My search for Health: Missing pieces of the puzzle and how I might have found a way to solve it

in Natural Medicine4 years ago (edited)

I feel this is the start of a new era for me - which is why I wanted to write an introductory post before I'm losing this moment in the search for the smaller puzzle pieces I'm expecting to uncover in the next few months.

In short:

  • I've started a road towards getting 'healthy'
  • I might be interested in becoming a therapist/healer myself if my road towards health is as effective as I believe it might be

Becoming unhealthy


Basically I'm now starting to realize this all might have started from birth onwards, but let's go back to the end of 2015, which my more regular readers will know as 'the moment where it all went wrong'.

The very very short version is: I made a wrong step while descending some rough edged stairs while traveling through Russia. What was supposed to be a 9-month travel sabbatical became a 'did something wrong on day 3 and only accepted after day 60 that traveling wasn't possible anymore' kind of experience.

Ouch. My and my boyfriend went home, where we didn't have an apartment anymore as this wasn't supposed to be a short trip, and I went on a long journey towards searching for a diagnosis that made some sort of sense.

I have been dealing with limited mobility since:

  • I can walk 1000-2000 steps each day, with 'only' a few hours recovery time needed
  • I can walk 5000 steps every other day, next day needs recovery
  • Once or twice a year I'll be 'able' to do 10000 steps but at the end of the day I'm crying from pain and I know next day I won't be able to go to the bathroom by myself amongst others

The cause of this all is a splintered bone which is scraping/damaging the cartilage from the next bone, and since cartilage is basically unable to heal itself (? at least according to my regular doctors and surgeon) I'm screwed while waiting for the joint to get damaged more and more over the years. The damage is inoperable: the placement of this particular bone is so deep in my foot there are no surgeons who even 'dare' to try to reach this bone as potential secondary (and just as or even more painful) additional bone damage is too big of a risk.

At the age of 28 I learned this was 'it': one unlucky moment would leave me with mobility challenges, probably even worsening ones, until old age.

The first missing piece of the puzzle


A misstep can happen. Right? That a piece of bone had damaged which meant I couldn't walk anymore like I had done before is just what it is: bad luck.

Things started to make less sense when I noticed my other foot, the one that was supposed to be healthy as I hadn't done anything 'wrong' with it, started to hurt too. On the exact same place, in the exact same joint.

Some doctors visits later and it was confirmed: cartilage damage/arthrosis in that foot too! But how? Was something else causing these problems? How can both joints be affected while one was supposed to be from 'trauma' and the other from 'random unknown causes'?

That fact, where I didn't get answers from the regular doctors, started to plant a seed in my mind: there must be something wrong in the systems of my body instead of this single point of focus.

The second missing piece of the puzzle


In the years after a few other things happened to my body:

  • I experienced pain in my fingers - sometimes so bad that putting on socks was hell
  • I gained weight (made sense right? I was moving way less!)
  • I lost the beautiful curls in my hair, instead it became easily damaged

I tried to talk everything right: gaining weight while moving less made sense, losing curls was a given according to my hair stylist, I was already going to be 30 years old soon?

But the pain in my fingers wasn't something I was willing to accept. So I went to the doctors again, trying to find out if I maybe had a rheumatoid disease. To make a long story short: I didn't, they recommended having silver rings measured on all my fingers so I couldn't bend them as much which would lessen the pain over time.

Another half answer, I thought

I wore the rings for a few weeks off and on but I instinctively knew it wasn't the right thing to do: those 'mobility supports' only make a person use their joints less which is never going to strengthen them. They were also falling off whenever I actually wanted to use my hands, so they ended up in a drawer to never be used again.

Note to self: sell the silver and buy HIVE with the proceeds! :D

I just felt like again I hadn't gotten a really satisfying answer from 'the doctors' and been given a half-solution. Probably something that would help me in the short term, but not in the long term.

The dozens of other missing puzzle pieces


I have such a long list of physical challenges I've had to deal with starting from puberty (which is probably hint 1, that it all started when hormones flooded my body):

  • Pain in feet with normal use, causing a lot of frustration during PE classes in all 6 years of my secondary school but more and more walking became a chore that limited me
  • Lots and lots of back pains, which I needed to go to therapy for from the age of 16 while not being able to sit through school exams and later during University years adding a lot of stress during commuting by train (would I be able to get a seat for the 20 minute ride or not? Would I get scolded at again if I took the seat that I was supposed to give up to someone else because I looked so young so I couldn't be unhealthy?)
  • Cartilage damage in my knee in my early 20s
  • Head aches of the suicidal sort for a full year when I was 25 years old

Again, summarized, but this short list of things doesn't sound like a healthy body to me - and although I was searching through a bunch of therapists from all sorts for answers I never found them.

