Do not disturb

20210804_201251 (1).jpg

"Let us read, and let us dance; these two amusements will never do any harm to the world." - Voltaire


I've been somewhat distant lately; unusually closed off and absent. I've been unapproachable and I've been withdrawn. Uncommunicative? Yes that too. Some might say unapproachable...And they'd be right because...

I've been reading

I've written before about my love of reading and recently have been rereading a series by one of my all-time favourite authors, Raymond E. Feist. Yes, rereading.

It was French novelist Francois Mauriac who said, "If you would tell me the heart of a man, tell me not what he reads, but what he rereads," and so...I'm telling you, The Riftwar Saga by Raymond E. Feist. That's the reason I've been a little closed off lately; I've been delving into the worlds of Midkemia and Kelewan upon which the story unfolds. I make no apology for burying my head in books though, not to anyone, as it's one of my great pleasures in life and I deserve it.

Do not disturb

I stopped short of creating a sign with those three words on it for my office door at work however I really wanted to. I actually don't like closing my door in the office as it sends the wrong message so I had to resort to my death-stare-face when people came in - They'd see it, stop short, then flee for their lives. You see, I've been so engrossed in the books I've been reading in my office over my lunch break which is something I'd normally not do. I'm totally lost in Feist's world most of the time and I can't seem to put the books down for very long at all.

Of course at home it's silent, no office-workers to bother me; just tea to make, cookies to eat and my books; that's where I've been doing the most reading. Oh, my cat Cleo is never far from me either and she's great reading-company...Sleeps most of the time and comes for cuddles every now and then.

Last night I began the last book in the trilogy although right before I did went onto bookdepository.com and ordered the next three books I'll read - It wouldn't do to be left short of something to read although with many hundreds of books in my library at home it's unlikely I'd ever be short of something to read in truth. They'll arrive in time, a week or so I guess and I'll be unavailable all over again.


I understand that so many people prefer audio books these days, podcasts and reading on devices like the kingle or kimble or whatever it's called. Not me though, I like pages to turn and the comforting smell of paper and ink. Having said that I guess as long as someone is happy to read, and actually does so, then it's all good.

So, I'm off to read shortly...Cup of tea, a few biscuits and the words of a great storyteller to help me pass the next three or four hours. But first...I wonder what you're reading right now? Feel free to tell me in the comments, and if you're not reading anything tell me what you might like to read, or why you hate reading...Look, just comment, I value your positive engagement no matter what it is...The do not disturb phrase doesn't apply to you.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Thanks for your writing. I love this post! I understand your feelings because I am also a person who is usually lost in the world of the book. I feel calm and even live another life with each book. It is actually great feeling.
Currently I have been reading the book about French culture. I am learning French then I really would like to know their culture better to use the language. 😊
Have a nice reading time!

Hey there, thanks for your comment.

I love France, been a few times and have had an amazing time on each occasion. I speak a little, but not well really. It's cool you're learning to speak it. Have you travelled there and if so where? If not do you have any plans to travel and where would you go?

My pleasure. I haven't been there but I hope that I will come there soon. I also can speak French in basic level. I thrive to master it in the future. Nice to hear that you love France too. And If I travel, I prefer Bhutan and Europe (especially Denmark). I have watched a lot of videos about Bhutan and Denmark so I am really into them 😊.

You wouldn't go to France?

I will certainly because I learn French and l love French cuisine too ^^. But I am impressed by Bhutan and Denmark for traveling once.

I'm sure you'll get there at some stage.

Absolutely 😊

Oh! Yes, you read fantasy!

I also like fantasy. I often read the novels of the Russian writer Maria Semyonova.

She writes wonderful novels in the genre of Slavic fantasy - "Volkodov", "Valkyrie", "Swan Road".

These are novels about ancient Slavs, Vikings and Varyags.

Yes I do, however I read many other things as well. I've not read any Semyonova, does she write in English?

No, she writes in Russian...I really liked her novel "Valkyrie"! It looks something like a saga.

Ah ok, I'll never read it then. I only know one Russian word. Vodka.

Lol.

Водка! 😁 🍷 👍

Lol...Do you reckon I'd get by in RU if that's the only word I know?

Oh yes, yes!
Galen, when you come to Russia and you tell the first passer-by at the airport that word "Vodka," the person will feed and drink you and take care of you.
You’ll be best friends! 😁

I can work a little harder and tell the community about this novel... a little plot, a little personal experience...
It’ll be like a review of "Valkyrie".
Can I do that?

Book reviews are often done. I'm not sure the LIFESTYLE community is the place to post it but feel free to do a review if you like.

Weekend Community.
?

It reads to me like a poem or a poem, but it is very brave someone who is wise in reading a short story :)

Reading is enjoyable to me and so I do a lot of it. I guess in reading so much I've become a better writer also.

Thanks for your comment.

That's right, I agree with you, there we can learn many things, the point is that reading is important.

👌

I love Raymond E Feist ... been years since I have read his books.At present I am reading a spy thriller by Stephen Leather. Nothing spectacular but still relaxing for me. I spend a LOT of time keeping up with blockchain projects and this is quite taxing .... so pourung a glass of wine, putting a record on the turntable and my book is a great a treat which I look forward to each evening .... when it is not my turn to prepare dinner that is.

I know people who see reading as a chore and it doesn't compute with me as I find it so relaxing and enjoyable; its escapism to me. Feist is a great writer for sure and is still releasing books even now years after his first. One of my favourites for sure.