A Simple Way To Make An Infused Herbal Oil Salve

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

IMG_2714.jpg

Preceding Note Of Absence Explanatory Explainingness: It's both state fair season and harvest time round these parts. That I am even sitting down now is a small miracle, and as I refuse to post fecal matter posts in general, I am instead typing italicized words of lack of post regret and such. That said, I move to the fairgrounds this Wednesday, so the end is nigh!

The other day when I was on my almost weekly hike with a couple of dear friends, one of my pals piped up with an inquiry as to when I might be making my salve again. This particular friend has psoriasis and apparently the salve I gave her a couple of years ago really helps with the ailment. She went on to say that she was rationing what was left, as it was almost gone.

I know a hint when I hear one.


So, I made a note in my massive notebook of Kat get-r-doneness and told her I'd let her know when the salve was done.

Well, I finally got around to finishing the glorious balm.

Now, on the farm here I have a few hundred lavender plants, so lavender is almost always present in whatever salve or infused oil I make as I tend to have a surplus of the stuff laying about. So, I knew lavender was in the original salve, as was comfrey, as I tend to have a plethora of that herb hanging around the house in bundles too.

My mantra is KISK, as in Keep It Simple Kat. I've found that a straightforward, simple composition of high quality ingredients made with an attention to method and detail is most definitely my jam. As much as I get excited about the latest trendy herb in my reading, I just don't want to take the time or money to amass a stockpile of all the herbs in existence, when my simple lavender and comfrey salve does the trick.

I'm most definitely lazy, and that's okay with me.

Anyway, in order to make my friend some salve, I had to infuse some oil. Now, a few years ago I got a mosquito in my ear canal about how long it takes to naturally infuse herbal oil. Sometimes I am not patient, and yes, I know that is a character flaw. So, I did a bunch of research about heat and chemical compounds and extraction of properties and stuff. It was then that I started infusing my herbal oils in my crockpot.

I am pretty sure that I did a post of the method that I use to infuse my oils. I'll have to post a link to that someday. Suffice it to say, that you can put a tablespoon of dried herbs for every ounce of carrier oil into your crockpot and in a couple of hours you will have a marvelous infused oil. (Okay, you all twisted my arm, I will do an updated post of that process soon.).

Anyway, after infusing my lavender and comfrey into some Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, I strained the oil and got about to the business of making my super simple yet effective (at least on psoriasis) salve. Oh and it also works on cracked, dried out hands. My boss told me that as I tend to give out salve as Christmas presents.

IMG_2698.jpg

Sorry, I diverted. After straining the oil, I wandered to my big bathroom closet and got out my digital scale, some beeswax pellets, and a bottle of lavender essential oil. This particular batch of salve was special as it was going to be the first batch I ever made with my own farm distilled lavender EO. SQUEE.

IMG_2700.jpg

Moment of homesteader levity elapsed, I strolled back to the kitchen and got out my super high tech double boiler apparatus. I'm just kidding. I got out a small stainless steel pan and a larger stainless steel pan. I then put a couple cups of water into the little pan and placed the larger pan on top of it before turning on the burner to low-medium heat. Yes, I am a bit on the cheap side.

IMG_2701.jpg

I had 12 fluid ounces of infused oil, so that meant I needed 1.5 ounces of beeswax in order to achieve the salve I wanted to craft. If you are vegan you can use an emulsifying wax (derived from plant fatty acids) in place of the beeswax. Using my digital kitchen scale I weighed out the beeswax and chucked it into my improvised double boiler with the infused oil.

IMG_2705.jpg

Fun fact, most kitchen science things should never be hurried. I was an overheating article of daftness in my youth due to inexperience and impatience, so don't be like younger Kat and take your time melting your beeswax. What I mean is that you want to slowly heat your oil and beeswax. Dance and sing a bit while you wait. Or play with the two kittens in your house by running a laser pointer around the kitchen. Er....

IMG_2708.jpg

Once the beeswax is thoroughly melted, remove your salve from the heat and add your essential oil. Some people put in liquid Vitamin E as a preservative, but I have found that properly stored anhydrous mixtures (salves and such) keep just fine and are used before they would ever turn rancid. That and I didn't have an Vitamin E on hand.

IMG_2710.jpg

After mixing in the EO you just pour your salve into jars or tins and let it cool. That's it! Salve City! Now, you can get extra fancy and adjust your salve's consistency by tweaking your oil and beeswax ratios, the recipe I have here is really just a starting point, as every human on this spinning rock has a preference when it comes to everything. Some want a harder salve, some softer, me, I like it with some density but still scoopable, but the whole point of making your own anything is to experiment and tailor your crafted goods to the way you want them.

