Think like a Viking: Part ten

me for a moment (16).png

Go you must. No guest shall stay in one place for ever. Love will be lost if you sit too long at a friend's fire.


Reading the Norse Sagas and Edda's around the fire in my long hall whilst sipping mead from a horn-cup always brings me value and relevant meaning; I thought to share some.

I don't actually have a Viking long hall, but I have a fire and mead so it works. Either way, the reading is valuable. Also I'm putting together a fleet to go raiding in Britain so need warriors and shield maidens; if you're interested apply below in the comments. I'm serious, it's happening. I've got a reliable man on the inside laying the foundations for conquest so success is assured. No health benefits included but if you die we'll burn you on a pyre, so all good. original im src


This week's Viking quote

Go you must. No guest shall stay in one place for ever. Love will be lost if you sit too long at a friend's fire. The Hávamál

I really like this quote. It's challenging and has the power to make one feel uncomfortable...And often uncomfortable is exactly how one needs to feel to achieve a task or goal, especially if it's difficult, as it can inspire one to take greater action, find hidden reserves of endurance, strength and perseverance - I mean physically and emotionally here.

The quote isn't about lost love or overstaying one's welcome in my opinion, it is about exiting one's comfort-zone, pushing boundaries, expanding ones paradigm and setting goals and plans to carry one forward to them. It's about accepting that failures happen but understanding those failures provide valuable information on how not to do something so one can strategize and plan then move forward in new ways towards better results.

Humans get complacent, that old if it ain't broke don't fix it mentality which can work in respect of things but if a person has goals to achieve then action is required - forward momentum must occur - otherwise one stays in place and goals can't be achieved. Staying in place, not taking effective action, won't bring goals to fruition. It doesn't matter how hard a person wishes or hopes a particular thing to occur, with no positive action it simply will not. I think this is where the quote above has value; it prompts one to action.

I recall way back in the early days of my current career I was attending a training session with a notable sales-trainer from interstate; there was around thirty people in the room, a mixed bag of people I worked with and strangers. The trainer was talking about how complacent people can feel hiding behind their computers, emails, phones and other non-contact methods when working with clients. It's comfortable he said, doesn't put people at risk of awkwardness and rejection and is easier to accept - it's not the best way to win clients though or to drive positive results.

He talked about getting a little uncomfortable, putting oneself at risk of actually winning some work by doing so. It's a simple concept; reward for effort...And then he proceeded to do a little experiment.

The trainer, one of Australia's best, unfolded and held up a $100 note above his head and announced that to secure the money all someone would have to do something totally uncomfortable and unusual that would push the boundaries of ones paradigm. Who wants it, he said. He said it with a look of evil intent upon his face.

No one put their hand up to volunteer. He stood there with the note above his head and looked around the room. No one budged; in fact most tried their best to sink into their chairs and hide. Those in the room showed their discomfort and no one seemed willing to go ahead and take on that uncomfortable task, to put them selves at risk.

He offered the money again.

Here's the money, $100 for the taking, for the person that is willing to to do something unusual, awkward and uncomfortable. The evil grin got more evil and he held it in front of him offering it to the room.

I was up the back watching the others squirm around with discomfort at the thought and in my mind thought, fuck it, how bad could it be? I've done difficult things before and I could use a hundred bucks!

I stood and walked to the front of the room to the muffled sounds of laughter and few whispers from the others; they thought they were in for a show watching me get humiliated to earn that $100.

I got to the front of the room where the trainer-chap stood and he looked at me grinning with that evil leer...I stood before him, reached out and...took the $100 note from his hand. He let it go, smiled and nodded. I slipped it into my pocket and returned to my seat much to the chagrin of the others in the room.

You see, the uncomfortable thing was simply to get up and do something, take action, that may gain some sort of positive result. In this case $100.

The uncomfortable, awkward thing was to take action when it seemed easier not to, indeed safer not to. There's less chance of failure, ridicule, harm or whatever may result if one doesn't take action...But little reward.

Sometimes taking the first step can be the hardest; the fear of failure and it's implications hold people in place. In my case I decided the $100 was worth whatever the trainer may have dished up to me. I was willing to accept the discomfort for the gain; reward for effort. It was a great way of proving a point.

