Introducing a new community!

photoshopContests.jpg

Created by me @derangedvisions

Get ready for the fun!!

pageBreak.png

@acidyo and I were talking earlier today and he wanted to have an awesome community where people create crazy images each week using Adobe Photoshop, or a similar software, and compete against each other to see who was the most creative.

He got the idea from a subreddit called Photoshop Battles. So we decided that we were going to create the community here on the Hive Blockchain and have some fun!

Without further ado, here is the Photoshop Battles Community. We are planning on changing the name, but I would like to get some input from the community on a cool name. Whoever comes up with the best name will win 15 Hive from me. So make sure that you put your thinking hats on.

What is Photoshop Battles?

pageBreak.png

starringafricanwilddogPJ8E4ZE.jpg

Created by me @derangedvisions

One of the things that we plan on doing is hosting weekly contests where we give you a few images to use to create one single image. You can use as many elements of the images that you choose to, add more images to take elements from, and see how creative you can be with them.

We will be offering prize pools of Hive for the best combinations. We will also be offering votes and curation opportunities for the entries as well. The more effort and higher the quality, the better the reward in the end.

So how did I create the image above?

I started off with two images that I have the licenses for. They can be found here:

https://elements.envato.com/elephant-walking-in-the-savanna-PECTUT7

https://elements.envato.com/starring-african-wild-dog-PJ8E4ZE

I brought the images into Photoshop and began to cut out the elephants head to import it over the hyena. Then I scaled the elephant and erased areas that I felt didn't fit correctly.

Screen Shot 20200716 at 6.34.56 PM.png

I duplicated the hyena layer and put it above the elephant layer and adjusted the opacity so that it would look like there was some fur coming from the elephant's skin where the two images merged together.

The hardest part of creating this whole image was getting the colors to match closely. I had to add several hue/saturation adjustment layers to the elephant portion and then when I was close, I merged all the layers together and fine tuned the colors to get them to the finished project.

Now this is just one simple idea for combining the images and it could have gone in a totally different direction. Seeing how each person's creativity takes over is going to be the coolest part about this community and the contests.

Don't have Photoshop?

pageBreak.png

If you do not have access to Adobe Photoshop, there are plenty of other photo manipulation softwares out there and many of them are free. Gimp is one of the more popular free softwares out there. There are also a lot of them for editing on mobile.

We are hoping that since the images will be supplied, software is free, and that anyone can participate, there will be a lot of engagement within this community. I am excited to see how much fun we can all have here on Hive together.

Don't forget to think of an awesome name for the community!!

Sort:  

Looks like fun and I might take part :)

  • Battle Edits
  • Manipulation Station
  • The Edit Wars

Sounds like fun :)

Pixel Battlegrounds

Pixel Combat

Pixel Wars

RGBattle Room

These are awesome. @acidyo, check these suggestions for a name out.

I may try this, it would allow me to learn a bit more about my photo editing software. I still really do not understand layers or stacking photos either.

YouTube can teach you everything you need to know. It is a ton of fun.

I sense a great madness emerging from the void.

It is gonna be awesome.

I love that subreddit. So glad to see having one our own!

Excited.

Love PS Battleground suggested by @jotakrevs.

Glad you like it!

LOVE IT!!! 😍
This is going to be so fun.

It is gonna be epic. It will be hard to keep it at just one contest a week, lol.

Congratulations @derangedvisions! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4250 replies. Your next target is to reach 4500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!

I suck at manipulations in photography/Photoshop. I'm more of a what you see is what you get guy! I can make it look great with colors and grading style though.

It'll be great to see a color grading contest. 🤔🤔🤔

I think you may need to take some time to learn this technique. It would be cool to see what you come up with.

Great idea! Manipulating pictures in Photoshop is such a creative thing where you can express more than you ever could through the words!

Totally agree

Looking forward to this awesome community, as for the name

PHOTO_ART
Creating_ART
Creativity contest.

I am hoping to see some work from you in there soon.

Obviously yes.

I can do little bit editing in Photoshop that's so I can easily participate in the contest weekly. Thanks for initiating such a nice challenge of showing the creativity. My suggestion about the name of the community is "Photoshopers"

FrameIt - I suggest this name 😀

Cool community!! Incidentally you can use Colour Match in Photoshop to get some truly awesome results between two images when creating composites. I used to create a few back in the day

Ya, I tried the Color Match feature, but it didn't work too well with these two images because the elephant was mostly black and white. I hope that you participate in the community!

