Trained my Boy Scouts in Basic Survival Through School Backyard Camping

in Education5 months ago

Scouting allows a child to experience independence, freedom, and stand on his own feet. It teaches different values including respecting others, obeying rules, and helping chores within the camp. It is best to trained them in a basic survival like building a camp/tent, cooking, washing plates, fetching water, and chopping of firewoods. Every year we are able to experience school camping and I encouraged my boys to register and participate in a camping.

Boys need to register to become a boy scouts. The registration fee is only 50 pesos. We had our activity last January 13-14, 2024 for two days. We slept in the school for one night with the permission by their parents. They brought three cups of rice, a can of sardines, two packs of noddles, and ingredients for Benignit.

The Preparation: Settling Down of Tent

IMG20240112132525.jpg

IMG20240112135949.jpg

IMG20240112133927.jpg

I am blessed with my scouts, they are very industrious, reselient, and cooperative. I only instruct them once and immediately they made it happen. Each one of them brought a bamboo and I bought a tarp and straw to complete our tent making. They were able to build our tent for the whole Friday prior to the scheduled day.

Being their scout leader, I am very proud of their hardwork. They never make my head ache instead they will always ask what to do next. It is very fulfilling on my part, and an a achievement on the part of my boy scouts.

We agreed to slept in school after making our tent. They cooked for our dinner and settled ourselves after dinner time. But the boy scouts were happy they don't want to sleep, they kept on talking and singing. I told them to sleep early so that we can wake up early too. We need to wake up very early and prepare ourselves @4 in the morning for our hiking. The weather isn't good as we woke up it keep on showering but we pursued our plan and walked in going to Little Batanes.

First Day Saturday

IMG20240113090726.jpg

The camping started with a flag raising ceremony, followed by a parade, and then patrol presentation. All the scouts wore their uniform and they looked smart as they march in going back to the campsite. The patrol leaders hold their flag recognizing their patrol name.

It was on this day that the camp inspection was scheduled. The school commissioner requested the Boy Scouts to present their yell, scout songs, scout oath, law, slogan, and motto. They performed it all to their best, they were given a score in every presentation. Knot tying, doing bandaging, and perform the secondary direction was asked. Task in the morning was successfully done.

It's Cooking Time

IMG20240113072807.jpg

IMG20240113165855.jpg

All of them were cooperative they really worked what was being ask. I salute to all of my boy scouts. They were cooking egg with sardines and hotdog for their meal in lunch. I just gave instructions on how to cook and automatically they follow. They had a Kapers Chart to follow, I gave them assignment who will cook, clean, arrange, and fetch water in the tent.

I let them take off their uniform every time they cook so that it will remain clean. I didn't notice my one boy scout is naked the time I took a picture. He's name is Allan Jay, he works whatever you asked for him,he always volunteer and never say no. In the future he is a good worker in our country and I am proud of him.

Eating Time

IMG20240113074855.jpg

IMG20240113074839.jpg

We shared the food that they cooked, I divided it equally to their plates. The silent moment is happening during eating time. They were busy eating their foods on their plate. I am happy observing them while they eat. Being as their scout leader I have a great responsibility on them especially their safety. That is why I kept my eyes on them and monitored every activity they had.

They were having a good time, they participated in a games. They represented our patrol which is the Monkey Patrol. This is their favorite time and they really had fun in playing different games.

Campfire was the next activity, so I let them cook early after the games so that we can eat before the campfire presentations begin. It was well done and the boys were ready wearing their uniform again for the presentation. They had a short practice for their songs, as the leader called them up. They were very smart in performing their songs , I can sense that they wanted to win the campfire presentation.

IMG20240113190546.jpg

IMG20240113190107.jpg

Hep! Hep! Hooray!
We were not lucky enough during our campfire because the rain continue to poured. We preferred to stay on stage, we started @6:00 and finished @ 8 in the evening. Luckily the Monkey Patrol won the presentation.

Second Day

IMG20240114112933.jpg

We had a short program for our day 2, after which we continue for a community service and physical activities like having a game. We took a break before we finally had our awarding ceremony. So I let my scouts to cook food for lunch. They prepared a banana heart and we mixed it with eggs, starch, and other spices. I formed into a patty and then fried it in a pan match it with a dried fish.

IMG20240114132719.jpg

We had a budol fight style of eating, we didn't use any plates instead we used a banana leaf and spread all the foods into the leaf. This is eat all you can, we found this amazing sharing of foods. My boy scouts don't want to go home they wanted to stay for the whole day.

We called up for the awarding ceremony, giving of prizes for the winners and giving of certificates for the deserving scouts. In the afternoon we had our break camp and cleaned the area. They helped one another to accomplish everything. All works will be easily done if all are helping each other. They successfully accomplished all task, kudos to you my Boy Scouts!!

Until next time my dear friends in hives, hope you can give me a ♥️ and reblog if you were inspired in my story.

Sort:  

Nindot jud ning troop leader ta sis @simplybil kay hands-on experience jud tas mga boys sa pag tudlo unlike me nga igo nalang mo inspect hehehe

It's a fulfilling work sis @richdreamer but we need also someone who will inspect our works. Thank you for dropping by on my blog♥️

The faces of the children shows gladness in every task fulfilled.

They really enjoyed what they are doing, hopefully they have the same feelings when they are at home. I wanted to ask their parents about their hardwork in school if they did the same at home. Thank you very much ma'am @chimegipamus

The boys seem enjoying their moment there. I am sure they'll not forget what they have learned from it. They are so blessed to have a hands-on troop leader like you ma'am. God bless

Thank you for dropping by on my blog ma'am @amoreyl, hopefully they have a great memories with all of us.

Congratulations @simplybil! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2024

Thank you very much @hivebuzz, your support would mean a lot to me as writer.

You're welcome @simplybil. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 😅

It was a great experience for children to join the BSP. It was also learning and it can be one of their guide as they grow up. They looked very happy as well.

Yes they were, they really had a great experiences during the camping. As their troop leader I am proud of them. Thank you for your time @genyrose ♥️

have fun and make memories

I can see exactly why they wanted to stay :) this must have been so much fun. Kudos to you for making them feel comfortable and confident even though the tasks are many. This looks like learning but also making it fun. Allan is already a pro haha

Hello blind-spot thank you for dropping by on my blog, our bonding moment was superb, their experiences was worth remembering, they will graduate but I can't forget them all. This batch is very hardworking and cooperative, I am proud of them all.

Congratulations for the job well done❤️The boys were really enjoyed engaging some activities🙂They learned many things from you.I know its not so easy to deal with them but glad you did it!Thanks for it❤️Congratulations,again❤️❤️❤️Keep up the good work🙂

We had a great bonding even though the weather wasn't that good but still they enjoyed. Cooking of food is very fulfilling task and they cooperate with me every cooking time. They really had a great time that they don't want to go home. Thank you so much for your support on my blog @lovinglymers♥️

that Hep hep horray was legendary😅 I mean if I can hear that words nothing came to my mind but the day I slept in school and in different schools and doing camp fire like this😅 It was then a great part of my elementary days. This is a good practice for pupils then👍👍

Our memories during camping never fades, the fun and bonding are great experiences that we had. Thank you for dropping by @psyreb55 .