You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I chose the Life I'm Living - My Journey of becoming an Artist

in Natural Medicine3 years ago

I was told, being an artist is not a real job, no one can really make a living on art (unless one is unbelievably lucky), it's only supposed to be a hobby.

Yup, I hear ya! Art was one of the few things I enjoyed and even geeky reasonably good at. Creating and making things with my hands is what I love and if I'm honest I'm not much good at the things society currently finds valuable. So you be told the one thing I thought I could do wasn't anything I could make a living on was like having the light taken out of my world. Every job I've had I've always been masse to feel like I was barely worth paying for. Everyone was always faster and more capable.

You are braver than I to take this step. Mind you, I met my husband to be at 17 and there was no way he'd have taken on this lifestyle, so my choice was made and I'll live with that. My creating goes into my sewing, these days, although I still have that pang now and again that I can't contribute financially with any of my skills.

Sort:  

Ah, I don't feel so brave actually, it just felt like the right thing to do and the next logical step ^^ I felt the same as you, never really good at the "real" jobs, never felt like I fit in there.

We all have different paths and different priorities. I just think it's important to not loose sight of our well-being, to not let fear lead us or hold us back from the things we feel are right, to allow ourselves to be happy.

I can't explain it properly, but it's that magic that happens as soon as we take a step on the right path. I truly believe in that, because it happened to me. It's like the universe supports us when we start doing what we are here for.

I wish you all the best, and thank you so much for your kind words <3

 3 years ago  

It's like the universe supports us when we start doing what we are here for.

How beautifully put. I feel like I'm currently reading words that I need to hear right now. This is the second thing that's resonated with me recently. 💚

!ENGAGE 30

Ai, glad to be of help! It's funny, sometimes it feels that the people we meet are just tools for our own development <3

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.