Im a Pasta Making Pro 😋

in Foodies Bee Hive • last year (edited)

20220915_194812.jpg

Soooo, the other day I had such an awesome experience making homemade pasta for the first time. It was so much fun!!!!! and it felt really good to finally make a healthier choice for myself, which if I am honest - I am not always the best at doing, despite the greatest of intentions.

I've always been a huge lover of pasta, but I've been attempting to eat a little healthier these days, so I've been exploring ways to make the things I love most, a little more nutritious without sacrificing the most important part… the flavor! That's why I decided to throw caution to the wind and give this a go!

About a year ago, I was given a pasta making machine as a gift from a friend, but until now I had it hiding away in my kitchen cupboard. I think I was actually a little scared to open it up and give it a try, for fear I might just create a total disaster instead of a meal, hehe!

20230422_081338.jpg

Nonetheless, I started by researching different pasta recipes online and found a really simple one with just water, flour, eggs, and a little bit of salt. I was surprised by how easy it was to make the dough, and how quickly it came together. When the dough was ready, I let it sit for a little bit before rocking and rolling :)

Then I used the pasta machine to roll out the dough! Honestly, it made me feel like a little kid with playdough all over again! It was marvelous!! It took a little bit of practice and a whole lot of mess to get the hang of it, but once I did, it was easy peasy smooth sailing. I just loved the way the dough passes through the machine and transformed into the most beautiful, silky sheets of deliciousness. The whole process actually felt like therapy.

Once the pasta was rolled out into long flat sheets, then I changed the setting on the machine to what resembled thin flat spaghetti - not unlike linguine really, but just a little thicker - so I suppose tagliatelle?! and cooked it for about 12 minutes. It came out perfectly al dente.

20220917_174446.jpg

I tossed the cooked pasta with a simple tomato and basil sauce, to which I added a little bit of chopped and wilted spinach and then topped it with freshly grated Parmesan cheese. It was absolutely delicious!!!!! YUM YUM YUM!!! It had a slightly different flavor which was actually so much nicer than store-bought pasta.

20220915_194809.jpg

Doing this from scratch was such a fun and rewarding experience. Not only did I get to enjoy a delicious meal, but I also felt good knowing that I made a healthier choice for myself. And like I said, there was something really therapeutic about the whole process!I can't wait to experiment with different flours, pasta shapes and flavors in the future. Homemade pasta is definitely going to become a regular part of my cooking routine.

Have you ever made your own pasta or any other fun foods from scratch?

Eliza xxx

Sort:  

Love the noodles. This is actually one of my dreams, making my own noodles.

I was amazed at how easy it was!!! Also, I spent some time looking on google after and it is also just as easy to do it without a machine... just a hand roller and a knife. You should definitely give it try!

I will definitely give it a try, have a nice day ahead.

Thank you! I hope you are having a lovely week too!

You're welcome (^_^)

Upvoted using Build-it.io for having used the #diy tag.

Looks tasty! And it's nice that we have the same machine. I was using it few hours ago to make Japanese noodles 😊

They are so awesome aren't they!!! So much fun!

yum !

image.png

Now this is getting really weird. I have no idea what's going on with PeakD.

It shows a photo from 2022.09.15, the next one is from 2023.04.22, then another one from 2022.09.17 and the last one from 2022.09.15.

This is a serious problem. I see you're new, don't know how familiar you are with the platform, but you should definitely contact the PeakD guys to see why is the app modifying the date of your photos. This needs fixing asap. They are available on Discord, here https://discord.gg/sdRr9WPxrs

Hi @erikah :)

I am new by a few weeks and that is weird and also random too LOLZ. I am not using discord but if it happens again then I will get in touch with them there.

I obviously do use some older photos I have taken in some posts but those ones were not old. I did have the actual food photos from that blog stored in a older folder on my phone and don't know if that could have done it.

Thanks for letting me know though and nice to meet you.

Have a great day!