Three fillings and the pastry

in Foodies Bee Hivelast year

Having a package of puff pastry in the freezer saves time and nerves when the stomach growls. This time, some fancy muffin baskets (yeah I know, a g a i n), because it appears that November will be in that form, and then I'll focus on the shape of the Christmas trees and Santa Clauses, already saw a few good pieces of molds at the store a little while ago.

When I think about it, it's absurd to waste money on something you'll only use once a year.
Given that I lost my job yesterday and will soon have to undergo a short surgery cut, reckless spending of money is not the best option, so let's stick to what we have.

Two blocks of puff pastry, forcefully defrosted (simply wrap it in a warm cloth for a few minutes until it's loosen up). I wanted the taste of pizza, but not the traditional kind; actually I wanted something with an oregano flavor. Otherwise, I don't use it very often because I find it too strong and aggressive comparing to the rest of spices.


Mix 200 g minced meat with pepper, salt, oregano, and a pinch of pepper in a bag and set aside to absorb the spices for a while. It would be preferable if it remained this way overnight to marinate, but hunger is hunger and this is literally 15 minutes meal prep.
50 ml tomato sauce with a few garlic cloves and a loooot of oregano.

The spinach, milk, butter, and a spoonful of flour, garlic, and salt to taste make up the second filling. Unfortunately, preparing "spinach puree" requires speed, so step by step instructions were omitted, but there is nothing complicated.

My former roommate used to make this puree on a regular basis, and I loved it, so this was the first time I made it myself, despite having no idea what it would taste like with the puff pastry + baked.

This is how it looks, and the procedure is simple: mix a spoonful of flour with milk (I used 100ml of milk), melt the butter in a pan, and fry the spinach (2 handful of) only a few minutes, then add the flour/milk mixture and fry a little more until you get a creamy silky texture.
I fried one medium carrot because I didn't want to use onions this time, then added the meat and spice mixture, fried it, and added tomato sauce at the end.

The good thing about puff pastry is that it almost doubles in size during baking (thanks to the layers of butter it contains), but the bad thing is that it can affect the amount of filling, so roll out the dough as thinly as possible.

3 vs. 1 speeding up the process, Both fillings have cooled greatly, as well as the oven is already set to 250 degrees. I had planned to bake the baskets separately, upside-down, with the dough wrapped around the mold, but then I remembered that mine are silicone and that would not work.

And so it ended up inside, stacked like a flower. How many of you use silicone utensils for food preparation? Which do you prefer, standard or?
They don't mind me; in fact, I prefer them because - less oil during preparation.

Are all in baskets? Okay, it's time to add the fillings and move them to tropics aka. oven.

Do you see anything wrong with this picture?
Sugar is missing, I know.

No worries!

A single, finely chopped apple was combined with a small amount of apricot jam and a few raisins.

About 15 minutes later...

In my opinion, the two ingredients that goes perfectly together, garlic and spinach, so I sprinkled a bit more on the top.

I almost forgot to mention that you can add a cube of cheese to the spinach filling when stuffing the baskets if you want, and I know you want it.:p

Serve alongside a cup of yogurt, and don't be afraid to dip in.
Yummy, yummy.

Yes, sugar!
Sprinkle it everywhere, lots of it.

Warning:
Do not stare at the last photo for too long, causes instant hunger.

Bon appetite!

untitled_linkedin_banner_1584_120_px_.png

Sort:  

Do not stare at the last photo for too long, causes instant hunger.

Like if only the last one was the problem.. Geez...
starts walking towards the fridge...

I like silicone muffin forms too. But not the large cake ones. Too flimsy. And I like spatulas too. That's about it :p

Last one made me droll...
Can't move, just had dinner, fridge to far away. :I

I melted few of silicone spatulas "accidentally" left them in pan, so I gave up on those. 🙄

I did that with one. I thought it would be nice to mix hot souse with it... mhm.. very nice :p
Now I use them only for cakes.

Congratulations @alt3r! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

CBRS Hive Infographic Contest - Get your badge and win 1000 HIVE
Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November 1st Hive Power Up Day - New Turnout Record

Yay, thank you! (:

You're welcome @alt3r, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @oks2crypto.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Sorry to hear the lost of job and the need to go for surgery, praying that all things work out well!
But wow the pastries look so good! Perhaps you can even start running a home business with this :D

Sorry to hear the lost of job and the need to go for surgery, praying that all things work out well!

(Pardon my French) Sh**t happens; some things have to fall apart in order for other things to work out.
Thank you very much.🍀

But wow the pastries look so good! Perhaps you can even start running a home business with this :D

You just my wish out loud!

I call it a bliss having puff pastry in freezer, lol, and hence why I'm always careful not to have it missing! Just as you said, it saves a lot of time and you can cook a looot of things with it, from dessert to snacks and food too.

Oh, I agree wholeheartedly!
Albeit not so healthy, it is still well worth each penny.

I'll be trying making my own puff pastry these days, with lot more puff layers (:

Yep. Want it all please.

Bookmarked. This is a clever one. I like this one a lot!

It's also a nice way to use up stuff before it spoils. I can see endless possibilities here...

Thank you!

My dear darling had an idea about those puff pastry endless options, but I think that Foodies would ban me 4ever in case I do it. 😂

Meh... just do it ;)

I'm really sorry to hear about your current situation, by the way :( Sounds like a lot of stress.

The Yoga... I think it's time we both did that, maybe? If it helps at all I've been awfully broke for some time after a massive life shift. With a pretty serious health condition. So I relate. I can say that, over time, you lose the financial fear and that this is very liberating.

And, somehow, one always makes a plan and gets through the tricky bits. Stay strong ❤️

Even though I recently experienced a significant life change due to moving to a completely foreign environment and changing my place of residence, it took me a long time to develop confidence in timing and avoid experiencing anxiety.
I see this job as something "old" and hadn't given me any fulfillment in a while, but I had to do it to pay the bills, now its time to detach myself from it.

I desire something entirely different deep down, and thanks to everything that has transpired so far, I am only a step away from getting it.

Usually I get frightened by anything hospital-related, but I'll survive, it's nothing dramatic.
🍀

you lose the financial fear and that this is very liberating.

That is my main goal! And going back to the regular practice, but once again - t i m i n g.

You know what... careful what you wish for...

because you always get it :)

You asked for it and here it is. So let go, trust the process and move into your new life! 💥

Until you understand the difference between what we think we want and what we really want on a subconscious level, it can be confusing, or ego triggering.

But, Hakuna matata!

Lol!

What you said 😆

Which part shall be translated? :D

Pretty much the whole thing amd no translation required :D

...you should have placed the waring before and not after the photo.
at least I learn from my mistakes and didnt read this one on an empty stomach...
ever thought of having/opening a bakery (or anything related, caffee)?

and didnt read this one on an empty stomach...

Hahah good job!

ever thought of having/opening a bakery (or anything related, caffee)?

The last idea I discussed on that topic was the cloud kitchen, having a "physical" bakery requires a lot of initial investment (HASSAP standard).

Hmm yes, I thought that too, this is a bit the awkward part... Mind you I guess there would be alternatives, such as markets, or part-time things. Well the restrictions are also different from country to country, I just know that in a lot of places, if you do it on private ground (with food trucks or as a catering..) then you can do pretty much whatever...

Honestly haven't researched anything about the catering as that requires many hands, but what I have on mind is some kind of '7 days minimalistic menu', as I'm sick of copy paste bakeries with same offer.

...Ill come and try out the menu:)

That requires 7x coming.😂

Ill be patient😅