Dandelion Flower Ice Tea

Hi Lovelies!

This morning was SUPER foggy. It was a total zero visibility. Wasn't a good feeling while driving. Yesterday was (close to) zero visibility as well, but it was Smoggy instead Foggy. Yep, Canada is still dealing with wildfires, sadly. The other day, British Columbia, the province where I live in, was on 1st place of most smoggy and worst air quality, throughout Canada, due to the wildfires smokes. On the same day, Canada was placed 5th, throughout the world, as the most polluted air quality 😬😬😬😬

Temperature has been dropping to 11 C for the last 3 mornings. It's been cold. Summer? Where? Not here, that's for sure 😬 I do hope the cooler temp, the fog, the super tiny rain yesterday, somehow is helping to better the air quality, and to put a stop to the wildfires.

Today's share, maybe sounds odd. I made dandelion ice tea. Yes, the yellow weeds that we don't really want on our lawn. I gotta say, I have been in love ever since. Tastes earthy, like grass, but so refreshing! I just love it 😍

4 c of dandelion flowers
Enough water for rinsing
1 c hot boiling water
Honey (or sweetener of your choice), to taste
Ice cubes

Flowers! You need just the flowers, no stem, no leaves. You can remove the green part right below the flowers, the one that holding up the petals. Rinse them with enough cold water, drain them.

Screenshot_20230615-064726_Gallery_1686836949748.jpg

Screenshot_20230615-064735_Gallery_1686837027650.jpg

Place washed flowers into a cup or a jar or a bowl, pour hot boiling water and let steep for at least 8 minutes.

Screenshot_20230615-064752_Gallery_1686837124649.jpg

Screenshot_20230615-064757_Gallery_1686837156145.jpg

Strain and cool to room temperature, or you can serve warm, but as for me, as I turn the tea into ice tea, I added ice cubes.

20230528_125354_1685474686580.jpg

20230528_164634_1685474897656.jpg

My husband loves it without any sweetener, I love it with honey. Refreshing big time 😍

Sort:  

!LOL

I'm glad I know sign language
It's pretty handy.

Credit: reddit
@thekitchenfairy, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @phillarecette

(1/6)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

Aww, it is the first time I saw a tea prepared through Dandelion. I never had any idea until I read through your post. Great! Enjoy your tea my dear friend and have a nice time.

Dandelions are edible and supposedly good for you so definitely a good use of it XD

I think I would have cancelled everything and bailed the hell out of driving with those conditions.

Yes. I have a couple recipe books mentioning dandelion but I was always like meh, weeds. But more and more sites talking about the health benefits, i got intrigued. went to health food store and they have tons of products from dandelion capsules, to roots, leaves, to whatever hahah

i have to work. i cant seem to bounce back after Indonesia, money wise hahahah we do have fogs often during winter, but never summer. crazy.

So many "weeds" are so very useful though XD

Also pretty!

I'm pretty sure it is getting harder and harder to bounce back financially if you have anything at all that sets you back x_x