Ah right enough!

I might do although I am mobile bound so my stuff might be lacking but it's all about the fun when doing these things!

There are a lot of mobile apps that work just fine, but like you said, it is all about having fun. That is the main reason @acidyo and I wanted to do this.

There are indeed. I do all my posts artwork on mobile and get some results I am fairly happy with!

Awesome idea! I'm not good for arts, but love to mess with Photoshop.

Some quick brainstorming and spin-offs lol:

  • Wake & Fake: PS Edits
  • PS Battlegrounds
  • Fakography Lovers
  • Deranged Edits: PS Arena

That sounds awesome and very fun! Joining immediately!

Sweet. I can't wait to see what you do.

I can't wait to get in photoshop and make something that blows you off your feet 😂

I like the idea. I personally suck at Photoshop but that would be a great way to challenge myself and use it more often and also to develop my skills (which are currently at 0 :D). I'll def give it a try!

Awesome. Make sure you are a part of the community and we will post an update once we get a name and come up with a theme for the week.

Just joined it! 🤘 Looking forward for the first round! :))

Awwwwwew yaaaaaaaw

This could be a lot of fun! Truthfully, I'm not that much of a Photoshop wizz — it's my wife who's the graphic artist in the family — but I certainly look forward to seeing other people's creative "interpretations!"

We think it is going to be a ton of fun. Does your wife need an account? If so, I can create one for her so she can participate. Or you can just force yourself to learn a bit of photo manipulation and get paid to do so.

Nah, she does have an account, although she's an infrequent participant — but thanks for the offer!

I suppose I might give it a try... we'll see.

PHOTOMIX suggest the name ;) Ilove editing picture. Maybe I can entry with Coreldraw ?

Good idea. I like Photoshop but use only, maybe 10% of all functions. And this is the oportunity to learn something more. 😎 👍

Photoshop is such a powerful tool that it is hard to learn everything about it.

fantastic idea. it will help those who have a good humour! :p

Yep, that is the main point. To have an awesome time and make some fun things in the process.

I love creating morphs

I hope that you participate in it once we go live.

This is a great idea. I dabble with GIMP and could use some motivation to up my game.

Suggested names for community:

The Collider

The Arena

The Swarm

Colloseum

Retinasmash

I like this idea of ​​community and competition. It will be exciting to see what happens..

I'm looking forward to seeing your contributions

Lol, loved the editing, will try it. Though I don't know how bad of editor I am. Never tried to photoshop something. Just made some graphics for my posts on hive.

I guess this will only improve my graphic skills.

The main thing is to just create and have a good time.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 14 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
8

Wonderful initiative! I think it has great potential from a creative point of view!

Thanks. We think it's gonna be a ton of fun.

It will for sure!

Hola @derangedvisions
Me agradó esta propuesta al Adobe Photoshop y la promoción a los concursos
¡Apoyados totalmente!

Solid idea!

I love to Shoop~ This will be fun!

I like to use PAINTnet, its FREE https://www.getpaint.net/download.html
hivealiens.jpg

I wish you all the success that I know you will have. I hope there are many entries, I am going to repost.

hehe pretty cool. I might get in on this action. I am crap at naming things though.

I hope that you can take part in the fun.

Awhh this is going to be fun. I suggest keeping it something simple like, "Photoshop Battles"

Really great idea! Sounds like a lot of fun! I'm just working my way into Affinity Photo, which I really like using so far. And your contests would be a great opportunity to learn more about photo editing :-)

I have been looking at getting Affinity Photo. It looks pretty cool.

Someone fight me!

Hey my dear friend @derangedvisions , I propose to use

"IncredibleDrawings"

  • "Creative Minds at Work" or "Creativity8Work" or "Minds8Work"
  • Photo Creativity
  • PhotoWars (From one of tarazkp suggestions)
  • Photoway Galaxy

Can't wait to see things take off with the exciting new community!

Here are a few names I came up with!😀
@derangedvisions @acidyo

ManipCreations or ManipCurations

BattleShopped

ShoppedCroppedandBold

MasteredMates or MasterMated

StirItUp

Hey, I like this,
I want to learn Photoshop

are there any updates on the awkward dog contest yet?
thanks

sorry i just found it via your profile, thanks