Greek Salad with Button Mushrooms

Hello 😊

Is there anyone who still send snailmail here? I love sending and getting snailmail 😁 I feel like a teenage girl whenever the post office drops me a letter or two, or in this case a stack most of the times, as I have a PO Box addy, and I only check it once a week, or when I remember πŸ˜…

Anyhoo. I am on this group of ladies I met online, and we send vintage recipes, birthday cards, Christmas cards via snailmail. It's always a joyful feeling each time.

This following recipe isn't from the vintage recipe(s) I received tho. In fact, it is inspired from the Greek Salad that my husband often gets from a nearby grocery store 🀣 A jar that is enough for only 1 person, costs $13. Crazy. So once awhile we make it ourselves, using whatever we feel like or have. Needless to say, not authentic Greek Salad 😁

20220821_164811_1668286515179.jpg

2 English cucumbers
2 red or orange bell peppers
Kalamata olives, as many as you like
Tons of cherry/grape tomatoes, or as you like
A can of button mushrooms
1 red onion
Generous sprinkles of oregano
Garlic powder, to taste
Salt, to taste
Lime juice, to taste
Rice vinegar, to taste
Honey, to taste
1 block of feta cheese

Cube or slice veggies, onion, and mushrooms. Place them into a bowl.

Screenshot_20230205-082631_Photos_1675612771846.jpg

Screenshot_20230205-082652_Photos_1675612818250.jpg

Season with oregano, garlic powder, salt, lime juice, vinegar and honey. Adjust the flavor to your liking.

Screenshot_20230205-082734_Photos_1675612884715.jpg

Cube feta cheese then dump them into the bowl, stir to mix.

Serve immediately or chill for an H or two before serving (the water I like it better).

Screenshot_20230205-082859_Photos_1675612936129.jpg

Easy peasy and serve as is, with rice, with steak, however you wish 😊

Sort: Β 

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you

In the past I used to have many penfriends since ten year ago, I loved to send and receive snail mail but now it's a lot that I don't exchange letters I miss a bit that , now I'm too used to fast communication, by the way the green salad look super, I love these kind of green food especially now that I'm on diet ❀️

In Canada, they just raised the price of stem starting January 9. So it's a bit pricey now for us, even to US πŸ€ͺ

Good luck with your diet!

I love salads, used to be a staple packed lunch item when the kids were little and we were going out a lot more regularly than we do now XD

Snailmail only happens when someone orders something here. I used to write lots of letters to my uncle and aunty in Melbourne, and also to a penpal whom I can't remember where she was from, I want to say NSW maybe, they petered out as we got older, and finally stopped when I was at uni. Penpal and I tried to keep it up for a while but we were both moving around a bit so we tried switching to email, and then that just stopped too.

Amusingly I don't know how popular the penpal idea would be in this day and age or if people would be freaking out too much about one of the random psychos on every corner knowing your address and coming to stalk you XD

Oh definitely not popular at all. Much easier using the net and phone now πŸ˜† Luckily my penpal group is a recipe sharing group, so its also for collecting recipes for us 😁😁😁😁