Conspiracy Theories Question Marks

in Deep Dives4 years ago (edited)

"A conspiracy theory is an unverified hypothesis advanced by an individual or a group of individuals, in order to communicate information as true, exposing a conspiracy that would hide this alleged truth. Conspiracy theories were born to make up for the lack of public information and explanations. "

This is how wikipedia defines a conspiracy theory, and I openly admit that over time I have believed and continue to believe in all sorts of conspiracy theories, because I believe that the authorities(governments and world leaders) have always hidden from the public, many times with the help of the media, certain truths or tried to fabricate truths to be served to people like you and me.

One such famous conspiracy theory, which I still believe in, is that the events of 9/11, involving the Pentagon and former World Trade Center buildings, were just an inside job to justify “the invasions of Afghanistan and Iraq (even though the US government concluded Iraq was not involved in the attacks) [9] to advance their geostrategic interests, such as plans to construct a natural gas pipeline through Afghanistan ”. However, I believe that there are enough conspiracy theories that will remain at the level of theory, and I think it is not appropriate any longer to mention the countless conspiracy theories related to COVID-19 that are flooding the internet.

symbol-3448099_960_720.jpg
image source

But related to COVID-19, @acidyo had a post two days ago entitled "Does anyone here actually believe anti-covid conspiracy theories?" tackling some sensible waters. This one though, unlike many other posts that end up on trending, triggered discussions on this topic, and the last time I checked it had 135 comments, of course opinions being divided. I have expressed my opinion on the topic as well in the comments section, and I have enough blog posts on this topic.

This post of mine is not a counter post of @acidyo's, nor does it try to convince anyone to believe in the conspiracy theories surrounding the Coronavirus pandemic. I mentioned that post just to give credit to the author in the inspiration he offered me to talk today about conspiracy theories and why I still believe some of us need them. However, I will talk in general terms about conspiracy theories, and why I think we still need them, and I will not detail, more than necessary, any of their multitude, present in the online environment.

Do we need conspiracy theories?

Well... we practically don't, but it's good that there are still people who question the so-called truths promoted in the media, there are still people who seek to analyze from several points of view certain important events that take place and have happened throughout history in the world, and there are still people looking for alternative sources of information and scientific evidence related to certain so-called conspiracy theories, refusing to swallow undigested what world leaders, governments and the media serve the people through their channels of mass information.

caricature-5280767_960_720.jpg
image source

Over time it has become clear that almost all governments in the world are, or have been at least at some point corrupt, that some events have been covered up, or that some so called facts have been fabricated, hence how can we still blindly believe our leaders and the transparency or the facts shared to us by the media? I studied journalism between 2006 and 2009, and I got my bachelor's degree in 2009 presenting at that diploma exam my paper entitled "Manipulation techniques used in the written press in Romania." Paper in which I exposed the way in which the Romanian press was manipulating its readers at that time.

I knew since then that I would not work in the media, because I had discovered at that time how dirty and stinky this environment is, what compromises are made and what hidden interest those who are part of the media serve, how information is manipulated, how consumers are manipulated, how certain events are presented to paint a reality that does not actually exist and to hide the truth from the public eye. That is why I chose this topic, out of the thirst to show my colleagues and teachers that the media is not what it seems, that the press is still the fourth power in state, although it has long since lost its role as the voice of the people and truth, becoming a tool of misinformation, and that is why I believe we still need conspiracy theories.

The press has clearly proved, and still proves, that it serves the one who pays more or the one who manifests his power over it in a stronger way, and that the defining moral principles it had a few decades ago are no longer standing. Starting from the premise that not everything that is published online or what is broadcast on TV is at the same time real, or a reflection of the truth, it is clear that we need question marks. We need alternative media outlets and folks with balls that would question the so called truth of the media, and the governments, and would even sacrifice their freedom and rights to find the actual truth and share it with their consumers.