First steps towards a solution?


When talking to a friend last New Years Eve he was talking about going to a certain natural therapist who measured some food intolerances and found a few items he had to avoid. His reason for going was sudden adulthood acne he wanted to get rid of, and after avoiding certain food items he ended up with a clear skin and a bunch of energy he wasn't even aware he had lost before.

I started researching natural methods of healing - again. I had done so before but not all therapists imbued me with trust. Although I'm very much open to natural forms of healing I DO love science. So I was searching for a therapist who could point me towards a form of natural healing based on science.

And there it was: Orthomolecular medicine, but even better: Psycho-Neuro-Immunological medicine.

A quick definition from Wikipedia:

Psychoneuroimmunology (PNI), also referred to as psychoendoneuroimmunology (PENI) or psychoneuroendocrinoimmunology (PNEI), is the study of the interaction between psychological processes and the nervous and immune systems of the human body.[1][2] PNI takes an interdisciplinary approach, incorporating psychology, neuroscience, immunology, physiology, genetics, pharmacology, molecular biology, psychiatry, behavioral medicine, infectious diseases, endocrinology, and rheumatology.

As a psychologist very aware of the interaction between psycho/neurological process and somatic processes I was intrigued. And that's where it all started: my search for health through natural medicine with a scientific basis I'm part familiar with and which is part unknown to me as it's such a young research field.

What's next:


I wrote this piece to have something to go back to when I'm writing the actual road towards getting healthy. I just started this process so it might be a while before I have some actual results to share. But for now I want to share a few more pieces in the next few weeks:

  • My past search for natural medicine
  • My current understanding of Psychoneuroimmunology
  • And probably while I'm going through this process updates on my healing process

Stay tuned! And if you have any experience with Orthomolecular and/or Psychoneuroimmunologic medicine I'm dying to know!

Sort:  

Since antique cultures and civilizations everywhere on the world, food has played an essential role in how health and well-being is treated.

And the food, the way we eat, the lifestyle or the environment of the modern era have nothing to do with those of our ancestors; food additives, artificial sweeteners, precooked, chlorinated water, …

The journey back to the essence of food, eating at the table of nature, as direct as possible without modern agribusiness intermediaries, is the most direct way to reconnect with you and with the earth, as the most direct link to the healthy life.

Good luck Rosa :)

Yes - food has for a few years been on my radar, and I've had several 'experiments' based on books I've been reading on healthy eating, and although it has helped me on several aspects, it's clearly not the full package I need - yet. Once several parts of my body that have been severely damaged I can heal from food alone - but I'm not there yet. Am excited to share the story - thanks a lot for sharing your wisdom with me :-)

I hope you do find a solution, so often we hear from doctors sorry we can't or we don't know, or you need to learn to live with it, there is nothing that can be done, Not very encouraging words, and then out of frustration people give up and self medicate and possibly do more body harm.

There are very few doctors that look at what the issue is, and then try to trace it back to the real cause, of why it is happening. Initially you took it as being a mis-step, now looking back through your history, you can see that perhaps there are other causes, what made the injury from a simple mis-step so sever? Why the other foot? why the fingers? why the back? keep looking and seeking the cause and you will find a cure maybe.

Thank you @bashadow, for reading and leaving a comment!

I agree, we often have to hear these disappointing words 'sorry can't help you any further we've done all the tests and they show you are FINE' - well I'm not feeling fine so your tests must suck or your creativity as a doctor must be lacking?

In fact, I believe doctors are just under-educated, not in terms of amount of time spend on education, but in terms of what gets priority in their studies. I have heard they only teach 'food' and how it affects the body for 4 hours (!) on the whole 6 years curriculum! That's ridiculously low. One of the general practitioners in my country wrote a book and she actually now has developed a full 1000 hour 'food as medicine' subject for future general practitioners to follow - which is a great start.

I think we'll hear a lot more about natural healing and how food affects the body in the next few years.

They do need to get their stuff right about food, especially for those that have food issues like diabetes, celiac disease, and other food related issues. You can't even get two doctors to agree if orange juice is or is not good for diabetics.

Lol, indeed. Although many people with diabetes have now started to discuss food with their doctors and have been able to get off their horrible insuline shots <3 Great progress is being made.

Sounds like you had a rough period since that accident. I have to say, your picture shows a happy and healthy person, I know this is isn't about your face, but that was my first thought when I saw the picture so here you have a compliment :)

I hope you will find the missing pieces of the puzzle, I know how frustrating it is to get these diagnosis/answers that actually aren't that helpful or clear. But I have noticed that good and healthy food helps improve a lot of things. Not that I can manage to not cheat with that, got to be honest, at least I'm aware,right? :)

It seems that you are quite aware of your abilities as well, that's something you can be proud of, you are taking care of yourself and trying to find the bottom of this "problem". Wishing you all the best!

Yes, it was rough, and often it still is, but there were periods where I really felt like 'there's nothing I can do anymore' and now at least I have a lead again - and am excited to see where it will bring me. I mean, the damaged bone/joint will never heal, but there are many things I can improve on so I'm hopeful that will make things easier :-)

your picture shows a happy and healthy person, I know this is isn't about your face, but that was my first thought when I saw the picture so here you have a compliment :)

:D Thank you! <3

Not that I can manage to not cheat with that, got to be honest, at least I'm aware,right? :)

LOL! We can't live like we're not living right? :D Having cheat moments is totally acceptable :-)

I mean, the damaged bone/joint will never heal, but there are many things I can improve on so I'm hopeful that will make things easier :-)

That's the spirit :)

Having cheat moments is totally acceptable :-)

Agree!

That sounds promising!
I wish you all the best for finding the right treatment and hope it will help you to ease or even better erase the pain(s).

Good luck and

HIVE ON!!!

P.S.: don't sell the silver to cheap ;)

Thanks @pundito! I'm very curious where this will bring me but the more I dive into this topic the more exited I get. Still cautious as it would be immensely disappointing if I again would hit a brick wall but somehow I believe I finally found something that can actually help me.

And agreed, I'll need to get a good price for the silver, lol :D

Nothing, not a single thing I can think of would make me happier than for you to find a solution to your health problems. This is just incredibly exciting news.

You know I look forward to your photographs and articles but now I'm really looking forward to reading the journey of your search!

WoooooooHooooo

YAYYY!!! Thanks for following me on this journey @bigtom13! Now don't type too many comments with that finger of yours! :D

Well I'm excited to know how you will get on with this and have hopes that you'll find some solutions!

Me too - very excited about this journey! Years of trying stuff out myself and then suddenly there's this 'umbrella therapy' that sort of covers it all, but more importantly, can explain how each system affects the other. As I said, I'm so excited to know more about this that I'm going to write a lot of it down so I can read it back in a few years - when I might be a PNI therapist myself?

(Thanks for the tip! <3)

If you can make a positive impact on yourself I think you'll be motivated to learn what you can and want to help others.

My pleasure and good luck :D

knows nothing about it, but looks like i will learn in months to come.

Yes - I think so too! I will slowly share the process of discovery I'm going through the coming few months <3

All my support in this new healthy life you are starting.

Thanks a lot @santigs!

Am intrigued, and it sounds fun for a journey. Hodl on those silver!

Yes, maybe I should Hodl them, lol! They're a bit impractical as payment though :D

Yes but they say to keep your precious metals esp. silver, there's not much to buy lately.

Good to know! I'm not really on top of the silver game :-)

Just remember, they are hard to find nowadays.
Have you heard of Dr. Joe Dispensa? At some point, his way of healing was effective though I haven't tried again.

In India, we very much rely on Herbs or the medicine made up of them which we called Ayurveda. I would say if possible try to include some of the good herbs in your diet too, like Holi Basil which will surely give you the required immunity boost.

Ayurveda is a system of medicine with historical roots in the Indian subcontinent.Globalized and modernized practices derived from Ayurveda traditions are a type of alternative medicine. In countries beyond India, Ayurvedic therapies and practices have been integrated in general wellness applications and in some cases in medical use.

Yes, herbs are a big part of the healing process in this therapy as well! I'm just so excited as it seems to combine a lot of wisdom from many diets and cultures but now more 'guided' through science and embedded in a bigger picture of how the body works. Thanks!

Yes our nature or mother earth has everything for everyone, we just have to use it for our health.

 4 years ago  

health through natural medicine with a scientific basis..

ME TOO. Naturopathy was my field of choice, as they have excellent science behind them. Really, really interested to see where this journey goes - keep us posted. I haven't heard of this particular field. Glad you are seeking more opinions.. I don't believe we shpuld ever settle for poor health as there is always a key we might be missing to help us get a bit more quality of life xxx

Great you've found a field that suits your needs too! I'm sooo excited to see where this goes! Haven't had that feeling in a long time, most times I'm dreading the new route as I've been disappointed so often :-)

 4 years ago  

It must get depressing. I know how I get when I have a lasting pain, and yours is far worse than mine. Definitelt think you WILL find a way through. X

 4 years ago  

I'm 44 and starting to get the occasional joint pains. It seems unimaginable for you to be experiencing so much pain at such a young age. I'm certainly fascinated to see how you progress.

44 is young too! Damn! I'm hoping you'll read with me and maybe discover a path for your pains as well :-)

I read some of your previous posts about your health issues but it always hits me over and over when I realize how much you have already been through at such a still young age. I am really sorry about it Rosa :(

(Un)fortunately, I don´t have much experience with the stuff you mentioned but if I have learned something in my life in terms of health and well-beingso far, it´s that your physical shape is just the reflection of your mental shape. I know I cannot generalize but it´s really been like this in my case. Even a toothache was a result of my "mental me" having some troubles...

Glad to read this @soyrosa and see that you have found some hope for addressing the physical limitations you have suffered under for so long. For your sake, I hope this new route to fully regaining your health and mobility "comes to life!"

I hope so too! Thanks for the good wishes Rob!

Wow Rosanne, this is huge!
I have never heard of Orthomolecular or Psychoneuroimmunologic medicine but it definitely looks that you are on the right path. For sure the "wrong step" scenario is not valid at all. You have my warmest wishes for complete recovery. Looking forward for good news!

<3 Still smiling from your photo post to me :D

This sounds promising! Natural medicine has so many more options and people willing to try the unusual. I certainly hope they help you get on the road to recovery. I read your story and was totally blown away that they can just say, this is as good as it gets.

You go, girl!

Upped and Resteemed

!tip

Yes 'natural' has a wrong reputation I guess, it's too broad and also covers many bad therapies that are not useful at all, but here I find something that's so deeply embedded in what I already know about the body and workings of the brain for example - it really is promising.

Thanks so much! Also for the tip and resteem <3 Lovely.

I cannot tell you how many people I know that have been helped by Natural!

🎁 Hi @soyrosa! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Jij kan dit. Ik ben blij dat je gevonden hebt wat je denkt dat kan helpen , spannend wel. Maar ik ken je als een krachtige vrouw die ondanks alles weloverwogen haar leven ervaart dus dit zal een plus en een openbaring zijn en worden. Wel een waar kracht en geduld nodig zijn. Ik wens je kracht

Dankjewel @brittandjosie! Ik denk echt dat ik hier veeeel gezonder uit zal komen. Dank voor je wens voor kracht, ik heb het nodig, er komt al veel los na de eerste sessie :-)

Hope you find your way to a better health ❤️

Thanks @celestal! I hope so too <3 And am hopeful. Hugs!

 4 years ago  

So glad you are on your way to better health!
I know what it is to be without it and I had a long journey to recover it.
The Orthomolecular and Psychoneuroimmunologic medicine seems perfect for you with your background and understanding!
I am not familiar with them only parts of what is included in the Psychoneuroimmunologic medicine. But I'm interested to see what results you get from it.
Here's to your health!

You have a way to go in front of you. But I'm sure you will starting to feel better once you have find the right thing. Psychoneuroimmunologic medicine I don't have any experiences with ... But Orthomolecular I do. Years back when I was dealing with depression, hairloss, eczema and more I stepped away from regular medicines. Why? I felt it only got worse and didn't help me at all. In that time I found my way to homeopathic and orthomolecular medicine. For me this combination worked out very well. The eczema that I had to deal with for at least 4 years at that time disappeared like snow in the sun ... and has never returned as violently to this day. Occasionally a small spot which is usually gone by a week or so. I have never had hair loss like then. My hair recovered much better then I could ever imagine. And my mental health is also a lot better, setbacks hit me less and my resistance is much better. I pay much more attention to my food and the vitamins in general and live a lot more conscious and healthier.