Chicken Turmeric Soup (Soto Ayam)

in Foodies Bee Hive β€’ 2 years ago

Hello Lovelies!

Another cold day today, plus very windy. What a combo. My husband texted me from work when he arrived, saying the blowing snow was bad for driving. At least today is only -28 C πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

I have been making soup(s) due to the extreme cold weather. So happy no complaints from my youngest. That one doesn't really like "wet" food πŸ˜… Even salsa on taco, nope. Dripping salsa means I'd rather starve, mom πŸ€ͺπŸ˜…πŸ€ͺπŸ˜…

I guess as he is getting older, he will have less complaints, hopefully. Here is crossing fingers 😁

Today's recipe vlog is Indonesian chicken soup. Most of the times I would call it as Chicken NOODLE Soup, however I didn't use any kinds of noodle this time. So it is chicken TURMERIC soup instead, as turmeric is always one of the main spices in this soup. My oldest always calls it YELLOW soup tho πŸ˜†

In Indonesia we call this soup Soto Ayam 😊

20211227_142715_1640667031570.jpg

Half pot of water
2 skinless boneless chicken breast
1 lemongrass
7-8 cloves
4-5 kaffir lime leaves

Paste:

5 candle nuts
1/2 of a small onion
1/4 c water

2 tbsp grapeseed oil
1/8 tsp turmeric powder
1/2 tsp ground coriander
2 tsp minced garlic

Vegeta powder to taste (or a combo of salt, sugar, MSG or salt, MSG, vegetable rice powder)
A generous pinch ground white pepper

For Serving:

Hard boiled eggs
Sweet soy sauce (kecap manis)
Sriracha sauce (or sambal soto)
Fried onions
Chives (best green onions)
Bean sprouts and/or shredded cabbage

Steps in the video πŸ€—