Who/what do you want to be in next five years?

in Deep Dives4 years ago

To answer that question,I do not know who or what I want to be in the next five years.
Don't call me crazy or say I do not have plans.
I do have plans for my future,but what if that's not what is originally meant for me?

What if my answer to that question was influenced by my peers?

nothing1820481__480.jpg

Before I got admission into the University I had applied for a totally different program in school, but I wasn't given admission in that program.
I later chosed another program and after a year of studying that program in school I now realised I really had great interest in the program and I absolutely love it.

Now if you had asked me 3 years ago,where would I be or who do I see myself becoming i would have based my answers on what I intended studying.

But then I was in high school and my knowledge about other programs in school wasn't broad. I knew few programs in school based on what the society See's as being successful careers. But when I got into school I found out there are still other programs I could study and still be successful. So I did what I was given and it turned out great.

So many people had their path set for them by their parents or wanting to please the society or because in the community they belong no one has ever done anything beyond what the society Sees as the right thing. So they plan their future based on all those factors.

If you ask, so many people will say they want to be a doctor, an engineer or perhaps a lawyer etc.

But have you asked yourself,what do you really want to be?
What condition wil you like to be in five years from now?
What kind of a person will you be to your loved ones five years from now?
How do you think your decision will influence the people around you?
Will people benefit from you?
Will you make a good impact in the life of others?

Before now things that didn't matter before are now things that people really take importance in now.
You need to plan your future in a way that when things are changing,when new things are being created you will still be at an advantage.
Don't allow your thinking about the future be based on past success.
People did things in the past that made them successful but some of those things now might have been obsolete.

You need to change with time,give room for growth, don't just base your future on past success. Your ideas need to be updated.

But most importantly, whatever you plan for the future,you need to ensure that it will bring you happiness not just a source of livelihood.

If you ask me what I truly want in the next five years.
I won't know the exact thing to say, but what I know is in the next five years I want to be happy,I want my parents to be proud of who I will become,I want to be someone my siblings can look upto.
I want to be able to influence people's lives in a good way.

Now ask yourself,what do you really want in the next five years.

Thank you for reading
Love you all♥️

Sort:  

Congratulations @ayorae! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.
You distributed more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!