Pennsif's Sustainability Curation Digest for MSP - week ending 3 January 2021

in #palnet3 years ago

I've been away for some time.

But now I'm back!

New year, fresh start, it can only get better.

2020 was a tough one, but the prepping helped.

Many lessons have been learnt, many new plans have been made.

Looking forward to reading more good stuff like these posts below on Hive...



My Sustainability Five Picks of the Week...


How to Grow GRAPES from Seeds by @kennyroy



Prepping tweaks that should make your storage more useful... by @smithlabs



Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 44) by @jacobpeacock



Rocket Stove part 3: Playing with clay mixes by @paradoxtma



Testing out Microgreens by @christopher2002



The Minnow Support Project has multiple curators that pick five posts from under-valued minnows each week to highlight through MSP3k. This way MSP and PAL can promote new writers and content creators on Hive, and in effect reward them for doing a superior job.



[ header graphic by @pennsif ]

Sort:  

WELCOME BACK! Great to see you posting again!

Hi BlueFin - good to see you are still around as well.

Good to have this back again. We need to plan what we do with the garden this year. Looking to move some things around. Here's hoping it's a less dramatic year.

I'm definitely ramping up the food production this coming year.

Building up the soil quality, with leaf mould etc, is a big part of this. The new chickens will be playing a big part on this as well.

Great to see you’ve returned, I had wondered where you’d gone. Happy new year and I hope your Christmas was enjoyed.

Hi there, hope all is going well.

Not too bad considering what's happening around us.

Good to see you, best wishes for the New Year!

Hi Shani, hope all your projects are progressing well in these complicated times.

It's a real shame I've been missing these, thanks for the recognition and the great compilations, I think I'll find a few new follows from these posts!

Nice to see you back again! As I'm slow , a quick answer to your questions on this post. Number 2 anyway. I'd love to see dollar-a-day or some other charitable venture. Perhaps talk to @gerber for a tie-up with @dcity as they are generating tokens and Hive like crazy over there and I hope some could be diverted off!
Sorry, you had a tough time and I hope this new year will put a spring in your step and some motivation.
Take care, best wishes and stay safe and sane!
PS The Rhodies look really well :-)
PPS Thanks for the great links!

Lovely to see you back! Happy New Year!

Hi Plantstoplanks, hope all is going well over your way.

Fabulous to see this up and running again! Hope you are doing okay - heard the UK has gone into national lockdown - I guess not too different to what's already been happening, right? I hope you are all well over in Wales. Sadly I never made it over that way.


You've been curated by @riverflows for Natural Medicine's homesteading newsletter, supporting gardeners, permaculturalists, foragers, environmentalists and other earth centred relationships with the earth.
CommunityIIDiscord

Hi there, the UK is having a tough time at the moment. Seems to have got rather out of hand.

Hopefully there will some light emerging out of some tunnel soon...

I've just planted beans a week ago ^^ , they are a Dutch strand that is supposed to be cold resistant, time will tell :)

For this year I have apple trees, cherry trees, pear tress, plumb trees, I will plant lots of things as we have few hectares.

One question on purchasing chicken, should I wait until spring?

Hi Ed, are you in South Africa now, or back in Europe?

Sounds like a good collection of fruit trees.

Spring is probably the best time for getting chickens, but they are quite hard to get hold of in the UK now so I grabbed them cheap when I could.

Back in Europe brother!

Yep, I am gonna build a chicken den also :)

Hope your okay! Crazy times and hope 2021 will be better for everyone!

The sanctuary of west Wales is falling to the covid now. Hope you are all good over your way.

I'm glad to see you're back pennsif.

But with all that has been happening it is understandable taking a break away from hive. I was away for an extended time this summer myself.

Happy new year and all the best for 2021 🌱🙂

Difficult times, but hoping this year will get back on track soon.