going to the World Series' sort of things. I really hope it isn't.

Yes. I was in no way comparing the two. It's sad for way bigger reasons. That was just me trying to be funny. :)

I thought it was a great answer on more than one level :)

Speaking of things that break our hearts I just saw this in a NYT article:

The researchers looked at backyard rinks in the Original Six N.H.L. cities — Boston, Chicago, Detroit, Montreal, New York and Toronto — and found a steady decline in the number of days when the weather was cold enough to make ice and skate on the rinks.

Toronto saw the greatest reduction in ice time. In the winter of 1942-43, the first year of the Original Six era, there were close to 60 days when Torontonians could expect high-quality skating conditions in backyard rinks. Last year, there were about 20.

Sigh.

Well that's just depressing. :(

Oh that bread machine....I had to take a break from using ours. Too much of a good thing I guess, lol Fresh bread wafting through the house is truly a treat. Enjoy! Stay cool and healthy!

Yes. I worry about my waistline. Not excessively, you understand 😂

Staying cool is relative, but I'll do so and try to stay healthy too.

Thanks. Really appreciate your stopping by.

I'm looking forward to tonight where I can dive into the article. Reading in the middle of the day is a no can do today.

Galen's place is an always fun place to be. I enjoy his wit and the contest is really taking off. I still like the bread machines, although I let it do everything except bake it. That is where I take it out and put it in my oven. All the hard work is done, although I have let it go full cycle. :)

Random thoughts and wisdom. You are full of it, always. Thanks, Tom and have a great day. BTW Washington, DC has had 26 days in a row of 90 and above... We have seen more 94-99 than I ever remember.

!tip

Awwwww, thanks Denise.

Here and now I do most anything I can to NOT use the oven on my range. It just heats up the whole house and my AC runs plenty without it. I may try some hamburger buns mixed in the machine this week. I've been wanting to try that...

I can't say for sure that I liked the article, but I certainly found it interesting.

God. 95 degrees in DC has to be just miserable. A few years ago I hit Memphis at about 11:00 am, and planned to spend the day. I pulled into the big riverfront park and it was 98f and 98% humidity. I lasted less than a half hour and headed north to find the rain. It was almost more than I could take.

OHhh! now that is just gross! :) Mississippi was like that too - and Louisianna! The big yuck!

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.


Hey @bigtom13, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The entire world seems to have forgotten there's an pandemic going on. They are chilling already. I wonder how devastating it could turn into if unchecked. And if nothing happens on a grander scale, we will be far less serious when the next pandemic hits us.

Congratulations @bigtom13! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4750 replies. Your next target is to reach 5000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs

Here’s my feeling on wearing a mask during the CV19 pandemic: It’s simple courtesy for my fellow humans. Wear the damn mask in public, it works. And thank you from another traveller on this journey.

It is so good to hear this, rather than grown folks whining like children over masks! 🙄

I clearly remember when those T-birds turned heads in the 1960s! That's a lovely color on that one, and I hope you get a break in the heat wave and can tinker with it soon! 😊

The only catch to reading your blog is now I want fresh bread...! 😋 😁

Well, fresh bread is a pretty easy craving to fill. What can I say?

We talked about trying to fiddle with the bird this morning because it's a safety issue (there are a couple other things that can wait til fall) but it's now ppd indefinitely.

You will get this. It's named Bucky Bird after the Mascot at Wisconsin. Erv displays it with his letter jacket draped over the front seat. He got his first letter in Wrestling in 1965.

Hi, @bigtom13!

Nice to meet you.

I usually don't read personal-related posts, let alone about thoughts swimming in a person's mind, but this one caught my eye as you managed to build them into a story. I found it pretty fun.

I have also spent my time reading, and also writing. It took a pandemic for me to do that hehe.

Anyway, It was nice to run into you. I enjoyed reading this.

Ahahahaha. My mind can be a scary place, even for me. I have a new friend that is a big time book reviewer. We are going to do some sort of review on Tortilla Flat. He's reading it for the first time, and it had been probably 55 years for me.

Thanks for the wonderful comment. Made my day!