By the way, on the way back to my seat the others in the room were grumbling that they did not get up and take the money - Yeah, they lost something, a result, simply through not getting a little uncomfortable, staying in place due to fear or laziness and putting themselves at a little emotional risk...The trainer continued with his session and asked the question, how much sales revenue have each of you lost simply by not standing up and getting a little uncomfortable.

A powerful lesson I think.

Go you must. Yes, I agree. Move, take that first step. Take action because action creates reaction.

No guest shall stay in one place for ever. Also yes. Time moves forward perpetually and if we don't move with it we get left behind. This is ok if we're dead of course, but I assume those reading this are not. If one wants to get things done, achieve desired results, one needs to move.

Love will be lost if you sit too long at a friend's fire. Taken literally I agree - One can overstay one's welcome with others...But in the context of this post it means that nothing will be gained by staying in place, inactivity and not moving goals forward; indeed much can be lost, or never gained, through sitting still, lack of action and effort.

There you have it for another week; the Vikings teach us valuable lessons once again. I think this quote is just as relevant in business, sports, relationships and life in general. Sure, if you don't wish to achieve anything that's ok, you don't have to do anything, but I'd bet that there's not many on the planet who don't have something to achieve, even in just the smallest way. Embracing the reward for effort ethos and a few simple principles like ownership, responsibility and action, getting after it, can pay huge dividends.

This is how I've chosen to interpret this quote today however I'm sure there's other ways to see it and if you would like to give me your opinion below in the comments I'll be really pleased. Agree with me or not, it doesn't matter, just get involved.


Skol.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Ha! Pefect.

You seem the type to stand up and go get that $100 bucks; am I right?

More than likely. Enough seminars has taught me well.

I never attend these days, little point in it...Unless I'm forced of course. I don't even go to the social things. We have a big black-tie gala-awards thing coming up soon. I'm a finalist for some stupid award and yep, not going!. Lol. I'll be home snuggling with Cleo (my cat) and reading a book.

I still go from time to time, but have seen enough.

Go to the gala. Step out of your comfort zone and just do it. It would surprise everyone you work with. Sometimes breaking tradition is fun.

I used to always go but I just can't bring myself to do it. It seems so fake and egotistical. I have no need for that type of boost, I'm comfortable being me as I am...I'd rather an accolade coming from a client; a thank you for helping me, comment means more than a plaque with my name on it. In the last twenty years I've been to many, so I know what to expect from the night - Admin girls with too-small dresses on, wankers self-congratulating, people getting drunk, too-loud music, ego and hubris.

Pass.

OH!!! I have been there! ;)

I promise Cleo will wait up.

Yeah she will, but I prefer her company and the peace and quiet of home to a bunch of industry wankers all there to celebrate their own magnificence. In the past I've had to go but now...Well, I'm more intolerant of situations that don't provide any value to me. I'll turn my phone off too, so no bugger can ring me and tell me I won. 🤪

I really love this post, it's great. Quite inspiring. While I was reading it, I had a funny suspicion that all you had to do was go and take the cash, especially when you mentioned people were already uncomfortable squirming in their seats hahaha.

Well done on the award nomination. The award gala does sound rather pretentious. I think Cleo will be well pleased that you chose her company over that of the party goers, maybe you should send a representative from your team to accept it on your behalf.

:) I never asked! Did you win?

Bahahahhaa nice XD

I would never have been in the same situation as the type of work you do is the type I avoid like the plague, but had I been in the same situation I would have done pretty much exactly the same thing (either with a mirroring evil grin or an apology or politely requesting it be handed over depending on my mood at the time) and then I would have felt really bad afterwards and handed it back x_x

I maintain I am more knucklehead than you XD

That was a pretty epic lesson, I guess it was a pretty safe example for the guy as he'd only lose it sometimes.

Well, in my like if work I guess one needs to take it when it's there so that's what I did. I also didn't feel guilty. Reward for effort. And I'd paid $2000 to be in the room. Lol.

We're equal knuckleheads.

Oh in which case I guess he could afford someone to take that $100 off him XD

I would have still felt bad, I'm the worst capitalist ever

You're too kind. I was happy to alleviate him of some of my money. 😁