Testing out Microgreens

Last week, I started with planting some seeds for my newest project: Grow my own Microgreens.
Image1

Firstly, I had to choose an easy plant to start with. That is why I bought some garden cress from Amazon which was very simple to maintain. In addition, I also bought some broccoli, radish and beetroot for my next plating session.

When the package finally came, I started immediately with planting. I found two plastic container and in one I drilled some holes to drain the unused water at the bottom. This helps to control the moisture of the soil. Then I filled the holey container with some soil and watered it. Finally, I spread the seeds on the surface. Lastly, I covered them with more soil and used a spray bottle to moisture it.

Image2

After a week, they looked pretty. Just see how tasteful they look. So, I can start harvesting them: I took a sharp knife and cut near the surface all haulms. Because I covered the seeds with soil, they must be washed to get rid of dirt/ bacteria. Else I could eat them directly after cutting.

They taste very intensive and add every meal some colour and flavour. I am definitely convinced that they will refine my meals more often.
Did you try Microgreens also? Or do you eat them regularly? – Let me know in the comments!

Christopher

Sort:  

Thank you for the reminder to grow some of my own again! I've only ever done them in a jar with no soil, but they are always fun to watch then enjoyable to eat when they are ready. I often take the easy route and buy some from my local farmers at the market, but I really should get some seeds to get back in the habit of doing them at home. Broccoli sprouts are some of the most beneficial from a health perspective, but my favorite microgreens are from sunflower seeds. They have a deliciously nutty flavor just like the seeds, and have a great texture. One of my farmers also grows amaranth micros on occasion, and they are a gorgeous pink/purple color!

Thanks to @pennsif for sharing this post in his curation so I didn't miss it!

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

I've been wanting to try microgreens I'm not quite there yet, but they look delicious! Good job.

:)>

Congratulations @christopher2002! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the January 1st Hive Power Up Day
Happy New Year - Project Activity Update

Congratulations @christopher2002! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking