Beans for the Cold

Hello guys, how's it going for you all? For me, the weather is freezing.

The rain has been coming down hard, and the temperature is really low. It's all very tempting to cuddle up in bed until it stops. But one has got to eat. And to eat, one must cook!

I needed to cook something that would be able to warm me up inside out once eaten and also be able to fill me up. As a student, it's not easy to cook meals that can meet these standards. But I was able to achieve such today.

I chose to prepare Mashed Beans and Bread. It's a popular meal here in Nigeria, everyone loves it. And the beautiful thing about this particular meal is that it can be prepared by almost anybody. And with ease as well.

IMG_20210706_141154_8.jpg

GETTING READY

To prepare, I had to get my ingredients which are:
-Beans (Properly picked and cleaned)

IMG_20210706_124350_3.jpg

-Palm Oil
-Fresh pepper (usually grounded pepper could also suffice)

IMG_6336.jpeg

IMG_20210619_085117_4.jpg

-Seasoning cubes

IMG_20210619_082407_9.jpg

-Onions ( sliced)

IMG_20210619_082313_5.jpg

-Curry
-Salt
-bread

The Process

After properly washing the beans, I poured them into a clean pot, then I put in sufficient water before putting it on fire. I let it boil for over ten minutes (this could vary, depending on the strength of your flame) and when the beans began to soften, I added salt to taste.

IMG_20210706_131530_8.jpg

Next, I poured in the sliced onions. Followed by the seasoning cubes, the fresh pepper, and the curry. And after they boiled some more, I poured the palm oil in.
Note that all this while, I didn't stir the food. To avoid it getting burnt even when there's still water in it, I left it like that. Until it got to the consistency I was looking for.

IMG_20210706_134457_7.jpg

Soon, the beans became soft, and I took a spatula (a firm ladle can also work) and began to stir the food, making sure all the ingredients mixed properly. As I stirred, I mashed the beans so that the little water remaining in the pot became thick. I stirred it some more. And then I put it down.
The Mashed beans was ready.

IMG_20210706_140758_3.jpg

And then...

Finally done, I couldn't help but marvel at the beautiful aroma the meal sent into the air. It was hot, and the fresh pepper I had used would warm me up from the inside. A good way to battle the cold.

So, I dished out the food and took out the bread.
My meal was ready to be eaten.

IMG_20210706_141154_8.jpg

So, what do you think of my cooking? Do you think something is lacking? Or I overdid some other thing? Feel free to ask me in the comments section. I'll be watching for it.
Thank you for reading.


P.S: All pictures are taken with my Tecno Camon smartphone.
Feel free to contact me via my Discord handle below:
bruno-kema#1355

Sort:  

Hi bruno-kema,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you very much for your support.

Congratulations @bruno-kema! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts.
Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

YUM! I think your cooking looks fantastic! Of course I am more than fond of peppers, beans, and curry, so I swear I could smell the gloriousness of your dish just by reading about it.:)

It's hard to imagine anything being cold right now, as it has been about 32 degrees C here for a couple weeks now, but I am glad to hear that you are staying warm and enjoying a comforting meal.

Wow... It's been raining nonstop down here and the cold seems to be out of this world. But we're trying our best to keep warm.
I'm really glad you liked my writeup. Cooking is something i enjoy doing, instead of having to rely on fast foods. I'll try to post more of my cookings here😁
Thank you very much for your support.