Szekelykaposzta (Hungarian Beef and Sauerkraut Stew)

Happy Wednesday!

How's going, friends? Almost Friday, can't wait for it. 2 days to go 🀑 Foggy this morning when I drove to work, though. Big meh, as where I work, infested with cute deers 😁 They just love scarying drivers! Foggy dark morning plus deers, yep, awesome combination 😬😬😬😬

We had Hungarian dish for dinner the other night, one of my favorites, needless to say it is soooo good. Bonus point? So easy to prepare!

20230107_182744_1673445190962.jpg

We made it in Instant Pot as am a lazy cook, but you can prepare it on stove-top for sure 😊

My littles and I love it with sourdough bread while my husband prefers French baguette. Occasionally I would serve it with rice. Only me though πŸ˜‚ The Hungarians don't serve it with rice, I don't think 😁

1 kg beef cubes
Generous salt
1 scant c flour
2-4 tbsp vegetable oil
1 large onion
4-5 garlic
1 jar sauerkraut
500-700 ml beef broth
1 tsp caraway seeds
1 tbsp sweet paprika powder
3 tbsp sour cream
1 heaping tbsp flour
A handful or two fresh dill, chopped finely

First let's prepare the beef. In a large bowl, salt the beef generously, then dump in flour, shake to coat evenly, then set aside

20230107_164031_1673445565906.jpg

Drain the sauerkraut then rinse. My littles don't like sauerkraut much when it's too sour, so depending on you or your household, you can give a quick rinse or more. Set aside.

For the garlic, you can either diced or crushed them, while for the onion, you can either thinly sliced, diced, chopped them. Whichever is convenient 😁

Now let's get cooking!

Turn on your IP, heat 2 tbsp oil, then brown the beef, and discard the excess flour.

Once beef is browned, take them out of the IP, leaving beef drips in the pot, then saute your garlic and onion til fragrant.

Quickly stir in paprika and caraway.

Pour in a little broth and stir.

20230107_165642_1673453274697.jpg

Now add in back your beef, followed with sauerkraut, stir nicely. Pour in more broth, until covering the sauerkraut and beef.

20230107_165759_1673445524579.jpg

Turn off/cancel your saute button, put on the lid, and choose stew or soup option 😍 Easy peasy.

Meanwhile, mix sour cream and flour.

Once cooked, release steem, quickly stir in sour cream mixture, followed with fresh dill. Serve immediately.

20230107_182241_1673445476557.jpg

20230107_182347_1673445319208.jpg

Yummo!!!

Here is my plate, generously sprinkled with Boncabe, Indonesian chili powder mixture 😍😍😍😍

Toodles!

For visual steps, here it is 😊

Sort: Β 

We have this every now and again in winter but only rarely as there's not a lot my middle child likes XD

At first glance of the thumbnail I thought the bread was yau char kwei (took me the better part of forever to find out a spelling for it as that's so not how I grew up hearing/saying it) XD

Cakwe in Indonesian. I miss those. Too lazy to make Youtiao (yau char kwei) πŸ˜… - but also, Winter, cant really fry stuff in the kitchen πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

Too greasy? Too much setting off smoke alarms? XD


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @chenee ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I love east European dishes are always so rich and nutritive, yummi ❀️

Hey girl! Hows going? Found a new job by now, I hope?

Dear @thekitchenfairy,
Our previous proposal expired end of December and the Hivebuzz project is not funded anymore. May we ask you to review and support our new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248)?
Thank you for your help!