My first time trying snow fungus and a recipe by @sreypov

So many years have gone by here in Canada when I have walked past a weird product in the aisles of the Asian grocery stores, not giving it a second look.

When I saw recipes by @sreypov one of my favorite chefs on Hive, where she used snow fungus, I had to try it. I just yearned to have a bite of her dishes. Her husband @justinparke is also a master of exotic cooking. Check out some of their delicious recipes.

They live far away in Suriname so I couldn't invite myself for dinner if I tried. The only way to try her food is to follow her instructions and make it myself.

I made snow fungus salad based on her recipe which you can find here

DSC_3064.jpg

I was certain up until yesterday that this had to be a sea vegetable. It turns out that this fungus known as Tremella fuciformis grows on trees, in tropical and sub tropical, sometimes temperate areas in the world. I can just imagine how amazing it would be to see these fluffy white rubbery things growing in a forest.

It is said to have been used medicinally for a couple of thousand years and said to treat such things as fatigue, skin health, immune health and much more. I have to discover this wonderful fungus more now that I have tried it.

I don't know anyone personally here in Canada that has ever mentioned this. Even my kitchen manager who is of Vietnamese parents has never tried it. He is the only person I know in person that is familiar with cooking exotic foods.

Apparently it is commonly made into a desert especially in China. Snow fungus soup is often sweet. This doesn't interest me so much as I am not a fan of anything very sweet except on occasion.

So making this exotic salad recipe was the perfect way for me to try it.

The recipe called for one snow fungus. When I purchased it, it was in a package dry and kind of broken up. Normally it should be like a ball. I assumed it was the equivalent of one. After soaking and preparing it, I'm not so sure. It may have been more. I couldn't believe how enormous it became.

DSC_2971.jpg
The recipe called for oyster mushrooms and dried black mushrooms. I couldn't find dried black mushrooms so I opted for fresh shitake. I only used half of these as the recipe calls for weights in grams and I don't have a kitchen scale so I guesstimated according to the photos.

DSC_2980.jpg
I mixed up the sauce which consisted of soy sauce, tamarind juice and sugar. I didn't have tamarind juice but I had a tamarind concentrate which is quite liquid. The amount I added was the same as the instructions.

DSC_2981.jpg

I first sauteed the garlic, and almost burnt it as I looked away. If you do this keep your eye out. It was a little too hot.

DSC_2986.jpg

I then added the mushrooms, and cooked them down as instructed.

DSC_2994.jpg

Finally I put in all of the snow fungus which looked like much more then what was in her recipe. It did cook down with the sauce.

DSC_3013.jpg

The fresh veggies in the recipe were an assortment which I had all of except long peppers and cabbage. I forgot to get cabbage in Chinatown and the store across the street only had huge heads for way too much. I skipped the cabbage and used lettuce that I already had.

DSC_2975.jpg

At the end of cooking I tossed everything together.

DSC_3017.jpg

The recipe called for the addition of crispy glass noodles. I have never done this before and was a little nervous that it wouldn't work.

DSC_2985.jpg

I was really surprised when I put them in the hot oil and they puffed up. This was exciting. I never knew you could do this. I normally don't make a habit of eating deep fried food but I wanted the whole experience. Besides it was just a garnish to add some fun to the salad.

DSC_2984.jpg

For more fun I added the suggested toppings which were peanuts peppers and green onions. She mentioned that cilantro and basil would be good too but I only had cilantro.

DSC_3057.jpg

This was a very delicious, exotic and fun dish to eat.

DSC_3047.jpg

The snow fungus had exactly the texture I imagined which was like jelly but chewy at the same time.

DSC_3048.jpg

I loved the texture combined with the crunch of the vegetables and noodles.

DSC_3049.jpg

I wasn't sure what to expect from the flavor of the fungus but it turned out to be quite neutral which is perfect for multiple uses. It takes on the flavors added to it.

DSC_3060.jpg

For me this fungus is all about the texture which I can only describe as fun. This must be why they call it fun-gus.

If you haven't tried snow fungus yet I really recommend it providing you like a variety of foods and cuisine. I know many people that wouldn't even try a taste. I can't wait to explore it much more.

If you skipped the first part of this, I remind you that this is not my recipe. Please refer to the top of the page to find more recipes by this chef.

Sort:  

Now you know it tasted, I am excited my dear friend. I am also don’t like deep fried more but I eat it sometimes. This recipe I made it with boil glass noodles more than fried noodles, I even made deep fried two times by myself but I even ate more time in the wedding party in my country. Thank you very much😊🥂

Thank you too @sreypov! I learn so much about the different foods of the world from you and Justin.

I was really excited about frying the noodles and how cool it was that it worked. I really enjoyed the whole thing and so did Marc.

Hugs from Canada!

 3 years ago  

If we're ever granted a US visa, a road trip to Canada might be in order for Hive's greatest ever potluck. One of the first cuisines I started learning was Thai, way back in my highschool days when we had to get a book from a bookstore to learn something.

It was this venture that led me to deep-frying rice sticks, and yes, I was surprised by the insta-poof as well. It's like some kind of wicked kitchen alchemy.


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

Haha it's so funny that I also learned some Thai recipes from books even though I was born in Thailand.

I want to insta -poof again for fun.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Does it taste good @carolynstahl. I hope you like my mom's food.

I loved it sooooo much yumm yumm!!!!

You and @sreypov certainly know how to tease and tantalize with your exotic vegan dishes, I remember this dish, you've really done well @carolynstahl!
I don't think I'll find snow fungus here in SA.
By the way, I finally managed to buy Lotus with the help of a very patient @blackberryskunk via Direct Messaging on Discord. She wants to help you too but didn't know how to reach out to you if you're not on Discord so I asked her to write an even more detailed how-to with screenshots/drawings right to the very end of the transaction. I still need to get a full understanding of how the trading works though.

Thank you @lizelle.

I received instructions from @blackberryskunk which I really appreciate and something different happened however I did not receive a transaction record like everyone else did.

Still stupid!

You got it right last night! I checked your wallet in peakd now, click on HiveEngine in your wallet, scroll all the way down and you'll see you transaction (plus the open orders will still be sitting there, I deleted them in Leodex as @blackberryskunk suggested). You can also buy in HiveEngine. Check her post on how to find your transaction in peakd, but this is what I saw:

CarolynStahl1.jpg

and here it is:

CarolynStahl.JPG

 3 years ago  

Now you're Hivin' - how cool that you made a recipe of @sreypov's! That reminds me, I did a similiar thing with a recipe of yours, except the outcome was a horrible picture, so I haven't posted it yet! It was a weird dish to make or replicate really haha. But this looks amazing!


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io