IMG_2712.jpg

And on that note, happy salve making!!


Infused Oil Salve

12 fluid ounces of herbal infused oil (I used a combo of comfrey and lavender infused olive oil)
1.5 TBSP beeswax pellets (or emulsifying wax)
15-30 drops of essential oil (I used lavender EO)
Glass jars or salve tins

Put infused oils and beeswax in a double boiler. Heat on low heat, stirring occasionally until wax is melted. Add essential oil and stir. Pour into glass jars or salve tins and cool completely. Store your salve in a cool, dry place and it will last from 1-3 years.


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's still somewhat salve covered and yet to recover iPhone.


Sort:  
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @stevenson7 & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you so much!!!

What a wonderful tutorial @generikat, I also really like your mantra, simple is so often the best and the oils you are using are full of amazing medicinal properties. Thanks for sharing this with us all xxx
Curated for #naturalmedicine by @trucklife-family. Come join us in in our new LOTUS CHAT - anyone can join, even without a HIVE account! Check it out here. Did you know that you can earn a badge from @hivebuzz for posting about #mentalhealthawareness? Read more details here! divider.fw.png

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail! We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and reblogs.

Oh thank you so much for such an awesome, info-filled comment! So many glorious links to check out await:)

Wow you and my mom have these skills in common and she adds her own to make organic creams to sell making her the best organic cream maker in our state. The people that are also making organic creams are impatient so they make a lot of mistakes great knowledge to get

Great tutorial Kat, but now I'm wondering, have you replaced your iPhone yet?

LOL! Not yet, I tend to keep them for a minimum of 4 years, they don't break, which considering the life I live is saying something, LOL!

Thanks Hetty😊

Curious when you will go for it, and I can't wait to see the photos from your soon to be new iPhone.

I'm dreaming from iMacs and iPhones for a long time, but I just can't allow myself to spend that much money for this. Even tho I know that especially an iMac would bring me so much joy and comfort when editing my photos. But yeah, if I allow myself to buy a Mac, then the next thing is that I allow myself an iPhone. And yeah, while I'm at it, why not an iPad too? Yeah don't laugh, I want also be able to work outside, so that's why the iPad too ... lol.

Better for me to not do that, YET! 😂

Oh, I so hear you about dreams of IMacs, I did a lot of audio-visual work at one point in the past, and those Apple people know a thing or two about making a product that excels for work in audio/video/photo editing area. I so hope you get one before long, the world needs even more of your awesome pictures!

I do have an iPad and I love it, albeit it is a couple generations older now and is starting to get tempermental, so I think we both should just get a bunch of new I stuff all the way around...

Come on Hive! Moon! lol!

Thanks for the instructions on how to make the salve.

Since I am unlikely to get around to trying this recipe, I will resort to asking Santa Claus to bring me some of this for Christmas. LOL

I feel like that is a great plan! 😁

Nice tutorial on making this!

I've featured your post in the Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published tomorrow, and you've been selected as this week's beneficiary recipient.


You've been curated by @minismallholding for Natural Medicine's homesteading newsletter, supporting gardeners, permaculturalists, foragers, environmentalists and other earth centred relationships with the earth.
CommunityIIDiscord

Thanks for sharing how some Lavender item are made. It is always interesting to see homemade stuff.
!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ijat(1/5) tipped @generikat (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

How wonderful. I so want to have my own land.
I do live near a river. I go there for some wildcrafting.
There is so much to learn.
Are there any good books you can recommend about homesteading and wildcrafting?
I'm looking for a place in the country but have had no luck so far.
I think I might need to move out of California.
Thanks for the great post!
!CTP

I love your mantra KISK! I try to follow the same too. That's awesome that you have made some salves! I usually just buy them but they are so great to have around the house.

I was even impressed to get the natural antibiotic (goldenseal) version in a salve which is good for your skin and any scrapes and grazes.

Keep on rocking ! !CTP

Great post! I may have to try this one! I recently made my own sunscreen (which ill post about also) and love know exactly what is in my products! :)

This is awesome. Thank you so much ! 😃

Another amazing post that makes me want to order some stuff and make this soon!
In fact, I will check this in the next days probably.. Thank you for sharing such an awesome recipe for herbal oil salve <3

!CTP