Militants like Alex Jones and Edward Snowden risked, and still risk their lives and freedom, to bring certain truths to the surface or to expose secret agendas, power abuses exercised by governments and world leaders, and to inform the thirsty for truth ones .

doors-1767564_960_720.webp
image source

Are all the conspiracy theories true?

Definitely not. I personally don't feel like the flat earth theory for example is nothing more than just a simple theory, and tbh I don't have any proofs to contradict it either, but I respect the right to have different and contradictory opinions and the right to express them . I believe in the right of asking questions to world leaders and governments regarding matters and enforcement that affect us all, and the right to not blindly consume, undigested, whatever they serve us. I don’t have anything against folks who absolutely hate conspiracy theories and refuse to resonate with any of them. That's what makes us individuals, and unique on this full of life planet.

I still believe in the power of some of such so called conspiracies, for sometimes taking hidden truths out into light, I believe in the right to disagree, to ask questions, I feel that we need freedom of speech more than ever, and I 'm glad we have platforms such as this one where we can express ourselves free, without being censored. I also consider that we have, and should use, our ability to ignore and move over so called facts/fiction when we feel like. However, I refuse to accept as true everything that the media or governments serves us as true, and I believe it is our right to question the truth and investigate to find it. That's why, in my case, some conspiracy theories still make sense and still get my attention.

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

Sort:  

The problem is those in power lie so much, get caught so much that it creates a lot of this. Then you have government programs like Cointelpro, Operation Mockingbird, etc.

You see guys pushed to the top of criminal organizations like Whitey Bulger and Sammy the Bull, etc. So much corruption is taking place with so many dirty hands. It usually is about the money, although sometimes more sinister.

I used to report on a group at the southern border who got tired of the human trafficking so patrol and record out there. They are so ridiculed by even so many truthers, yet the shit they find in that desert is chilling. One extreme example was they found crates of emptied out phosphorous warheads in the desert. Those things are banned by the Geneva convention, and our military uses them strictly for practice they say. You saw no coverage in the press on this, it took authorities a whole day to come out to the location even. No questions on who has authority to remove these from a military base with no questions being asked on where they went, nothing.

It seems anymore one has to go to great lengths not to see the schemes that are everywhere.

Where this gets dicey is the lies being thrown around. I suspect that there are many so called truthers who are paid to spread obvious lies to get the majority of people to label all people who question as crazy and throw out the baby with the bathwater.

Then you have wishy washy people who like Paul from the bible try to be all things to all men. I actually saw one woman on the thread you cited by acidyo writing like she thought the conspiracy writers have no ethics, yet she consistently comments on one of the largest truther blogs here (the guy has a lot of stake) as though she is in complete agreement with what he posts, to the point she ridicules those who buy into the mainstream narrative. I found it ironic she was mentioning ethics when depending on who is writing decides where she stands on an issue. I would much rather deal with someone who I disagree with that is open about how they feel on an issue than someone constantly flip flopping. Those are the folks that will sell you out and you never see it coming.

At the end of the day, I doubt anything will change until people put aside the more outrageous claims, put aside the false political poles that demand fighting, and look at all the corruption that can be agreed on, that is easily provable and as a group start demanding accountability. Once those dominoes start falling, the more extreme assertions, if true, should by default become known.

I have a buddy who drunk dials me most evenings during lockdown and beats me over the head with whatever conspiracy theory he was fed that day by Fox News, Rush Limbaugh, and the Epoch Times.
I’ve noticed a recurring theme in his ramblings. The only thing he ever wants to talk about is who to blame and who to be angry at. I find for the most part, he is just angry that he is poor and needs someone to blame other than his alcoholism and laziness. Thankfully he has been gifted this liberal bogeyman who wants to take away his money (doesn’t have any) and give it to Mexicans, take away his freedom, abolish churches, and force doctors to work at free drive through abortion clinics for school children.
It isn’t about questioning authority or seeking the truth: It’s finding someone to blame.

Blaming is been a trend for ages and since the inception of social media people found more and more ways to disagree and express their disagreement. I still feel like that it's our right to question the so called facts and to seek truth...hence the need to conspiracy theories.