Introducing "Okoy na Kalabasa" - Bringing Back Memories of my Elementary School Days

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago

PhotoCollage_1636441499163.jpg

Greetings!

Happy New Year to everyone! I am glad to start my new year of blogging with the Foodies Bee Hive Community by sharing something from my yesteryears.

There was a time when I moved from the countryside to a more developed neighboring town to continue my studies. Once I was there I am a bit culture-shocked because there are lots of people, lots of vehicles, lots of buildings and houses, the air is a bit hotter (especially inside the market during summer), and some vehicles are very noisy and spewing gray smoke from their mufflers (typical 1980s).

Including in the culture shock that I experienced is the food. Some of the food that I get to encounter on the market are new to me because they are cooked differently.

And one of the dishes that I get to see for the first time in the market is the "Okoy" that is made of squash (Okoy is popularly sold in the market at the time).

In my hometown, particularly in the 1980s we only boil squash, but in the town where I continued my studies, I have seen for the first time that squash is being fried.

Each and every day that I get to pass the sellers of "Okoy" I started to get curious because there are lots of people buying "Okoy". But I do admit that I like the smell of "Okoy" the first time I smell it and it looks good in its golden brown color.

One afternoon, after I came from my school I decided to buy some. And oh boy, it is very delicious, especially when dipped with vinegar with onion, garlic, and ground pepper.

And from then on, "Okoy" has become one of my favorites.

With that being said, I am going to show you guys how to cook this delicious dish out of squash.

  • Squash (preferably mature squash)
  • Eggs
  • Salt
  • Flour (is for binding agent)
  • Dried Shrimps
  • Ground Pepper
  • Onion

Slice the squash just like in the photo below. I did not peel the squash, but you can definitely peel your squash in you want to

After slicing the squash get a grater then grate all the sliced squash

Peel and slice the onion, you can definitely make the onion thinner if you want

Prepare the eggs (I only used three eggs, you can definitely add one or two more)
20211109_115024.jpg

Prepare the ground pepper (you can definitely use more ground black pepper to make your Okoy spicier)
20211109_115429.jpg

Prepare the flour
20211109_120433.jpg

Prepare the dried shrimps (you can definitely use bigger size dried shrimps)
20211109_115139.jpg

Prepare the salt
20211109_115235.jpg

1. Combine all the ingredients in one bowl

20211109_124600.jpg

2. Mix until you get this consistency, if it needs water just add some. Now that we have the Okoy mix it is time to fry.

20211109_125524.jpg

3. Using a ladle scoop the Okoy mix then form a circular medium like those of burger patties then put them straight at the pre-heated cooking oil (the cooking oil should be hot enough)

20211109_132140.jpg

4. Flip when it is golden brown, do the same to remaining okay mix

20211109_132211.jpg

5. When all the Okoy mix is cooked it is done...

20211109_134516.jpg

20211109_135743.jpg



I am a Computer Engineer, blogger, farmer, father, and husband. I love countryside living, nature, farming (rice/vegetables), and has two decades of experience as an I.T. professional


Sort:  

Wow amazing recipe! I want to try it!!!

THank you, you've got to try it. Have a nice day ahead.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @taco.cat on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

I didn't know you can make okoy from squash. Sounds like a healthy option.

It is indeed healthy (^_^), have a nice day ahead.

@afterglow Great recipe indeed

Thank you very much (^_^)

You can also add some moringa leaves too hehe.

I'll keep that in mind, thanks (^_^)

I !LUV okoy. This is one of my fave foods to eat with rice. I don't use dried shrimps anymore but just replace it with plant-based ingredients. Thanks for sharing, @afterglow! 😁

You're welcome (^_^)

😁😁😁

This seems really yummy 😋. Thanks for sharing @afterglow

It is indeed yummy, you're welcome (^_^)

I remembered when my mama cooked us Okoy for the first time, it tastes heaven!😍 Thanks for sharing the recipe, I'll make one on my own this time. 😄😁

Heaven indeed, and you're welcome (^_^)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you very much @ecency

This will trick a kid to eat vegies like squash.

I agree (^_^) Thank you for visiting my blog.

Congratulations @afterglow! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 9000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 9500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you @hivebuzz

You're welcome @afterglow

BTW, your support for our previous proposal has been much appreciated but it has expired!
Do you mind renewing your vote for our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Happy New Year ✨🥂✨!

It is done (^_^)

Thank you for your support @afterglow, much appreciated!

You're welcome (^_^)

Wow,,, simple and definitely delicious. In my place, this is like bakwan. btw, Someday you should try not to fry it, maybe by steaming it. Just try... hehe

Someday you should try not to fry it, maybe by steaming it

That's a great idea, thank you for bringing it up.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.