The Flicker Haven Farm Files-Salve-Making Season

in Homesteading5 months ago


IMG_1196.jpg


Flicker Haven Farm Files page divider.png


This year I am taking Christmas off. With all my health issues, I find I just don't have it in me to do all the things I usually do every holiday season.

For many years I have done everything from being in parades, organizing parties, sung in an acapella group, and let's not forget all the holiday hoopla that encompasses one's family around Christmas.

This season I just don't have the energy for it.

But there is still one thing that I did have energy for. One thing that brings me joy is to make gifts for all of the people I love out of the things I produce here on the farm, and this year I produced a surplus of calendula.

So, all the folks whom I adore this year are getting little jars of homemade calendula lavender salve. I mean, winter is the season of cracked hands and dried skin after all, and nothing says soothing like the application of some lovely salve.

IMG_1182.jpg

So, for the last couple days I have been infusing the dried calendula flowers that I harvested and produced this summer into a mixture of olive and coconut oil. Instead of the standard 6-9 weeks it takes to slow infuse the oil, I got out my trusty crockpot, filled it partly with water, placed my canning jars full of oil and flowers into the water, and kept the whole thing at between 120-140 degrees Fahrenheit for about four hours. Oil infused.

I then made a double boiler out of some pots, measured out oil, added some grated beeswax, and steamed it until it was melted and combined.

The last addition was some lavender essential oil we distill right here on the homestead.

I also might have slathered more than a fair bit of the salve on my carcass too, because I just love the stuff.

At the end of a pleasant couple of days homecrafting, I now have a couple dozen jars of lovely, skin-soothing salve for my peeps. I also planning on baking a few things, and that's it. That's all I am doing this year. It feels rather, freeing.

For far too long I have put far too much on myself and am paying the price. The hard part is I absolutely adore giving to people. My time, my creations, my hospitality. I love to make people feel at home and valued.

But the one person I have been neglecting is, well, me. And this year I am going to give myself the gift of a much needed breather. Already I am feeling a positive difference.

Which is a good thing, because this next year is going to be a banger! (More on that later!)

IMG_1183.jpg

But for now, for this month at least, I am truly embracing the peace that comes from letting all of it go and just basking in a spirit of gratitude and healing. Cause those a good things indeed.

Well, that and prodigious applications of salve😉


Flicker Haven Farm Files page divider.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's now in calendula and lavender scent iPhone. The text divider image was made in Canva.


Sort:  

I am sure your salve will be well received at this time of year. Best take care of you first, so the idea of doin* less might be a good one.

I am totally thinking it may have been one of my best ideas! The struggle not to do all the things is real though, but I really am appreciating this restorative pause as I like to refer to it!

Hope you are feeling excellent and rested too!

!PIZZA

I'm glad you are at peace with not doing everything this year. Sometimes we need to just give ourselves a break. I have been terribly tired recently, never waking up rested, always wanting to just go take another nap. I think it's SAD getting to me once again. I have been using my happy light and taking the Vitamin D, but I'm still dragging along. Bah humbug!

Well drat, I was hoping that you were actually getting some rest and feeling at least somewhat dandy! This is definitely the gloomy time of year though, I am counting the days til the light starts increasing again. Hope you are having a restful, pleasant weekend😊

!PIZZA

This is really nice and I’m glad that you are healing
Keep it up!

Thanks! I'm always happy to see that you have stopped by😊

!PIZZA

What a great gift for your friends and family! But even more importantly, I'm glad you are taking care of yourself! :)

That sentiment truly means a lot, thank you so much ☺️ I hope you are enjoying some quality care of thy self time too!

!PIZZA

I made a dentist appointment that I've been putting off, does that count? ;)

Nothing screams self-care like properly tended teeth lol! Nicely done!

Kat's Christmas '23 theme song?
untitled.gif

As long as I get cool ice Princess powers then absolutely lol!

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@generikat(1/15) tipped @goldenoakfarm
generikat tipped jacobtothe
generikat tipped scribblingramma
generikat tipped phoenixwren
generikat tipped rafzat