Healthier snickers bars

This year, I’ve been working on my raw dessert skills. I do not really like fruity raw cakes, but I do enjoy other raw treats, such as energy/bliss balls, pralines, fudge, brownies, etc. One of my favorite desserts are the vegan snickers bars.

They are perfectly sweet, chewy and crunchy at the same time. I haven’t had this kind of a sweet treat for years as you can’t get the vegan version in shops (or dairy free for that matter), and I wasn’t confident enough to try and make them at home. But once you do, there is no way back. My husband loves them too, and I make them almost every other week (upon his request).

DSC_2651.jpg

I must admit that I wasn’t sure how to make them, so I checked and tried different recipes until I found what worked for me. I combined ingredients from various recipes and created my own version. I hope you will like it.

What do we need?

Nougat layer
1 ¼ cup almond flour
10 pitted dates (or 5 medjool dates)
1 tsp vanilla
3 tbsp peanut butter

Caramel layer
200 g pitted dates (about 30 dates or 15 medjool dates)
1/3 cup peanut butter
2 tbsp oat milk (or any other plantbased milk)
½ cup roasted peanuts

Chocolate coating
200 g chocolate (70% cocoa content)
1 tbsp melted coconut oil

How to make it?

Let’s start with the nougat layer. I have used medjool dates as well as normal dates and I can honestly say that there is almost no difference. I asked my husband and he said that it’s as good as ever. I use medjool dates when I have them at home but it’s quite difficult to get them where I live, so I usually end up using the normal ones. And the price difference is huge, so I leave it up to you to decide.

First, I soak the dates for about 10 minutes in hot water (in two separate bowls – one for nougat and one for caramel). I don’t soak medjool dates as they are juicy and soft.

While the dates are soaking, line a baking tray with parchment paper. I used 15*23 cm.

Once soaked, squeeze the excess liquid and place the dates in the food processor/blender. Add the almond flour, vanilla and peanut butter and blend until nice and smooth. It might take a few minutes (depending on your machine). Give your machine a break if needed and keep scraping the sides of the bowl. Place the mixture in the baking tray and use your hands to spread it evenly. Be careful as the mixture might be quite hot. Press the mixture firmly and place it in the freezer to set while you’ll be working on the caramel layer.

20200613_174106.jpg

Place all the ingredients (except of the peanuts) in the food processor/blender and process until smooth and glossy.

20200613_174639.jpg

Remove the baking tray from the freezer and spread the caramel evenly on top of the nougat layer. The mixture is very sticky, and I find it easy to spread it with wet hands as it doesn’t stick that much to my fingers. I’ve tried it with a spoon or a spatula, but I prefer to do it with my hands.

20200613_174913.jpg

Once done, spread the peanuts all over the caramel layer.

20200613_175525.jpg

As you can see, I didn’t have enough peanuts, so I added some pecan nuts. You can add whichever nuts you fancy. Be creative 😊 With your fingers, press the peanuts in the caramel and place the baking tray in the freezer to set. I usually leave it in the freezer over night before I coat it in chocolate.

Remove the baking tray from the freezer and place the big snicker bar on a cutting board. It should be very easy as it’s firm. Slice it as thick and as long as you wish and coat it in melted chocolate mixed with melted coconut oil.

20200614_155403.jpg

I store mine in the freezer as I’ve noticed that they never freeze completely, and you can eat them directly out of the freezer. If you wish to have them little softer you can store them in the fridge for about a week. But I’m sure they will be gone by that time.

Thank you for visiting!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Excellent.

wow this snicker bars looks delicious... thanks for the recipe, gonna save this now so I can make them in them sooner or later haha ^^

haha, let me know if you would ever make them :) They are really good! :)

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @porters.
I love your food posts - so delicious and nutritious! Thank you for these healthy alternatives to some of our favorite treats!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We'd love you to enter The Movement Challenge, which you can read about here. Win HIVE and LOTUS!

Thank you for your support! I'm glad you like my recipes :)

Oh amazing!! I'm not a sweet eater and don't really like sweets much, but these could tempt me - esp with a strong black coffee on the side.

Wonderful recipe!

I also prefer savory but like my homemade sweets too as they're not too sweet. This might sound sweet because of the dates but it's not :) It's really good and I'm sure that you would love it with your strong black coffee :)

Oh my.... those look so amazing!!

Thank you! I'm glad you like them! :)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for your support @ewkaw! :)

My pleasure :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
 4 years ago  

Omg, I'm going to have to make some of those! Thanks for the recipe :D

Thank you! I'm sure you'll love them!

This sounds interesting ... I have been making vegan oatmeal cookies at home since the pandemic began, and they are so good I have been looking for other recipes ... this looks like a lovely one!

Thank you! I'm sure that your cookies are delicious too! :)

 4 years ago  

Sure beats one from the store!!!!! Such a good combo of flavours and looks easy to make too. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! It is very easy to make if you have a powerful blender/food processor. If not, then it requires a little bit patience but well, it doesn't need to be perfectly smooth anyway, so yes, it is easy to make :)

always love your snack content! they are so delish, like this one too :D plus many of them are affordable and simple.

That is so nice of you to say! Yes, I try to make it as easy and affordable as possible :) It doesn't need to be super expensive and complicated to be delicious :)

Have a lovely day!

Agreed ! You too, have a lovely day :)

 4 years ago  

Over here drooling! I have a freezer full of juicy medjool dates and love anything with peanuts/peanut butter so I might have to give these a try soon. In the summer heat I can't think of a much better chocolate treat. Except maybe some of these chopped up over a bowl of nice cream...

How delicious it looks. Congratulations great job! You have a new follower.

....

This post was chosen by @artemislives for our Earth Healing Curation #12. Check it out Here.
CONGRATULATIONS!! and thank you for creating wonderful, original content on Hive.
Please share and support our curation, and share some Hive-Love to the other posts selected too.

EarthHealing Footer 2.png
EARTH HEALING is a Natural Medicine project which supports the regeneration & healing of Mother Earth on HIVE

Snickers are a great bar for the hunger and these look amazing. I wouldn't mind trying them out.