Rosemary & Black Pepper STEAK NIGHT with Cheesy Chilli & Mushroom Sauce

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Copy of Steak it easy... 1.png

“Screw chocolate. A good steak is where it’s at.”
― A.D. Posey

There are few quick dinners that can top a deliciously rare steak - not in my opinion anyway! They are one of the simplest and quickest things to prepare and are oh so tasty! I normally keep my steaks quite simple, but on occasion I like to dress them up quite a bit and this rub is without question one of my absolute favourites and it pairs absolutely fabulously with the mushroom and chilli sauce.

I am not a fan of buying "pre-packed" anything! So when it comes to the sauce (whatever it is), unless I am feeling PARTICULARLY lazy, I will make it from scratch. This one is a cheese, chilli & mushroom sauce. It is a "combo" sauce because as any good woman and mother would - I try to keep EVERYBODY in my family happy! Some of us like cheese, others mushroom lol - Thankfully, all the flavours marry well, so its a "win win".

Making the sauce is really as easy as ABC, so if I am honest, there is no excuse for me to occasionally buy packet sauces..lol Right, so first things first... let's get to the sauce.

Melt a tablespoon of butter in a pot... In this instance I added the ground pepper and chilli sauce (which is a homemade one, so no additives or rubbish in it!) One of my moms age old secrets for ANY base sauce (which is now a staple when I make sauce), is a half a chicken stock cube. I put this into ANY sauce that I make these days and it just adds that "wow factor" to the flavour profile! Whatever your choice of additional flavouring for the sauce, in terms of herbs and spice... now is the time to add it!

7.jpg

As I added a mushroom flavour to this sauce - I sauteed some white button mushrooms separately in a pan... Whilst brown mushrooms are more flavourful, I find they tend to make the sauce "grey" in colour, so I stick to the white mushrooms. Mushrooms hold a lot of moisture naturally, so I A) don't wash them (yes I am still alive and kicking lol) and B) sautee them for quite a bit longer than say an onion.... as for the most part they tend to "boil" a little in their own moisture in the beginning... but when they look turn nice and golden then they are good to go!

12.jpg

13.jpg

Ok - Back to the sauce... whilst the butter and spice etc. is busy melting I get the grated cheese ready. A nice handful is about right... The butter and spice is now melted and ready for a tablespoon of flour. Use a whisk for this part and do it quickly! Add the flour and whisk briskly. It turns to paste very quickly and also burns fast if you leave it for even a second.

8.jpg

9.jpg

You need to have the milk on hand for this part... before the butter mixture burns! You can use cream, but on most days I either forget to buy cream or feel like too much of a cheapskate - so I generally just go with milk. lol! Add about a cup of milk and continue to whisk! You can always add more later to thin the sauce - but re-thickening it is not always as successful! lol

Keep whisking.... as the mixture heats and gradually reaches boiling point, it will thicken - but again... if left unattended for even mere seconds it will burn on the bottom... so now is a good time for those arm exercises ;)

Once the sauce is a nice thick consistency, remove it from the heat and add the grated cheese. NEVER add the cheese while it is still on the heat (we all know what happens to overheated cheese) and also, do not add all the cheese at once as it will cause the sauce to cool down too quickly and it will struggle to melt.

10.jpg

11.jpg

Once the cheese has melted and blended with the sauce into a nice creamy consistency you can add your deliciously sauteed mushrooms and stir them in... The sauce is quite "stodgy" right now, but like I said - thinning it is a lot easier than having to thicken it again ;)

14.jpg

That is the sauce done and now time to prepare the steaks. The rub although simple in ingredient, is exceptionally tasty! All you need is some barbeque flavoured meat basting mixed with a little olive oil, a handful of fresh rosemary diced and ground salt and pepper. Cover the steaks in the basting sauce and olive oil combo and then cover them with the rub ingredients.

5.jpg

4.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

Heat the "griddle pan" for about 30 minutes before placing the steaks on. I like a VERY RARE steak, so two minutes per side normally does it. Some people might argue this point, but I generally prepare my steaks an hour or two before we eat them because it allows you to get everything done in advance and when entertaining this is a major advantage. I cannot STAND still being busy in the kitchen when my guests arrive - and ANYBODY who has "dined" at my house will know well, that EVERYTHING - is ready to go, well in advance. But, apart from that - meat also needs time to rest - and doing it this way allows for that.

I cook the steaks almost bleu and then I just "zizz" them for a minute in the microwave before serving. It doesn't at ALL affect the texture or flavour of the meat and having slightly under cooked them allows for that "re-heat minute" - nobody is the wiser I can assure you!

18.jpg

With the steaks done and resting, you have time to prepare the sides - whatever they may be. I went rather easy on the sides, because the steaks are filling and the sauce is chunky and rich... So a small ramekin of spiced cous cous with added veg it was... Accompanied by a baby spinach and kale salad.

16.jpg

17.jpg

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

Copy of lifestyle  inspirations.png

text15.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED
LIKE OUR FB PAGE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER


Created by @derangedvisions

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

Ohhhhh. There's a dinner I could get behind. Or maybe more correctly, right square in front of :)

I don't typically do anything to steaks except let them breathe for a while, it's just how I am. I have 3 different rubs made up and ready to go for other cuts, but steaks...

I love the look of that sauce. I make a con queso (cheese) sauce that's pretty warm and used for dipping tortilla chips and what ever else might be around in. I like the way you made your base, and I think I'll give that a try during football season when it's a bit cooler.

Thanks Jaynie. I appreciate it.

There's a dinner I could get behind. Or maybe more correctly, right square in front of :)

HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

I'll give that a try during football season when it's a bit cooler.

Do! It is a great base for ANY additives. Quite rich, yes... but I have no issues with that - especially when it accompanies a steak, because the steak, sauce and even just a small salad is a meal on its own.

!tip

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Looks spectacularly delicious ;)

Dankie Skat xxx !tip

🎁 Hi @robertandrew! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

mmmmmmmmmmmmm...😋😍what a delight, and what creativity...

Thank you sweetie x !tip

🎁 Hi @hivemania! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

This looks really yummie! Reminds me I shall take a little bit more effort in cooking, too much take out lately. NJOY the rest of Sunday.

Thank you! :) Cooking is GREAT therapy lol.

Absolutely! Yesterday I found myself trying a new recipe: Thought I would be done in bit more than half an hour: Turned out to be two hours. Needed to fry my marinated chicken, instead of the wok... Something I missed when selecting the recipe. Good that I'm not a cook in a restaurant or something hahaha

This looks and sounds delish !

hehe thanks :)

Congratulations @jaynie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

This food is looking yummy

Thanks :)

Oh my you did so many on this dish! The sauce looks delicious! Another master chef piece from you Jaynie!