Muse Brasserie

in Foodies Bee Hive2 years ago (edited)

In the past two years I have hardly gone out for a nice proper sit down meal. That's one of the things I miss most, though on the upside I have saved myself a lot of money by not eating out. The other day I went out for lunch in a fancy restaurant, just because I felt like it. Sometimes we don't need a reason to indulge ourselves.
20220210_141141.jpg

Muse Brasserie describes themselves as Predominantly French themed, the cuisine is an eclectic fusion of European and Local British favourites with a hint of subtle Asian flavours. I'm not sure exactly what French themed means, but my first impression was wow!!! What a beautiful interior. Not that I planned it, but I arrived earlier, before any other guests had arrived, and was able to take a couple of stunning shots. I love the mix of torquise blue and pale pink velvet chairs and the blue walls lined with wine bottles. I seen this decor before in other places, and it's a very clever use of recycle items to create a stunning effect.
PSX_20220210_160216.jpg

PSX_20220212_000100.jpg

I'm not sure exactly what French themed looks like, though the design of the menu was quite consistent with the restaurant decor. Personally I thought it all looked a bit fairy like. Maybe this is what French themed is? Any French out there how can shed some light on this?
20220210_132314.jpg

Moving onto the food. This is something that you just can't recreate at home. I mean I can whip up a decent meal, but it's nowhere presentable and near fine dining level. That's something one have to buy with money, and it's something I'm happy to do so every now and then. The meals here were worth that. Let me show you.

My starter was a gin and tonic cured salmon. I love salmon, especially when it's smoked or cured. This one was delicious though the gin and tonic was very light, I could just about taste it. But that's ok as the rest of the bits on the plate were delicious especially the fried salmon skin, it was so light and crispy.
20220210_122105.jpg

Hubby had the rabbit and chicken terrine, I tasted a mouthful, it was good but not as good as my starter.
20220210_122246.jpg

My main course was a lemon and thyme chicken tikka. Somehow I misread the menu and thought it said leon and thyme chicken thighs, I nearly sent the dish back when they bought it to me! This was very tasty and the curry wasn't too spicy, perfect with the fluffy pilau rice and crispy poppadoms.
20220210_125031.jpg

Hubby had the fish of the day which was a halibut. He said it was very nice. It's actually quite difficult for a good restaurant to not cook a good piece of fish.
20220210_125020.jpg

I always look at the dessert menu before I decide on my starter and main.If there is a dessert I really like, I'll always go for a lighter main. The choice of desser was rather limited as this was a three course set lunch menu. I went for my favourit chocolate fondant and ice cream. The plating was top notch, bu the fondant was so so. I could do a better one at home. It was too mushy for my liking though the chocolate flavour was very nice. It's just the texture that wasn't too good. Anyway, I still gobbled it all up.
20220210_133749.jpg

When it came to pay the bill, the bill came in an equally attractive box. The damage? Less than £40 for the two of us, that around USD52. All included, this was a very good value meal especially since the ambience and decor was very nice and didn't totally overshadow the quality of the food. Next time I'll probably skip the dessert though.
20220210_140530.jpg

Sort:  

These are very lovely looking dishes and the price too was okay, I was expecting it to cost more than that too. Hope you had fun and enjoyed your food.

It was a set lunch meal so very good deal. I had a lovely meal, thanks

You are welcome 🙂

The place looks pretty nice. I love their way of plating, the food must taste good :) :)

Good plating makes so much difference to the food, it's something that you just can't recreat at home easily

Yummy, dishes indeed look nice. My mouth iz watering haha 😋😄.

The garnishing looks no less than a Mischelien Star restaurant.

!PIZZA

I love those finishing touches that makes all thee difference

Dang, the way they decorated the food and the location I thought it would be more expensive. Chicken tikka and pulau can never go wrong. I tell you.

It was surprisingly good, especially the pilau rice, very nice

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@shubhwaj(1/5) tipped @livinguktaiwan (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Wow... Looks amazing!! I expected the bill would come in more than that.. what a bargain.

gin and tonic cured salmon

Shut up..omg that sounds divine.

Nom nom nom, it was devine.

It was a set lunch meal hence a good deal. Choices were a bit limited but we both found something we liked despite me reading the menu incorrectly 😂

I think everyone out there missed the fun of going out and having a meal at a pretty place. Thank you for sharing this! :) Happy days on the way! :)

Thanks. It was nice to go out again and it was too crowded so I still felt very safe

Wow that food looks incredible and the decor is very nice. 52USD seems very reasonable for that. I think the salmon sounds the best to me, good choice.

We always show up to restaurants early as well and are usually the first to arrive as soon as the doors ooen for service lol.

We passed by the restaurant five minutes earlier just as they opened but didn't want to look too desperate so walked around a little, came back, and was still the first table to arrive.

Hahaha yeah that's exactly what we do as well. We're like sharks circling the water, waiting lol

The restaurant looks charming and the food great
I can’t say if it has a french feel to it I have overnighted in Paris a few times and eaten in a couple of restaurants but not enough to be able to say what the style of a French Restaurant is

I love the way they present the bill quote stylish

I was a bit lost on the French part, not sure where that came from. Maybe added in to make it sound posh? Marketing people are so creative aren't they 😃

Ohh yeah marketing people can stretch anything to try and get customers LOL

Fantastic decor, fantastic food!
Enjoy, @livinguktaiwan!!!

It was a great lunch, thanks @silversaver888

Food looks delish! Especially that fish, yum!!! I am a bit shocked it all came down to £40, a very good deal! Need to go for the set three-course, seems like it works and you get to try something different!

It was £17 for the 3 course meal, definitely a very good deal. It's actually at Cheltenham, a bit nearer to you!

What an excellent price, the food looks pretty darn good.
As for the French-themed decor, hmm not so sure about that!

It's funny how creative and random businesses can be!!

Oh yes it, sometimes the epic fails are actually a success as people are curious and want to see🤣

@livinguktaiwan, one of your Hive friends wishes you a Happy Valentine's day and asked us to give you a new badge!

Valentine's Day 2022

To find out who wanted you to receive this special gift, click here!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 11
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

During the pandemic I also ate out less and I miss it a bit. You were lucky that you were able to take photos before the other guests arrived! But the furnishings are also really nicely coordinated. The pay box looks special - I've never seen anything like it. Now I really feel like going out to eat again haha:D