Home-Made Counterfeit Char Siu

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

It's time to make another Sunday supper for my parents, plus it's Mother's Day! Why not experiment upon them with a brand new recipe and hope for the best?

anise.jpg

five spice.jpg

Five Spice Powder

1 star anise pod
1/2 tsp fennel
1/2 tsp cloves
1/2 tsp Sichuan pepper powder
1/2 tsp Ceylon cinnamon

I love licorice and anise flavors, with the recently-discovered exception of Allsorts, so this aromatic anise was a fun ingredient to try. I broke apart the pod and crushed everything, since a quick web search said to do that, but I wasn't as meticulous as I could be. These seed pods are tough. I mashed away as best I could in the mortar and pestle, added the other four spices, and ground away some more. I would suggest using something more effective.

Marinade

1/2 tsp of five spice powder
2 Tbsp sugar
1 Tbsp hoisin sauce
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup water

I used boneless pork chops for this, because it was on sale. I think a thicker sauce would have worked better, but I did not want to spend a long time browsing the web or commit sacrilege by using ketchup as one recipe recommended. I also omitted red food coloring and red bean curd, so the classic red look was not present either. It smelled good, though!

I left the mix to marinade for a couple hours, baked it for about 30 minutes at 350°F, and then kicked on the broiler to make it a bit brown and crispy on the surface. Once I checked internal temperature with a meat thermometer, it was ready to serve over jasmine rice with a bagged salad mix on the side.

serving.jpg

I know I didn't make it right, but it tasted pretty darn good, so that's still a win. And the Mother Thing seemed to appreciate not making supper for Mother's Day, so that's another win. And finally, she liked the necklace I made, so that's three victories for the day!

I think doubling the spice mix in the would have been fine, and the guidelines I found online were a tad timid. If you have a more authentic char siu recipe, please share it in the comments! Meanwhile, to any and all mothers who may read this post, I wish you a belated happy Mother's Day!


PeakD Signature Bar.png

If you're not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through PeakD. If you use my referral link, I'll even delegate some Hive Power to help you get started.

Sort:  

Good work!

Can I assume you were sent here through ListNerds? @generikat told me she promoted my post.

Yes!

I never knew that pork chops could be cooked with so many sweet spices :D

Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe.

It's different from the usual savory tangy sauces I use, but it's very tasty. Enjoy!

what is the sauce on the salad?

Hello @jacobtothe,
The title caught my eyes, and then I saw the ingredients and preparation and I felt hungry.
The pork looks so tender, and I can just taste the mixture of spices.
This is definitely one I'll like to try!
Thanks for sharing. I'm sure your parents enjoyed it and felt good that you did this for them.
Nice one:)
Have a great week ahead!

It did turn out rather well. !PIZZA

I could tell 👌

This is awesome thank you for sharing the recipe and method
@jacobtothe !ALIVE !CTP 😎

@jacobtothe! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @benthomaswwd. (9/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Many thanks! May I offer a !BEER in exchange for your token drops?


Hey @benthomaswwd, here is a little bit of BEER from @jacobtothe for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
jacobtothe tipped millycf1976 (x1)
@zakludick(4/5) tipped @jacobtothe (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Thanks for the PIZZA tip... much appreciated 😊

I have 5 spice in my pantry, Now I have a recipe to use it. Thanks for the recipe.

You're welcome! Blends may vary some spices, and even add more than five, but the outcome should be tasty regardless. I suggest visiting your local library for Chinese and Vietnamese recipes!

looks great, sounds delicious ...

That looks lovely ... and I'm sure it smelled lovely too!

This made me hungry, lol! It sure looks yummy

You have inspired me on how to combine my favorite local spices, thanks.

I also like salad with fried eggplant, carrot and bean it's delicious too. Don't forget to give a red rose it's a symbol of loyalty

It's delicious salad 🥗 I prefer adding some lemons to it to became perfect, beautiful dinner moments 👍

I like that you included rice in this meal.🤤

Wow! Good job!

Yeah I have now learned how to make (as well as I can) Cha Siu at home for the ramen bowl. But they work out really well on sandwiches as well!

I came over here from the @curangel post we are both on! Cheers! Have a great day!

!PIZZA

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment