Lunch in Giethoorn

Steak with peppersauce

Fries, compote mayonnaise and salad

Veal and vegetable croquettes

Lee enjoying his birthday lunch

Licked the platter clean

This was a lovely start to the weekend We were very impressed with the lunch in Giethoorn. Lee had steak with a pepper sauce. I asked for something typically Dutch and the waitress recommended the veal and vegetable croquettes. They were served with two delicious slices of bread, crispy on the outside and very fresh on the inside.

We both thoroughly enjoyed our meal and decided to look for another place to have some coffee.

We walked along the canal and came across a coffee shop called Venice, but the atmosphere there was not great and the sun had gone so the outdoor tables were not inviting. After quite a long walk we decided that the restaurant where we had our lunch, the Grachthof was the best option.

We were told that their coffee machine was not working so we could not have cappuccino's so I ordered an English Tea and some apple pie with cream.

Apple pie with cream

the presentation was lovely and that always adds to the pleasure

This was yet another gift that Lee had received from his girlfriend's parents in South Africa. Trevor and Vivien - this was truly a wonderful memory for Lee. I was of course blessed to be a part of the gift - so very thankful to the two of them for this lovely gesture.

Our family are opting for memories instead of physical gifts, which sometimes tie us down - and so nice to have something to remember. It's been a lovely birthday for Lee, getting all his gifts over the two weeks that I have been with him.

Next weekend I'm in for a lovely treat as it's mother's day in the UK and my kids always bless me on the UK Mother's day as well as the South African mother's day which is in May. The Netherlands and Cyprus also celebrate in May. I get spoilt on both days - lucky me.

Sort:  

What a lovely way to celebrate a birthday! The food looks absolutely delicious. Happy Birthday Lee!

Thank you so much @tamaralovelace - it was a lovely birthday and I've passed your wishes on to Lee

I loved this post Christine, It is so natural and reminds me of similar days. The Apple pie and cream and the tea looked totally delicious. All best wishes to Lee for the year ahead.

Thank you so much @eflin-essie - the apple pie was really good and the presentation was 10 out of 10. Same goes for the taste. They also served a salted caramel cheese cake but the price was 12euros and I didn't believe any slice of cake was worth that much (truth is I would have loved to taste it)

!ALIVE
!LOL

@christinepoulos! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ phillarecette. (6/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

My roommate keeps saying that our house is haunted.
But I've lived here for last 216 years, and haven't heard anything unusual.

Credit: reddit
@christinepoulos, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of phillarecette

(5/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

All the dishes look absolutely yum! Reminds me of my trip to Germany. Where I had crunchy chicken and creamy mushrooms. 🤤