Educating The Mind: Lessons of Life

in Education3 years ago

The Sicilian is the fourth Puzo's book I've read. I read The Godfather first, many years ago. I was mad excited about the story line of the Godfather. I told myself, Mario Puzo is a god.

86696517_2654762501423679_6753573328335667200_n.jpg

When I read The Sicilian, I was hurt by the depth of betrayal. At some point, I was so angry at Aspanu Piscotta. I wanted to kill him myself before I realized that this was just fiction. That's why writers are almost gods. They will make you fall in love with a thief or a terminator.

Earlier in my Christian walk, I prayed that God would teach me life lessons using the simplest of things. I didn't want to be that person that needed to see a complex sign or solve a mystery to be able to discern the direction God was leading me or the things he was telling me.

I know you're wondering where I'm going with all of this...
Stay with me.

When I read, The Godfather, I was thrilled at the revenge and vengeance of The Corleone family, like, you can't harm those people and go scot-free. They'll take twenty years to plan a revenge. I was amazed at the Don's "impenetrable existence".
The Holy Spirit had to use this book to teach me about being careful about the thugs that excites me.

My reality as a believer is different. The things that excites my emotions and quickens me should be different.

I shouldn't be excited about revenge, vengeance, because God said, vengeance is mine and He has clearly informed us that our duty is to forgive the people that hurt us. 70X70 a day. This goes against the rules of life, 40 laws of power and all of that. To the world, we are foolish. How do you forgive someone that hurt you that much?

No one could touch the Don's family. Everyone was scared of them. I was excited at "Don's - larger-than-life-existence". Such thoughts are "ungodly" for me.

As a believer, I need to always be at that place where I recognize that I'm totally of no relevance, without the help of God. I mean, this life is too frail, too fleeting to see yourself as an Almighty. The Christian walk is one of constant humility, of always acknowledging our weaknesses made perfect in His strength, of the fact that we are helped by God and if He doesn't, we can't help ourselves by strength and by might.

We may not understand and if we try to use our human strength to fight it, it may be a very unsuccessful attempt.

So, dear believer, what are you excited at? A sex scene in a movie? I know it's just a movie, but What happened to purity of thoughts? What happened to Philippians 4:8?

What are the things that make your heart jump?
It's important we do these heart checks often... You may say, "Unyime, this thing is not that deep. It's just a movie or just a book".

FB_IMG_1601887983647.jpg

I'd tell you, a little leaven spoils everything.

A little fox.
A little grey area here and there.
Before you know it, it's more than what you bargained for.

Sort:  

Congratulations @unyime1! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project